We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This one's unique!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doolin Cave

Doolin Cave
Roadford, Doolin, Ireland
+353 65 707 5761
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 attractions in Doolin
Type: Caverns/ Caves
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A Stunning Underworld Experience, the Great Stalactite at Doolin Cave is one of Europe's most compelling cave attractions. It is a truly unique and breathtaking experience:- the largest stalactite in the Norhern Hemisphere. Doolin Cave has opened a new Farmland Nature Trail, which is FREE for its visitors.We have unusual breeds of chickens, sheep, cattle and alovely pygmy goat called Minnie, with her little kid called Vincent Van Goat or Vinnie for short.We have also planted lots of native trees and shrubs and wildflower meadows. Our cafe serves lovely fresh salads, soups, breads and homemade cakes We are very proud to announce that we have recently been awarded a Gold Award from Ecotourism Ireland. Hurray!
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This one's unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I know that all cave tours have something unique, but really..this one is totally different to any other cave tour I've experienced..and in the best way, ever. Quite apart from the cave itself being visually stunning and the guides interesting, informative and fun, the whole experience is lifted above and beyond the norm by the way the family who own it manage to make it somehow cosy and homely. If there's a mixed bunch of you and some want to see the cave and some want a nice place to sit and enjoy a beautiful cream tea with fine views, fascinating books and cosy nooks with vintage easy chairs and sofas, this is heavenly...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHBrowne, Manager at Doolin Cave, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review of Doolin Cave. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Doolin Cave. To conserve the delicate ecology of the cave environment the cave is kept in a natural state. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Doolin Cave in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    82
    14
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Great tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited today (06/10/13) and Andrew was our guide. He was informative and easy to listen to. The history of the discovey was interesting and added the human element. The actual cave is stunning. I have been to many caves and this still had the "wow" for me. The site is easy to find, and should be included on all trips the burren.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Great Cave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We live in Missouri, which is famous for its beautiful caves. We were surprised and impressed with the beauty of Doolin Cave, home of the 2nd largest stalactite in the world. It was fantastic!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a very interesting cave with a huge stalactite...we never expected it to be the size it was, apparently the third largest in the world! Our guide was very knowledgable and made the tour interesting. I would recommend this Cave.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHBrowne, Manager at Doolin Cave, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review of your trip to Doolin Cave. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Doolin Cave experience, many of our visitors are wowed by the spectacular sight of the Great Stalactite, it really is a wonder of nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very interesting tour of the caves and the large stalactite. This is an excellent thing to do on a rainy day. The on site tea room was good too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHBrowne, Manager at Doolin Cave, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to Doolin Cave. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the cave tour and Jennies delicious cafe delights. It is a pity it was raining when you visited the cave as there is also a great farmland nature trail on site that offers spectacular views of the glaciated valley below and an opportunity to get up close to rare and indigenous species of plants and animals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doolin Cave also viewed

County Clare, Province of Munster
County Clare, Province of Munster
 
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 

Been to Doolin Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doolin Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Doolin Cave to your Saves list