We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Doolin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Doolin to your Saves list
Hotel Doolin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Doolin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
County Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Return visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Having had our wedding at Hotel Doolin in August, my husband and I were very happy to return last weekend as ordinary hotel guests for a nice relaxing break. Our weekend package was two nights B & B, a main course each in the bar and a glass each of their own beer, "Dooliner" as well as a pass to the Cliffs of Moher. We weren't able to avail of the Cliffs pass as we had some family birthday celebrations to attend over the weekend but we have been to the Cliffs several times before. We arrived late on Friday night and were warmly welcomed by Sarah. Delicious cupcakes awaited us in our very comfortable room (having stayed in the bridal suite last time it was nice for us to try out one of the standard rooms). The room is a very good size and the bed was very comfortable. Being the off-season for Doolin, the hotel was quiet and our late arrival meant that we didn't visit the bar. We slept soundly. Breakfasts in this hotel are cooked to order and are very good indeed. Just a small quibble - no orange juice either morning and no marmalade - maybe this was due to the fact that we came down for breakfast rather late both mornings (10.00am - breakfast finishes at 10.30). We both had the full Irish the first morning and on the second morning I had eggs benedict and my husband had eggs florentine - delicious! Due to our late arrival on Friday and being out for a family birthday dinner on Saturday we opted to have our included main course at lunchtime Sunday from the carvery in the bar - we both had roast lamb and it was very good. This weekend was, for us, truly about a get away and rest and relaxation - we found both at Hotel Doolin and are already looking forward to our next visit as this hotel will always hold a very special place in our hearts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donal M, General Manager at Hotel Doolin, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear ClareMcDublin

Thank you for your great review of Hotel Doolin, it is nice to see guests returning to us! I am delighted that you found our Hotel as a place of rest and relaxation and enjoyed your delicious breakfast each morning. Apologies for the lack of OJ and marmalade and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me directly on dminihane@hoteldoolin.ie

Slan go Foill
Donal Minihane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    100
    20
    14
    7
See reviews for
69
169
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night last week and had a fantastic time. Great food, great setting and friendly staff.

Our room was comfortable although there was an odd buzzing sound from above the door once you entered to card key to the power slot.

That said we had a great time and fully intend to return in the future.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donal M, General Manager at Hotel Doolin, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Ballina007

Thank you for your recent review of Hotel Doolin. I am pleased that you had a fantastic time and enjoyed great food.
Thank you for bringing the issue with the key card to our attention, we will make sure to have it looked at!!

Please do not hesitate to contact me when returning to us in the future dminihane@hoteldoolin.ie

Slan go Foill
Donal Minihane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Clean, comfortable room and warm, attentive staff who were very knowledgeable about local attractions. Lots of lovely small touches made us feel all the more welcome - mulled wine and cupcakes at check-in, a current Irish fashion magazine in the room, a complementary local beer at the in-house pub, and a loaf of house-recipe brown bread for the road.

All the food served was delicious and carefully-prepared, both the buffet and made-to-order breakfasts, and the pub food as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donal M, General Manager at Hotel Doolin, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear CheapRevenge

Thank you for your review of our Hotel. I am delighted that you found our bedrooms clean & comfortable and our staff warm & attentive, I will be sure to pass your good comments on.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if ever returning to the area dminihane@hoteldoolin.ie

Slan go Foill
Donal Minihane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Loved this place. After driving all day from Derry, and driving through the narrow, windy streets of County Clare en route to Hotel Doolin, I was pleased to find everything to be so wonderful. The front desk clerk was pleasant and very accommodating, our room was just lovely, and the Fitz Bar/Restaurant (wonderful entertainment and food!) was connected to Hotel Doolin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donal M, General Manager at Hotel Doolin, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear ExpatDreamin

Thank you for your review of Hotel Doolin. I am pleased that you found our staff accommodating, rooms lovely and enjoyed wonderful entertainment and food in Fitz's Bar.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if returning to Doolin dminihane@hoteldoolin.ie

Slan go foill
Donal Minihane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just returned from our first visit to Doolin in Co Clare and a lovely stay at one of the many pleasent surprises of our stay the Doolin Hotel. From our warm and enthusiastic greeting by Sarah our receptionist to the comfortable and spacious rooms it was a lovely couple of days. The breakfast's were freshly prepared and generous with a buffet and optional hot dishes. We recommend this lovely boutique hotel to anyone wanting to visit Doolin at anytime of the year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donal M, General Manager at Hotel Doolin, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear B-KAroundTheWorld

Thank you for you review and recommendation of our Hotel. I will make sure that Sarah our receptionist hears your great compliments. I am happy that you found your stay to be a pleasant surprise and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.

Please feel free to contact me on dminihane@hoteldoolin.ie if returning to us!

Slan go Foill
Donal Minihane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located just a short drive or walk from the harbor and we were greeted by friendly staff and sangria (well the Irish approximation) The rooms were very clean. When we arrived we noticed a loud buzzing from the fuse box and after contacting the front desk were immediately moved to a room down the hall. I can't say enough about the staff. We came back from a boat cruise soaked to the skin. The front desk attendant dried out clothes and brought them to our room while we were out to dinner! They also gave us bread when we departed. Over all the best stop in our week trip through the West.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donal M, General Manager at Hotel Doolin, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Jen N

Thank you for your review of Hotel Doolin. The staff will be very happy to hear all of your great compliments on their friendliness. It is nice to read that you found Hotel Doolin to be 'the best stop in your week trip through the West' - a wonderful compliment.

Please do not hesitate to contact me on dminihane@hoteldoolin.ie if returning to the area.

Slan go Foill
Donal Minihane
Gneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Cleanliness of room was extremely poor ~ dirty bathroom and horrible rough old towels. No amenities in bathroom but soap and shampoo ... Had to ask for washcloth and hand towels as there were none in room upon arrival. And extra bath towels as there was only 2.
Quality of towels hard rough and old. Dingy color of white.
Carpet in room dirty and badly stained!! They need to replace. Corners in room & bathroom dirty.
Pillows on bed old hard foam.
Luckily I had my travel pillow.

Feels like a very old dated holiday inn. Basically felt way overcharged for condition of rooms was old and worn.
Service and staff extremely sweet.
We looked at other B&B's in town and they were much cleaner and cheaper!! Also looked at 2 hostels for heck of it, and they were simple and much cleaner.
I think hotel doolin needs a room make~over as everything is old and dirty.
They put out a sangria in lobby every night, we noticed it had a fly in it the second night of our stay and it seemed like the same mix that sat out with no ice from night before~ SCARY! It's not Halloween yet~
Other sweet and clean b & b's in doolin ~ cheaper and cleaner..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Doolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Doolin

Address: Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Doolin 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Doolin is located in the heart of Doolin, traditional Irish Music and Cultural capital of Ireland. Set amidst the backdrop of the Cliffs of Moher, Clare's famous high cliffs and on the fringes of the Burren National park which is known worldwide for its unique flora and fauna, our central location allows you to explore a beautiful part of the world. Come to Hotel Doolin, where a traditional warm Irish friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Doolin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Doolin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.