We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doolin Activity Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge, Doolin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lodge, Doolin to your Saves list
The Lodge, Doolin
Doolin, Doolin, Ireland (Formerly Doolin Activity Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 43 Doolin B&B and Inns
Portadown
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Doolin Activity Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed in Doolin Activity Lodge for two nights. It is a really great place to stay. The Bedrooms are well furnished and a good size. We had a three bedroom apartment, each bedroom had its own en suite, and there was also a main bathroom. The kitchen/living room was a good size, with a well equipped kitchen, good TV and a good sized dining table. The Lodge was spotlessly clean. The views from all the front rooms were amazing.
The owners were lovely and really helpful.
The lodge is situated in walking distance of the pier, bars, restaurants and walking trails.
I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliestravels, Owner at The Lodge, Doolin, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Shelley,
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Lodge.
We are delighted to know that you had a positive experience and will be coming back, we look forward to welcoming you again!
In the meantime, you can keep up to date with us on our Facebook page, Doolin Lodge !
Kind Regards,
Deirdre & Niall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    46
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
59
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

A hen party of 17 ladies spent the night here and it was just what we were looking for! With all the chopping and changing of the group numbers, Deirdre was so accommodating. A large living space for all the party to get together before dinner and the bedrooms were spacious, well equipped and clean. All of which were ensuite and had big comfy beds. The girls were thrilled with their overnight stay especially the bride to be And it was great to be able to whip our heels off at the end of the night and enjoy the underfloor heating! A guided walk from Doolin to the Cliffs of Mother with Pat's Cliff Walking tours and a bus transfer back was included in the B&B cost which was great value!
I would highly recommend staying here with a group or as a couple, taking in the Cliff walk and all that Doolin has to offer!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliestravels, Owner at The Lodge, Doolin, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Caoimhe C,
Thank you for your lovely review of the Lodge recently. It nice to be appreciated !
We are delighted that it all came together for you, it's stressful being the organiser but your bride is in good hands with you in charge!
We are happy that everything was to your satisfaction and you all enjoyed the comfort and amenities we have on offer.
Pat Sweeney loved your company too on your guided walk to the Cliffs of Moher.
Have a great time at the wedding and thanks again for choosing to stay with us.
Best Wishes,
Deirdre & Niall O'Dwyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Fantastic location, beautiful fully kitted apartments, lots of lovely unexpected extras like underfloor heating and a seriously cosy apartment when you arrive on a cold wet night. Perfect spot to explore the Cliffs, the Burren, Doolin Caves and the top quality trad music in Doolin.
Really looking forward to going back again and great value too.
Niall and Deirdre really easy to deal with and absolutely no fuss.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliestravels, Owner at The Lodge, Doolin, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Joe H,
Thank you for your recent review of our Lodge. We are glad you had a good weekend and are happy to recommend us.
See you next time!
Regards,
Deirdre & Niall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

After staying in several above-average Bed and Breakfast accommodations, this place was jarring for us. It's quaint from the outside, but the rooms are very stark. Large rooms, but felt sterile - wood flooring and very few pieces of furniture. For those traveling on a budget, this is a good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliestravels, Owner at The Lodge, Doolin, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Loves2Travel0515,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on Trip Advisor, however, we are somewhat disapointed with it, especially with your title, which we feel is slightly unfair. The Lodge was purpose built and all our rooms were designed and equipped to meet 4 star Failte Ireland standards. We try to avoid the fussy/busy/flowery type approach which is common in alot of B&B's, whilst not compromising guest comfort. We have solid oakwood flooring throughout which is hard wearing and considerably cleaner than carpets. Our rooms are equipped with the following: king/queen/double bed, indeed most rooms have 2 beds, wardrobe with 2 drawers underneath, luggage stand, dresser and chair, TV, tea/coffee making facilities, 2 bedside lockers, bedside lamps, and wall hangings. This is more than enough furniture for any bedroom, I'm not sure what else you feel we should have? Our large windows allow for plenty natural lighting, and to take advantage of our lovely views.
The majority of or guests comment positively on our large rooms and enjoy the extra space.
I hope you enjoyed your time in Doolin and got to hear some good music. We are glad also that you found the Lodge to be good value for your budget, we are very much into providing good value service. We hope to welcome you back to Doolin on another occasion.
Kind Regards,
Deirdre & Niall O'Dwyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The Doolin Activity Lodge is wonderful! Our hosts, Diedre and Niall, could not have been more welcoming to our party of four. We stayed in a very clean and well appointed three-bedroom suite complete with a full kitchen and comfortable sitting/dining area. Wonderful full Irish breakfast in the dining room got us off to a great start every morning! Super location too!!! We highly recommend the Doolin Activity Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliestravels, Owner at The Lodge, Doolin, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Gail M,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on Tripadvisor for the Lodge
We are so happy that you would highly recommend us, it means alot.
It was lovely to meet you, your husband and friends and hopefully we will meet again in Doolin!
In the meantime you can keep up to date on all things Doolin on Facebook, follow us: Doolin Lodge. We have taken a recent battering from the storms but we are hopeful that the worst is over now.
Thank you again,
Deirdre & Niall O'Dwyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Spent 3 weeks in Ireland. Stayed in a range of places from high end (Ballymaloe House ) to small inns. This was one of the best. Great Breakfast, spacious suite with everything we could possibly need, very accommodating and helpful hosts. Very Short walk to great Irish music, not sure I could ask for more - we extended our stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliestravels, Owner at The Lodge, Doolin, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Gary G,
Thank you for your recent review, we are so happy that you had a lovely stay and even stayed longer than planned. I hope the rest of your trip around Ireland went well and we look forward to meeting you again in Doolin sometime!
Best,
Niall & Deirdre O'Dwyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Can't rave highly enough about the Doolin Activity Lodge, I stayed for New Years with a group of friends and it was fantastic. The whole place was so warm & cosy with everything we needed for a big group. It was also very handy to be within walking distance of the pubs! We'll be back!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliestravels, Owner at The Lodge, Doolin, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Catherine S,
Thank you for your recent review and thank you for choosing to stay with us for the New Year.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your satisfaction.
I have you provisionally booked in for new year again as requested so you can keep me posted on that!
Kind Regards,
Deirdre & Niall O'Dwyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge, Doolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge, Doolin

Address: Doolin, Doolin, Ireland (Formerly Doolin Activity Lodge)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, Doolin is located on the Wild Atlantic Way in the centre of Doolin village. The renowned Gus O'Connor's pub is a 3 minute walk from here where you will hear some great traditional music sessions. Doolin is an ideal base from where you can explore the vast Burren region, the Cliffs of Moher, the Aran Islands and the neighbouring counties of Galway and Kerry. We have luxurious sea view rooms, large ground floor family rooms, wheelchair accessible rooms and private suites which are ideal for families or groups of friends travelling together. The Lodge is non smoking and we provide free parking and free WiFi throughout. Breakfast is served in our courtyard dining room and we have a varied menu catering for all tastes. We offer an on site laundry service and are happy to book any tours or trips that you wish to take during your stay as well as being on hand for any other information you require. We trust you will have an enjoyable stay with us here at The Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Lodge, Doolin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge, Doolin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.