We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less touristic side of Doolin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killilagh House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Killilagh House to your Saves list
Killilagh House
Main Street, Doolin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 43 Doolin B&B and Inns
Croton on Hudson, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Less touristic side of Doolin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Doolin has a lot of new construction lately on the other side of town including a fancy hotel. Im very happy we stayed on this side of town, although still walking distance to the other side, this side I found more classic old Ireland. Also closer to McGanns pub which is arguably the best pub in Doolin. Brin was a superb host and very helpful and knowledgable of the area. The rooms are a bit bare but the bed was great and prices very fair. Make sure you turn left as you exit the b&b and drive the burren at sunrise or sunset. Beautiful area. Doolin is the best.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    39
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
45
66
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Brid is an excellent host and made our stay very enjoyable. Make sure you pop down to McGanns Pub (150m down the road), the food is execllent for pub meals and the live Irish music is superb, look out for 1 legged Ted!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

without a doubt, on the windiest day in years a warm welcome was extended. Brid's husband had a wealth knowledge of the area. Acccommodations were clean and comfortable. We were just over the bridge to wonderful traditional music at the local pub. If you want sterile accommodations, go to the hotel. If you want to feel like you're sitting in your living room with a fire in the stove, come to this B&B. The breakfast that Brid prepares is delicious and will sustain you for the rest of the day. We'd very much come to visit them again

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vallejo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

My husband and I and my sister spent two nights at this bed and breakfast and would definitely return on our next trip to Ireland. This B&B is run by Brid Shannon who is a lovely host and terrific breakfast cook. It is across the street from one pub and a block from another pub, both feature traditional music. It was nice to check in and leave our car in her lot. We were able to walk to dinner at the pubs and also listen to music well into the night and leisurely stroll home. The rooms were spacious and the baths were modern with great water pressure. Also worth mentioning is that there are a couple of woolen shops with beautiful sweaters in Doolin Village.

Stayed October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Brid Shannon & her husband Miceal welcome you to their clean, well appointed rooms and can't do enough for you. The location is downtown Doolin with pubs and an extremely excellent evening only restaurant around the corner. This converted restaurant B & B is a great place to use to see the whole area. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

The Killilagh House boasts wonderful hospitality in Doolin. Brid (spelling) was fantastic.. delcious breakfast and the hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of just about everything in Doolin. Be sure to check out both McCanns and O'Connors Pub when visiting Doolin and don't forget to shop for some Irish sweaters. The live music in the pubs is fantastic and the pubs are alive with travelers and natives alike.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

It was getting late in the afternoon when I decided to stop and perhaps spend the night in Doolin. I was quite fortunate to find the Killilagh House. Brit and Michael were quite welcoming and friendly. The room and bathroom were nice, and spacious and the teapot in the room was great - especially since I'm a tea-drinker! Doolin ended up being a smart stop - with some great Irish music just a one-minute walk away. Brit cooked up a huge breakfast for me - more than enough to last me the entire day. Stay at the Killilagh House - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killilagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killilagh House

Address: Main Street, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killilagh house is on the main road in the centre of Doolin Village all rooms are on the ground floor are en-suite and have power showers The house is a couple of minutes walk to pubs and restaurants with safe off street parking and an official bus stop right outside our house Free WiFi available 10 mins drive to Cliffs of Moher and the Burren. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Killilagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killilagh House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.