We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, well finished hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tir gan Ean House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tir gan Ean House Hotel to your Saves list
Tir gan Ean House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Doolin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Doolin
Tipperary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely, well finished hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

We had our wedding reception here, it was ideal for a small wedding, the staff were friendly and indulgent of the inevitable messing that happens when a lot of people are travelling/booking/cancelling rooms for an event! The decor is very trendy but relaxing and it's finished to an extremely high standard. The food is lovely, our wedding meal was fabulous as were any meals we've had there since. The wine list is really good also. An all round great base from where to enjoy Doolin as it's right in the centre of the village.

  • Liked — Location, food and decor
  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    31
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2007

This is a very nice comfortable boutique hotel.
Very comfy beds and modern facilities.
Doolin was very quiet in November and the weather was awful but we still enjoyed the hotel.
Wouldnt hesitate to stay there again.

  • Liked — Cosy atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2007

Wonderful small modern hotel with very comfortable beds. Very clean and very quiet. Good staff.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

We stayed one night (alas) in Doolin after visting the Cliffs of Moher and wanting to be not too far away from Shannon airport where we departing the next day.
The hotel is a lovel boutique hotel with beatifully appointed rooms, everything was execellant and the room easily accomodated the three of us.
The hotel restaurant served a great meal and the staff were friendly, its a pity we didn't have a longer stay as this was a great hotel.

  • Liked — The lovely room
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

we went here for our honeymoon for a couple of nights, Everything was a high standard, the bedroom was clean, in good condition and really comfortable. The staff was really friendly and the breakfast was excellent, a wide breakfast menu to choose from would reccomend highly

  • Liked — the accomidation
  • Disliked — expensive dinner menu
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

Tir gan Ean House hotel is a fantastic boutique style hotel. We arrived at Tir gan Ean around 10 am after a long transatlantic flight and around a 1 hour 15 minute drive from Shannon Airport. The front desk lady was wonderful allowing us to check in early. We took a nap , spent an hour in the hotel pub (great, welcoming staff there) and headed out to see the beautiful Cliffs of Moher. This is spot where we became engaged - a great moment in which the sun came out on cue- yes!!!. Afterwards, we joined some family and friends at the famous Gus O'Connors, which was around a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

The room in which we stayed, was very modern and new. We had a comfortable bed, flat screen TV, and a very clean large bathroom. Overall, the room was larger than most in Ireland and the price of the hotel is fantastic. You might be hard pressed to find a room of this quality in the States at a Hampton Inn, Hilton or the like.

The breakfast that was included with our room was very good. The Irish breakfast was good and the pancakes were so-so. I'd go with the Irish breakfast anytime at this place.

If you are driving - there is plenty of parking - in fact we had the closest space next to the hotel. It isn't a large hotel or parking lot by any standard, but it fits with the size of town.

The only problem we incurred was with the phone line. Having flown in from America and the need to spread our news of engagement cost us dearly. Keep this in mind if you are using a calling card. The hotel charges you on the back-end.

The location is perfect for driving to the Cliffs or walking to the town of Doolin, although it seems that Doolin is spread out in relation to other small Irish towns. It is a short drive to the Burren and makes for a great first night or two if you are flying into Ireland from the States.

This hotel is highly recommended. We'd love to make the trip back and we'd stay here again in a heartbeat - hopefully soon!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

Booked this hotel for a group and I have to say, I was very impressed. The Hotel is newly built and at €49 per person per night, it was a bargain. The staff were extremely friendly, the decor was great and the rooms were comfortable. The barman even brought out sandwiches and crisps for us on our return from the local pub. Great place to stay, I'll be back.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tir gan Ean House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tir gan Ean House Hotel

Address: Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tir gan Ean House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Priceline so you can book your Tir gan Ean House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tir Gan Ean Hotel
Tir Gan Ean Doolin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tir gan Ean House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.