We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great stay at Dubhlinn House in Doolin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dubhlinn House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dubhlinn House to your Saves list
Dubhlinn House
Doolin, Doolin, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 Doolin B&B and Inns
Marquette
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“We had a great stay at Dubhlinn House in Doolin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We enjoyed the fine hospitality at Dubhlinn House in Doolin! Martin is a most gracious host and very helpful for giving directions and advise on things to see in the area. He even sang a couple of songs for us in Fitzpatrick's pub in the village! The breakfast he cooked was perfect in every way! Our room was also very clean and comfortable. Thanks, Martin, for a wonderful time. If we are ever back in Doolin, we will stay with you again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    29
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
98
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our first main stop in our recent 3 week trip starting in Ireland was at this B&B in Doolin. We spent 3 nights here, which was a perfect amount of time to take in the sites around this area. Martin gave us a warm greeting upon our arrival. He has a great system for ordering what you want for breakfast each morning. The room was nicely decorated, and the bed comfortable. We spent the majority of one day taking the ferry to the Aran Islands, returning via the Cliffs of Moher area. The views are stunning on the island (we just went to the first one, Inisheer), and even more so at the base of the cliffs. Be aware that it can be quite wavy on the boat trip, as the ferry is not very big. Spent another day touring County Clare per Martin's recommendation, driving north along the beautiful coastal road towards Galway Bay, having a great lunch at Monk's in BalleyVaughn, then going south through part of the Burren to Lahinch, then back north to the Cliffs of Moher park, seeing them from above, which is also stunning. Don't miss the Irish music in the pubs each night either. Great way to enjoy your Guiness, or whatever else you are drinking!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Well run B&B close to Cliffs of Moher and other attractions. The breakfast was delicious.This place is very efficient you they have a breakfast menu and you get to choose from many different options as well as the time you would like to eat. They had copies of menus for local place to eat dinner in. The owner recomended a few pubs to hear traditional music that night. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Im a return visitor to Doolin and choose Dubhlinn House again, thanks to the warm hosts, the impecable rooms and the fabulous breakfasts.
Joan and Martin have everything organised for you, wether it is where to eat that night, where to travel to the next day to umberellas for the changing weather, You dont feel like you are intruding on their family home as they have a separate area away from the guests so guests really have the freedom to come and go, which I really appreciate as I have visited other B&B's and felt like I was an inconvenience.
The Reillys are experts on Co Clare and things to do, they know every pub in Doolin and the B&B is convient to all of them.
We took their advice and travelled on Doolin 2Arran ferries to Inis Iarr on our second day with them and Im very glad we did as the weather was amazing!
Doolin is a beautful traditional little village, brilliant for you to feel that warm Irish welcome the country is know for.
If you like your breakfasts then Martin Reilly is the man you need to know, hes the best omlettes in the county and lots of his veg and herbs are all home grown so you are getting the best of the best, of course theres more than just omlettes on the menu, there is plenty of choice all equally tastey!
Dubhlinn House is a customer focussed B&B, with everything you could ask for.
Will be back again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is by far the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in!
The house is beautiful and spotless. The rooms are generously spacious and have everything you need, with a view of the Cliffs of Moher added in for good measure!
The house is in the centre of it all, walking distance to pier, pubs, restaurants ect but maintains a quiet country feel. The Cliffs, Burren, Aran Islands and Lahinch are nearby along with some lovely beaches and pretty towns. If you're a Father Ted fan you're in luck as there are plenty of Ted locations nearby, including the famous parochial house, where you can even arrange to go inside and have a cuppa and scones - ah go on!
This all adds up to a great holiday in the West of Ireland but what made it a fantastic holiday were our hosts! Joan, Martin and their girls made us feel so welcome. They are by far the most obliging hosts of any b&b I have ever stayed in. They helped us with every aspect of our trip and advised us on the best way to plan our day around the ever changing weather. They really went the extra mile to ensure we had a fantastic holiday.
To add to their brilliant hospitatity, Martin's breakfasts were amazing - best omlette I've had in a long time!
If you are thinking about a trip to Doolin, Dubhlinn House is your best bet.
Thanks to the Reilly's - we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Nicely located, between the two small villages that is Dooling. Withinn walking distance of the harbour and several dining places.

Breakfast is great, since there are 6 different meals to choose from, 3 of those are vegetarian. Great coffee is also a plus.

The room are big and bright, and there is a slow, free wifi.

A few things could be better. The bed is soon in need of a change. I could feel the spring in the madras some places.

I know, that the next two complaints, could be said about all irish B and B's but here comes. The taps are in typical irish fashion 1 hot and 1 cold! So when you wash your hands, you choose between skolding hot or ice cold. As is also normal in Irish B and B, you only get 3 Irish channels on TV. Could be better, when sitting inside during rainy weather.

However, this is highly recommended, also due to the lovely and serviceminded owner of the place..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had a great break in Doolin and helped by staying at Dubhlinn House with Joan and Martin as the near perfect hosts. I say 'near perfect' because I was assaulted by Joan in a nearby pub (it was a friendly assault). Our room was very comfortable complete with tea & coffee, hairdryer, wi-fi and TV also communal sun block was available. The breakfast menu was good, super omlettes, and because we had to leave early Martin made us bagels to take with us for our onward journey. Everything you would want from a B&B.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room at the front, with a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dubhlinn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dubhlinn House

Address: Doolin, Doolin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family home looking forward to meeting you as our guest!Joan and Martin Reilly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Dubhlinn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dubhlinn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.