We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and gracious host.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harbour View Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
Doolin, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 43 Doolin B&B and Inns
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location and gracious host.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

The Harbor View has recently been renovated and had the largest bathrooms of any of the places we stayed. The rooms were very comfortable and the views spectacular. Kathleen was an amazing host and went above and beyond to make our stay an enjoyable one. You will not be disappointed if you stay here!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    24
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
56
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Did not have a welcoming or good experience at Harbour View in Doolin. We arrived as very weary travelers to find a small dank room with the view of a garbage location – not the sea view we were told to expect. Keepers were less than helpful. No info on breakfast, no welcome when we arrived, just a strange greeting that made us think keepers were other guests looking for information. Altho location had large deck that faced sea, no chairs, tables or anyway to sit and take in view from the deck, either. Cannot recommend. Keepers did take off 10 Euro from price after repeated complaints. (and only if I paid in cash!)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doolinbnb, Owner at Harbour View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review my home and I am really sorry that you did not enjoy our B&B. Just a few points I think I should point out. On arrival, you were greeted by myself and my husband. We do have an amazing view from Harbour View, and I always do my best to hold a room with a view if requested. As you did not request a view , I did not hold one for you. All our rooms have been inspected by Failte Ireland and passed." Small dank rooms" would not have been given the 4 star approval rating that we received. As all other guests had checked in before you arrived I was unable to offer a room to the front of the house. You did pay 10euro less than the other guests. We do have a very large sitting room which has the best view in the house which was offered and available to you at all times. Again, I am really sorry that you did not enjoy yourself.
Kind Regards,
Cathy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Our hostess, Cathy Normoyle, was very gracious and has a lovely property that overlooks the sea.
We booked our trip on line through “Exploring Ireland” (www.exploringireland.net). They were very helpful and placed us into very nice accommodations throughout Ireland.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

This was the 1st place we stayed in our week long visit and it was very comfortable. The room was clean and the beds welcoming. The location is above Doolin on the road to the Cliffs and although our room was at the back of the house, the harbour views from the front are beautiful.
Cathy was very welcoming, helpful with suggestions for dinner and entertainment and served a great farmhouse breakfast.
Doolin itself is a fun little town that I hope to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

This was our first B&B in Ireland. We were weary travelers when we arrived, and Jonathan could not have been nicer. The room was very clean. Although on the road, noise was no problem. Breakfast was hearty and filling. Jonathan went out of his way to try to get his wireless internet connection working, but we had to use an internet cafe in Doolin. It wasn't a problem. We would recommend this B&B without hesitation, and hope to visit with Jonathan and Cathy again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

The views from our room at Harbour View were stunning, across to Doolin and the Atlantic Ocean. Our room was a good size for a bed and breakfast, and came with all the essentials (kettle, hairdryer, tv etc). The bathroom was modern and in good condition, as was the rest of the house, with one wing devoted to bed and breakfast rooms, and a lounge with open fire (nice after a coldy windy day in May). Excellent hospitality, extremely helpful hosts ensured we had a lovely stay.
The B and B is just outside Doolin, but it is only a short drive to O' Connors pub, with huge food portions, great atmosphere and Irish Music.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Pleasant spot on the road above Doolin about a mile from the pubs. New purpose built B&B run by pleasant young family. We had a very quiet room in the back - no view. Nicely furnished. Very good breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Bed & Breakfast

Address: Doolin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Harbour View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.