We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an outstanding hostel. Great location. Wonderful people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Hostel
Save
You added Rainbow Hostel to your Saves list
Doolin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“This is an outstanding hostel. Great location. Wonderful people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

My daughter and I stayed two nights. The room was comfortable and the nearby pubs had great music. The owner gave a slide show that showed the nearby attractions and interesting plants. It was a winter visit, but with a turf fire in the stove and heating under the floor we were warm. The owners were very hospitable.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    16
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
48
32
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Came in winter, we were the only guests until late a few others showed up. The owners are nice. The rooms have no heaters, something to keep in mind. Surprisingly the bedrooms are not that cold, but some space heaters would have been welcome. It was not encouraging for a shower, even though the shower was clean and (apparently) has hot water. Typical hostel accommodations, has a lived-in feel with good common rooms. WiFi is spotty, we had a connection for a few hours and then nothing the rest of the time. The communal kitchen is huge, it's actually got 3 gas stoves it's so it's a great place to cook but unfortunately the dining area is too cold to eat in so we ate in the room with the fireplace. There are actually no heaters in the whole house, just one coal burning stove in the living room area. Felt like a cabin in the woods. The location is ok, but it is rather far from O'Connells. Because of a storm we actually had to drive there.

The rate (€20 pp) was about average for a room with no heat and no breakfast in the morning (not even coffee was available). I would recommend this hostel for people who like staying at hostels as a rule, although it would be useless for meeting ppl at this time of year. Otherwise, for a few euros more you can get a larger room in a B&B with heat and breakfast. That's the only reason why I say I would not recommend. No offense to the owners of course but honestly the only reason we stayed is because no B&Bs were open. In Jan the whole town is shut down. None of the 3 pubs had music even on a Friday, in spite of the fact that the hostel owner and all the guidebooks said that O'Connell's would have live music. In spite of it, the pubs still have good character inside. We liked McGann's the best but all 3 are nice (we had a pint in all). The area is scenic and still we enjoyed our visit to Doolin, the Burren, and cliffs of Moher.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowhostel, Owner at Rainbow Hostel, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. There are, however, a few points that I wish to correct. It is untrue to say that there are no heaters in the rooms, there is underfloor heating throughout the whole hostel and, while it is not feasible to have heating on in all areas at all times, we strive to heat all rooms that are occupied. There is also hot water available at all times. You arrived on a night in mid January during a spell of horribly cold, wet weather, perhaps not the best time of year for meeting lots of other travellers or expecting most other businesses in the village to be open We are at the opposite end of the village from O'Connors pub but are directly beside McDermott's and McGann's pubs and a small grocery shop. You pointed out in your review that you only stayed in the hostel because all the B/Bs were closed. Again this is inaccurate, there are a number of B/Bs open in Doolin at this time of year, in fact, there were two B/Bs open for business directly across the road from the hostel on the night in question. The price you were charged for the ensuite private room in the hostel is considerably less than you would pay for a B/B We have a spare food section in the hostel kitchen which also includes coffee and tea, I am surprised that you did not see this yourself. We were available and would have been happy to answer any questions Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

stayed here in the private rooms, would probably recommend staying in a dedicated b and b , rather than a halfway between b and b and hostel ,rooms were clean but not too homely, , and not too much quiet or comfort. good location though

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

There is something special about Doolin. It can be the weather even if it was raining!!!! or the trad music????!!!!.. …Something I can’t really explain but which makes people who live there special.
Mattie and Carmel are one of those: they are simply great and that’s wonderful to me.
The hostel is comfy and really clean. The bedroom was warmer than mine!!!!!
On the top five of my list : LOVELY

Thanks a million to be here and god bless your grandmother’s spirit Mattie.

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010 via mobile

Staying in the low season, my friend and I were some of the only people in the hostel, and got a dorm room to ourselves. The beds were comfy and warms, the rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean, the kitchen had basically everything you needed, the common room was comfy and had a fire going every night. Carmen and Mattie were helpful in pointing you in the right direction. The wifi access was a bit spotty but it's such a minor concern compared to what could have possibly gone wrong. There was zero disappointment here. I super highly recommend it. Make sure you ask Mattie to show you his slides. Not only is he very knowledgeable about the area, his photographs are gorgeous.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergamo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

we spent two nights at the rainbow hostel on our way to the Aran islands and Cliffs of Moher, the 22nd and the 23rd of September 2010.The hostel is clean, friendly and it has a very welcoming common area with the fire where to have some interesting chats. For breakfast there were always delicious fresh home made scones! At the hostel it's also possible to rent a bike to sightsee the area for a very cheap price.The owner, Mattie, is a wonderful Irish men: he did his best to made us feel at home. We had great time in Doolin and at the Rainbow hostel in particular: it's a very relaxing place in the middle of the rural Ireland and we didn't feel lonely at all. Thanks very much indeed Mattie for your kindness. Fra from Italy

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed at The Rainbow because I read about it on Trip Advisor. Carmel was a gracious hostess, friendly and very helpful, and yes, her scones are yummy! Mattie treated us to a slideshow with interesting commentary about the area one evening, and went out of his way to lend us a card reader to off-load our camera chip. The Rainbow is clean, the kitchen is big & bright & well-equipped, the evening fires were a wonderful luxury, and our bed was VERY comfortable. Would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hostel

Address: Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.