We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tir gan Ean House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tir gan Ean House Hotel to your Saves list
Tir gan Ean House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Doolin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Doolin
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great small hotel with lovely staff (Kaitlin & Fara) in the village of Doolin. The hotel looked very fresh and clean on the inside & we had a great one night stay there. Complimentary water was left in the room for us too which seems to be a dying tradition in Irish hotels. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donal M, Manager at Tir gan Ean House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your recent review of Tir gan Ean House. Your comments were very kind and much appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed your stayed and I am happy to say that we intend to continue the great traditions of Irish hospitality. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Fara Sharp,
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    31
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here recently for 2 nights and had a lovely time and were really impressed with the hotel , it is a relatively new hotel , 5 years old I think and and as such, is a really well appointed hotel , bright, spacious, modern and very comfortable. Rooms again were top class , clean and bright .
Staff were v helpful and friendly throughout our stay .
The breakfast lived up to the high standards , a full Irish Breakfast cooked fresh to order along with the usual , an assortment of juices , cereals , cold meats , breads and jams. The location too is perfect with ample parking .
We really enjoyed our stay at the Tir Gan Ean and will be back .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donal M, Front Office Manager at Tir gan Ean House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent kind review of Tir gan Ean House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us earlier this month. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Doolin again next year.

Best Regards,
Fara Sharp
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilcash, Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Lovely hotel and wonderfully helpful and pleasant staff. Nothing was too much trouble, the hotel was spotless and the breakfast was lovely. My only complaint was that in the room, there was a constant loud humming (all day and night) sound coming from the electricity point just inside the bedroom door and unfortunately didn't sleep a wink, which was a real pity.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donal M, Manager at Tir gan Ean House Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Susan,

Thank you for your recent review of Tir gan Ean House. We are delighted that you like the hotel and received a warm welcome. Thank you for bringing to our attention the noise from the electrical point. Our sincere apologies if it disturbed your sleep. We will look into the fault and remedy it as soon as possible. We hope that we might get the oppertunity to welcome you back to Doolin in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Fara Sharp,
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights from the 9th to the 12th July. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and spotless. We were provided with complimentary bottles of still and sparkling water. The breakfast was limited but adequate. Evening meals had to be taken in a sister hotel nearby as there wasn't any restaurant on site but this did not present any problem. We really enjoyed our stay there and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Tir gan Ean House Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Tir gan Ean House. We have noted your reccommendations for the breakfast and we will work on that. If you had any specific ideas please do not hesitate to contact me on info@tirganean.ie , any feedback from guests is most welcome. I am delighted that you plan to return and very much look forward to welcomng you back.

Best Wishes,

Fara Sharp,
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenpoint
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel several times.

Staff are always helpful and the rooms are large and modern.

Will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Tir gan Ean House Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay at Tir gan Ean House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Doolin in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Fara Sharp,
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed 2 nights while visiting Doolin and found the accommodations comfortable, clean and staff very friendly and accommodating! Beautiful day during our stay and the reception staff moved a small table and chair out to the patio so we could enjoy the sunshine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Tir gan Ean House Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your recent review. I am delgihted that you had a pleasant stay at Tir gan Ean House and that you were lucky enough to have some sunshine too! I hope you will find time to return to Doolin and if there is anything I can help you with please do not hesitate to contact me on info@tirganean.ie.

Best Wishes,

Fara Sharp,
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Nice place, like a large guest house but has a big bar and restaurant. Lady on reception very nice and friendly at check in. Room lovely and big, on ground floor, was a room with handicap access, shower smelt a bit fusty though and the corners of it had not been scrubbed in a while. Otherwise room very nice and bed comfy. When we came back to the hotel that night we decided to have a drink in the bar (nice place). There was a man behind the bar, from the US I would guess from his accent, we asked for a brandy and actually had to tell him which bottle as he hadnt a clue, then had to show him which glass to use, told us he was the porter and not a bar man. Came out of room later on to ask him for a remote for the TV (he was behind reception) and he again said he was the porter and hadnt a clue. Most unhelpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Tir gan Ean House Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, your feedback is very useful to us. We are delighted that you had a comfortable stay at Tir gan Ean House and you liked the atmosphere of the establishment. Our sincere apologies for the confusion that night in the Bar, the night porter in question was still finding his feet in a new job and perhaps did not feel 100% confident with his knowledge of the product. I hope that you might have the oppertunity to return to Tir gan Ean again and experience more helpful customer care next time. I have noted your comments on the bathroom also and this matter has been rectified. Again thank you for your response and if I can help you with a future reservation please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,

Fara Sharp,
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tir gan Ean House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tir gan Ean House Hotel

Address: Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tir gan Ean House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Tir gan Ean House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tir Gan Ean Hotel
Tir Gan Ean Doolin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tir gan Ean House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.