We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for groups/families, but not for couples/romantics” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge, Doolin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lodge, Doolin to your Saves list
The Lodge, Doolin
Doolin, Doolin, Ireland (Formerly Doolin Activity Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 43 Doolin B&B and Inns
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfect for groups/families, but not for couples/romantics”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2006

We stayed here for one night in an small apartment at the front of the building (with even a little kitchen) The bedroom was very big with four beds.
On the floor were tiles, personally I really don't like that in a bedroom (cold feet).

The bathroom had some problems with moisture, and although it was actually clean, it didn't give that impression because of scale.

Breakfast was good, but it was a bit crowded in the breakfastroom.

I think that this accomodation is perfect for groups and families with children, but I wouldn't recommend it to couples. I think we didn't belong to the right target group.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    46
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
59
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2006

This place is right in between the two parts of "town" with ample parking. It's purpose built as a lodge, so the rooms are spacious and clean. It's easy to come and go, since it's set up more like a small hotel. The owners do stay busy, but we were there for a room, not a life long friendship. If Doolin is where you want to be, this place is very convenient and clean.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2006

We stayed in one of Doolin Lodge's 'suites' and it was such good value for money. For 40 euros each, we had a penthouse style appartment all to ourselves. The welcome we recieved was lovely, breakfast was good and was had some stunning country views from our appartement. I would highly recommend the Doolin Lodge for all types of travellers.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

My now husband and I have just returned from getting married in Ireland. We reserved the entire Doolin Lodge for us and our guests. Having done this, we got to see all aspects of the place and got to know the couple at the helm, Deirdre and Niall. Let me start by saying that they have an accommodation to fit any need. The apartments are huge! My family stayed in the 9 person apartment and there were 3 bathrooms, a fireplace and a huge common area/kitchen. We stayed in a B&B room which was lovely - great showers, floor heating etc. All accomodations are very clean and warmly decorated.

Now for the couple in charge of the place... I had been in touch with Deirdre for months leading up to the wedding just making plans and sorting out who was better to stay in which accommodation etc. and she was incredibly helpful. But when we arrived (35 family and friends in tow) she absolutely went out of her way to make everyone feel very welcome. All my guests raved about her and how attentive she was and how kind and willing to help. Many of these people had never been out of the US before and they all said they felt at home almost immediately and that had so much to do with Deirdre and Niall. We had couples with babies and Deirdre constantly checked in to make sure they weren't in need of anything and really took care of our whole clan. She really made the whole "having family and friends in another country with you to watch you get married" so much easier. We could relax knowing that she was around and would take care of our guests so we could concentrate on other things. She coordinated everything we needed her to with a smile on. We had our wedding breakfast in the breakfast room at the lodge and it was perfect. My mom's apartment served as the perfect bridal suite and Dierdre again checked in several times to make sure we had all we needed. She really cared and we felt that every step of the way.

I highly recommend the Doolin Lodge both for big groups, families and singles and couples alike as we had each represented at the wedding and everyone was incredibly happy - just loved the place. Deirdre helped make every aspect of our wedding stay perfect. We couldn't have asked for more.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2006

This lodge is quite ok. What we liked about it, strong shower, big room and good location, close to all pubs of Doolin. But otherwise, Doolin is so small, that all places are not too far.
However, hostesses of this lodge were not welcoming and friendly. Hostess could hardly answer to hello when we met her and seemed very busy, looking at you "don't bother me".
We did not like how our room was cleaned. They did not change our towels after night and the second night we had to use old towels. Also bed was not made after first night.
Room was cold and it was impossible to turn on more heating, so we were freezing during night. Food was just ok.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2006

We stayed in the 4 bedroom apartment with 8 people. Very beautiful place. We were very impressed. Great breakfast too. It would be hard to beat this place.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2006

This is a fabulous B&B. I don't know why it's not on the list here, but we stayed here last month for three nights. It's more like a hotel that includes traditional Irish breakfast. We (3 adults, 2 children) rented an ''apartment'', actually part of the lodge, with three bedrooms, a little kitchen and a living room with a wide-screen TV. The rooms were spotless. IKEA-type pine furniture in all the rooms. Beautiful wood floors. Each room was ensuite, the master bath had a tub/shower combo. The windows were awesome and the view of the hills gorgeous. The breakfast restaurant is turned into an Italian restaurant at night that serves pasta, pizza, wine and beer. To go is available for your rooms as well. Outdoor patio seating with tremendous views is adjacent to the restaurant. The lobby of the lodge has internet access for a small fee. The proprietors were lovely and even mapped a shorter route to Kerry for us. A gift shop is on the property. Laundry service is available at 5 euro per bag. Best of all, the lodge is within walking distance of the little Doolin main street. Total for the three nights in August was $590, when converted by our bank.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge, Doolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge, Doolin

Address: Doolin, Doolin, Ireland (Formerly Doolin Activity Lodge)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, Doolin is located on the Wild Atlantic Way in the centre of Doolin village. The renowned Gus O'Connor's pub is a 3 minute walk from here where you will hear some great traditional music sessions. Doolin is an ideal base from where you can explore the vast Burren region, the Cliffs of Moher, the Aran Islands and the neighbouring counties of Galway and Kerry. We have luxurious sea view rooms, large ground floor family rooms, wheelchair accessible rooms and private suites which are ideal for families or groups of friends travelling together. The Lodge is non smoking and we provide free parking and free WiFi throughout. Breakfast is served in our courtyard dining room and we have a varied menu catering for all tastes. We offer an on site laundry service and are happy to book any tours or trips that you wish to take during your stay as well as being on hand for any other information you require. We trust you will have an enjoyable stay with us here at The Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Lodge, Doolin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge, Doolin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.