We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodaiton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodaiton to your Saves list
Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodaiton
Doolin Village, Doolin, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 Doolin B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Friday 7th September brought delicious food and a wonderful greeting by Beans at the door! I highly recommend this restaurant, a tad on the expensive side but worth the money! Had fish special for main course and it was fabulous.. he had duck which was mouthwatering... desserts were a treat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
167
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenmare
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Arrived after a long day touring around west clare..it is just 100yards up a country lane 2 mins walk from 2 great local bars and 5 mins from the village..we were shown up to our room by the friendly owner (marian i think)...it was a spacious double room with a nice bathroom..flat screen lcd and a nice view...roadford house is also an excellent restaraunt but closed on thursdays in september i think so the owner kindly recommended cullinans down the road...it was very very good also!...the next morning breakfast was great...lovely bright room to eat in...nice calm service..not a bit rushed but still very attentive...the organic yoghurt and homemade pancakes were very tasty!-The owner suggested we visit doolin cave as we were leaving...i had been to ailwee before and was just going to go again as the day was too poor to enjoy the aran islands...We were not dissappointed..very impressive tour and experience..would recommend taking on board whatever local tips this lady gives...she knows her stuff!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife Angela and I enjoyed an extended six night stay at Roadford House. Our hostess Marian was truly exceptional, giving us excellet advice on what to do each day and how to do it best. She even arranged a jacket for me which I had stupidly forgot to bring. We also observed her with the other guests and as Angela put it, she possesses a unique ability to make you feel like the most important people in the world when she interacts with you. The food was excelent, the room clean and comfortable, with a lovely view of the cliffs of Moher. We could not have been more satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Roadford House is a great place from which to explore the Ireland west coast! This special place has great amenities - the rooms are modern and simply decorated, but very comfortable. Our family stayed in a triple (one double and one single). It was large enough for all PLUS our luggage, which is sometimes hard to do in a European accommodation.

The BEST thing about this place is Marian, one of the host (we didn't have pleasure of meeting the chef/host). She was so helpful when we were to arrive very late and provided some flexibility in our check out time as well. She also called a boat tour company for us and made our reservations.

The other amazing thing about this place is the food!! They have a small restaurant that serves dinner there too and the chef is simply amazing. Thai fish soup, a fish sampler, steak, and - yum - fantastic scallops! We tried them all and they were great. Breakfast is also fantastic...with your choice of a several main dishes (hot), plus cereals, yogurts, coffee, tea, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our family, consisting of 4 adults spent 1 night at the Roadford Guest House in Doolin during April 2012. Doolin is a quaint little town and the scenic drive from Dublin to get to Doolin was simply stunning and we just marveled at Doolin's rural location. Our accommodation was a beautiful town house with 2 bedrooms and a spacious modern bathroom. It was excellent, clean and comfortable.

Before dinner & after dinner we walked down the road and visited the two Irish pubs as they both hosted traditional Irish music and of course Guinness!

The food at Roadford was absolutely delicious, we ordered different dishes so that we could each taste each others dishes, of course they were all excellent! Breakfast the next morning was just as wonderful as dinner. Frank is an excellent chef, its no wonder he's been awarded so many accolades.

Marian & Frank were the perfect hosts and Marian was even kind enough to post my son's hoody, which he'd left behind, which we thought was so kind of her.

During our travels around Ireland, we found ourselves recommending Roadford to everyone we met! My only regret is that its taken me so long to write this review. Sorry Marian :(

Ps.. We also loved meeting Beans, he is such a beautiful dog!

Room Tip: If you're a family of four - definitely book the townhouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The rooms at Roadford are nice enough – basic, clean and comfortable. However, what the hotel lacks in quirky rooms it completely makes up for with a wonderful hostess and amazing food. Marian was always willing to chat, share info about the area, suggest sightseeing itineraries and more. When we arrived almost an hour later than our dinner reservation (don’t underestimate the drive from Northern Ireland – it’s LONG!) on the first night, she happily ushered us in and fed us despite what I suspect was a closed kitchen. After a wonderful dinner, she settled us in to our room and pointed us to the pubs that were all within walking distance. Breakfast was just as wonderful as dinner, with several selections that provided some variety since we were staying several days.

Room Tip: Roadford offers an option to book a 3-course dinner with your stay. Take advantage of this offer! We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We spent a night in Roadford House last week and as ever it was a wonderful experience. We have been coming back for about six years and feel no visit to Co Clare is complete without staying here. Marian is a fantastic hostess who goes out of her way to accommodate and be helpful. The food is second to none and the restaurant would rival the very best. It is quite simply outstanding and of a very high quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodaiton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodaiton

Address: Doolin Village, Doolin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with modern clean lines - some with views over the village and towards Cliffs of Moher. Gourmet Restaurant serving modern Irish cuisine. 2 minutes walk from local pubs where traditional music is played nightly. 10 mins from Doolin ferries and 15 mins from the Cliffs of Moher tourist centre. Shops within walking distance. Hi Speed internet connection. Ample free parking. Self catering also available minimum of three nights stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodaiton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodaiton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.