We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ireland's finest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation to your Saves list
Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation
Doolin, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner inclusive
Ranked #4 of 43 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bedford, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ireland's finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Marian and Frankie are running a perfect establishment. Located on a quiet country lane within a 3-minute walk to pubs and shops, Roadford houses spacious, immaculate, frill-less rooms. What makes this B & B head and shoulders ahead of all others, is the unbelievable culinary skills of Frankie. He is a self-taught chef who could be creating delectables in the finest restaurants in New York, Paris, or Rome. Add to that Marian's skillful administration, cheery countenance, and knowledge of the area and this B & B offers a wonderful accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
169
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just returned home from our third trip to Roadford House in Doolin and again we were not disappointed. It's all about the food!!! Delicious, fresh and tasty treats that you would do well to better in London, Paris or Milan. It's that good. We recommend the Thai Fish Broth for starters and then continue to indulge yourself through mains and desert. The only downside is the guilt you'll feel as you try the smoked salmon and scrambled egg or the luxurious creamed oatmeal for breakfast. Our host, Marian, helped us relieve the guilt by recommending a walk directly from the B&B all along the famous Cliffs of Moher.
The Restaurant is only 100m from two great Doolin Bars with music seven nights a week - McGann's being our favourite. Also make sure you visit the Chocolate Shop!!!
Can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the cliffs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Roadford House is a great place to stay to relax and enjoy traditional Irish music (McDermott's Pub); walk to and along the Cliffs of Moher; and hang out at any of the local pubs. It's really close to the ferry to the Aran Islands and Marian (the hostess) is very helpful with places to see and things to do in the area. She's also GREAT with giving Americans clear and concise directions for when you're leaving the area and your map just looks like a very confusing mess by that point! Breakfast is great, but you REALLY must make a reservation for dinner and have one of the best meals of your life there. I need to win LOTTO so I can make Roadford House a yearly trip. Say hello to Beans for me.

Room Tip: Our room was quite large and the beds were really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Upon our arrival and check-in at Roadford House, Marian was so welcoming that we couldn't resist her invitation to have dinner in the restaurant. Were we ever glad we did. The food and ambience were outstanding - the best of our 10 day trip. All fresh and prepared to perfection by Frank. Marian is the consummate hostess and chatted with us as her time permitted while serving the diners. She made us feel like family. As we headed out to McDermott's after dinner, she even gave us a flashlight for the walk home. Our room upstairs was spotless and decorated in a clean, contemporary style. Breakfast was another delight. Upon leaving in the morning Frank even offered to carry down our heavy suitcases and Marian provided some suggestions for finding a Clare hurling jersey for our son. We had stayed in another B&B in Doolin earlier in our trip that can't compare to Roadford House. This was Irish hospitality at its best. Thank you Marian and Frank, for our best stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. I can not recommend Roadford House highly enough. From the warm, homely welcome from Marian to the tastiest, most beautifully presented food I've had in years. Accommodation was very comfortable, clean and spacious. The restaurant service was second to none,prompt, professional and relaxing.

Again the food was the best part, locally sourced ingredients prepared to Michelin star standards.

Highly recommend staying and eating here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a great accommodation & the best room I had during my 10 days in Ireland. Nice size room, clean & quite with a wonderful view. It's also any easy walk to two of Doolin's popular pubs. Heard some great musicians (Foolin in Doolin) at McDermott's Pub. If you're not luck enough to stay at the Roadford House, be sure to go eat there. The food is outstanding - breakfast & dinner. Frank & Marian, the owners, are great hosts & very helpful. When they learned I was going to Lehinch for dinner one night, they gave me directions for going "over the mountain" instead of around. The drive on this one-lane country road was an experience I wouldn't have wanted to miss. Thanks, Frank & Marian (& Beans) ! I will definitely stay here every time I'm in Doolin.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up front with a view over Doolin toward the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Young couple in doolin for wedding weekend.

Excellent value for money, great location the Rooms were very clean and modern. Nice touch in bathroom with shampoo and shower gel also. Location excellent to locate pubs and restaurant all within walking distance. Breakfast was excellent however the time were 8/8.30 to 9.45 am and this could and should be extended to 10.30 on weekend mornings. Overall excellent and we will return again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation

Address: Doolin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with modern clean lines - some with views over the village and towards Cliffs of Moher. Gourmet Restaurant serving modern Irish cuisine. 2 minutes walk from local pubs where traditional music is played nightly. 10 mins from Doolin ferries and 15 mins from the Cliffs of Moher tourist centre. Shops within walking distance. Hi Speed internet connection. Ample free parking. Self catering also available minimum of three nights stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.