We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best I stayed in Ireland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killilagh House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Killilagh House to your Saves list
Killilagh House
Main Street, Doolin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 43 Doolin B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the best I stayed in Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Liz & Cormac welcome all with open arms. I arrived late at the Killilagh House, but Cormac was waiting at the door and was so kind and hospitable. The B&B was spotless with a beautiful common area, breakfast area and the rooms were spacious. It was very comfortable & felt like home. Breakfast was SO wonderful! The brown bread is to die for, and Liz did such a great job with all the breakfast. I stayed 5 days, and everything was perfect each day. It is walking distance from everything in town. Liz & Cormac are so knowledgeable about the area & have great recommendations of where to travel, where to eat & what to see! I cannot say enough fabulous things about the B&B & especially Liz & Cormac. They are absolutely wonderful people, with such huge hearts and want to make everyone feel at home & welcome not only at their B&B, but Doolin as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    41
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
45
68
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sicily, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here with our 3 children in a very spacious, comfortable room. Enjoyed a fantastic full Irish breakfast with delicious homemade Irish and Banana bread. Liz was wonderful, very helpful with great tips for the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Last summer, my sister, cousin, and two nephews visited Ireland for the third time in two years. We had a great experience staying in the bed and breakfast-- Killilagh House-- in Doolin. The location was great for traditional Irish music and pubs. We also enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My family and I spent the night in Doolin at the Killilagh in June 2012. We had spent a long drive in the car from Dublin, site seeing a few things on the way and we arrived quite late in the evening around 9:30. We called Brid to let her know we might be a little late that morning, but we didn’t realize it would be that late. Well, she welcomed us and insisted she didn’t mind the hour. When we mentioned we hadn’t had dinner, she called her friend at a pub down the road and asked if they could put some food together for us since they normally stop serving a few hours earlier. We thought it was very kind of her to go out of her way to do so. When we arrived at the crowded pub (I really wish I could remember the name) they found us a shared table and brought us out some stew and a few pints. What a great way to end a long day with a few new friends and some great live music.
The rooms were comfortable and reasonably priced, and the breakfast was hot and tasty. I would recommend staying here before going to the cliffs of Moher or one of the many other sites in the area. Thanks Brid! We will never forget our short stay in Doolin!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Nice for our first night in Ireland.Hosts were fantastic although the rooms were a little tired and poor wi-fi. Great location to town and nightlife. A great breakfast.Killilagh House was very good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slatington, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My daughter and I really enjoyed staying at the Killilagh House in Doolin. I wish we would have been able to stay for a few days. We were greeted with coffee/tea and cake in a cozy common room with warm colors. Brid makes the best breakfasts! The French Toast is to die for. I would have liked to have tried the pancakes because I heard they were equally good! We were walking distance from a couple of pubs that have live music. We will stay there again if we have the opportunity to visit in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Two of us in a spacious room, cozy common room with a warm pellet stove out front, and an excellent breakfast served by hospitable hosts. The main drawback for us was the foul smell in our room, kind of mildew and sewage-like, had to keep the window open all the time. The shower had plenty of hot water, but the stall is tiny, like in a motorhome, unable to turn around without bumping the sides (and we're small people!). Also, be aware that there is no sound insulation - bring your white noise generator or you will hear the hum of every voice, the rattle of every key.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1. It becomes very smelly as soon as you close the window (which will be open when you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killilagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killilagh House

Address: Main Street, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killilagh house is on the main road in the centre of Doolin Village all rooms are on the ground floor are en-suite and have power showers The house is a couple of minutes walk to pubs and restaurants with safe off street parking and an official bus stop right outside our house Free WiFi available 10 mins drive to Cliffs of Moher and the Burren. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Killilagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killilagh House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.