We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Roadford House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation to your Saves list
Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation
Doolin, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner inclusive
Ranked #4 of 43 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great stay at Roadford House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Modern, bright upstairs room had lovely views and fresh air from the windows and was immaculate. The bed and bedding was clean and comfortable and the food in the downstairs restaurant was some of the best we had in our two week stay in several parts of Ireland. Unfortunately, I had more need to stay in my room than a typical traveler in that, I had a bad fall after a dizzy spell and an injury so was VERY fortunate to have such a thoughtful hostess in Marian. She helped us with contacting the Dr. who came to the hotel and also was very generous in providing me a somewhat specialized menu and went above and beyond in every capacity to help us. She refused my husband's tip to boot. Roadford House is nicely located in regards to getting to Cliffs of Moher and Marian gave us great advise in regards to hiking to the Cliffs or taking tours to the islands off shore. You can't beat the fact that it has a 5 star restaurant that it right downstairs that you don't have to drive to when you come in tired from your travels. I loved the decor of the little restaurant, chic but not snobby. Don't forget to get reservations as restaurant is an award winner. I highly recommend this restaurant and the lovely family that runs it. I'll forever appreciate their kindness during a tough time away from my home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
169
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
columbia, md
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were so happy to have found this establishment. Doolin is sleepy little seaside village known for it's trad music. In addition to great music they have this gem of a restaurant -- hands down the best food we had in Ireland. My first tip that we had stumbled on something special was the "Food and Wine Magazine" write up of Roadford House Restaurant mounted on the wall in the lobby. The food is seasonal, local,and beautifully prepared. One dinner and breakfast daily was included when staying at the B & B and our meals were something to look forward to! Our rooms were clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy. If I had no nitpick I would have preferred more amenities in the room like facial tissues, lotions, etc., but I AM nitpicking here. I would stay at the Roadford House in a minute and look forward to eating there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a great stay at Roadford - both the breakfast and dinner are delicious, the rooms are very clean and modern and Marian and Frank were incredibly helpful to all members of our family and really went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to make sure that our trip went as pleasantly as possible. The location near two of the well known music pubs is excellent and Beans is a gorgeous dog. My only suggestion would be that the hosts try staying in the rooms for a night to notice the few little things that would make their guests' stays even more pleasant - hooks for the towels, spoons for the coffee, something to make the bathroom door quieter so that when one person in the suite goes in it doesn't wake everyone up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had two nights at Roadford and wished we had stayed much longer! The food was exceptional - we actually didn't have a bad meal in all of Ireland - but this was just out of this world! Marion is friendly and helpful and her Irish eyes really do smile genuinely! Our room was simple but spacious and had a lovely view across the town and countryside. The accommodation is set just out of Doolin and a short walk to the village of Roadford where we sauntered of an evening to listen to the traditional music - one night at one pub and the other at the second one! We would stay there again in a flash!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

LOVED ROADFORD HOUSE!! Loved the little town of Doolin, the dog "Beans", the family that owns Roadford House, the pub down the road, the breakfast, the country side and beauty if this lovely town.
We stayed in the Apartment type of rooms which were great, just what we needed. Its simple, very clean, comfortable, warm, and large. Perfect.
Outstanding meals!! I wouldn't eat anywhere else. Yes go down the pub but head back up to Roadford for a brilliant meal and wonderful hospitality.
A real highlight of my trip to Ireland! THANK YOU :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

A perfect place to stay in the Roadford/Doolin area..
The large rooms are very neat and clean.
The owner was exceptionally pleasant and helpful.
The location is perfect, a short stroll to Roadford
pubs and a modest walk to Doolin yet far enough
away for a quiet night's sleep.
Don't miss the traditional breakfast nor an evening's
meal, you won't be disappointed.
For walkers the Burren Way through Doolin and then
along the cliff walk toward the Cliffs of Mohr is
exceptional.

Pat and Bill

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

it's a very good B&B. only one thing has a tendency to average - a common room is missing (or a table and chairs in the room). especially at bad weather, this might become a certain importance. but in consideration of this, it's fair priced. they have also two B&B-appartments (4 beds) with living room and kitchen.
very positve are the quiet location, very clean rooms, an excellent breakfast and a very friendly and welcomeing landlady with lots of hints what to do in the aerea.
a singing pub is 2 minutes down the road and an excellent restaurant - for sure the best in town - is under the same roof.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation

Address: Doolin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with modern clean lines - some with views over the village and towards Cliffs of Moher. Gourmet Restaurant serving modern Irish cuisine. 2 minutes walk from local pubs where traditional music is played nightly. 10 mins from Doolin ferries and 15 mins from the Cliffs of Moher tourist centre. Shops within walking distance. Hi Speed internet connection. Ample free parking. Self catering also available minimum of three nights stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.