We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel on a perfect place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doolin Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Doolin Hostel to your Saves list
Doolin Hostel
1 Fisher Street, Doolin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Great hostel on a perfect place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

The staff is really nice and helpful, they also sell bus tickets and the bus stop is just across the street! Theres a great way to the cliffs of moher but it's also close to some pubs with live music! Aaaand doolin itself is really nice and worth to see!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    27
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
32
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag, Nederland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Kind and good service! We enjoyed the breakfast, with homebaked bread. In a few metres from the hostel starts a beautiful walking trail along the cliffs, which you can walk without a guide.
We happened to have a dorm with no other guests, which was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I did not stay here, but we did poke our head in. Where as most of the restaurants in Doolin are pretty expensive, and the other cafe was closed, we decided to try here. We were so glad that we stopped in! The owner makes all his own breads and condiments. We had affordable and filling sandwiches (I had turkey with stuffing and homemade cranberry sauce- delicious) with crisps and a small mixed green salad (with homemade dressing- right in front of us) on the side. Close to the piers and right across from the bus stop, they also have a variety of pastries. So I can't say anything about the accommodations, but the food was great! And Anthony was pleasant and patient while we were deciding what to do!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed there and it was fairly awful for Irish standards. I am Irish and it was definitely the worst place I have ever stayed. Small things like really craps pillows and a broken mirror. Those are small replaceable things should be taken care of and for nearly 18 euro a night, it really cheeky not to fix those things. Go to the other hostel Riverside much nicer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony and Dei... M, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest

It was good to converse with you last month and I look forward to your return visit. To keep you updated since we spoke we have updated the rooms in our adjacent building that you have stayed in.

They have all been repainted, new mirrors in the bathrooms, duvets, pillows on the beds, new lamp shades plus other little touches and renovations. We have also replace the hallway and stairs carpet plus lighting to give a fresher look in keeping with the main builiding.

As the busy season comes to an end we will be closing our adjacent building and we will be continuing our renovations over the coming winter period, transforming the downstairs living, dining and kitchen area in this building adding new services and amentities for all our guests to use.

I am sorry that your experience was not to the standard we wish to deliver to all our guests and thank you for your feedback. I look forward to your next visit and to show you all the improvements we have made.

Kindest regards
Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was the best experience I have ever had. I think what made it so special was the owners of the Doolin Hostel. Anthony is awesome. He was so helpful when I purchased the wrong bus ticket and cancelled it for me. This guy is always busy, so for him to take the time to help me cancel my ticket was very generous of him. I mean really, I do not know how this guy does it all. He greets every guess with a smile and helps anyone who needs it. The food, the service, and fair prices are phenomenal. If I ever make it back to Doolin I will definitely visit this hostel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin 18
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I didn't stay here but would if I could. Providing chauffeur tours around Ireland I dropped in for a tea while my clients strolled around Doolin village. They have opened a great fresh new looking coffee shop and its in great hands as I got chatting to the owner who has a background in high end accommodation. The place has had a makeover recently and he seems to be ticking every box even down to how many days he takes to prepare the ham. Its location is great in the town centre and you can even enjoy a scenic walking tour from the town up to the cliffs and back, why not take a sandwich. I don't often write reviews but when I see someone putting great effort into an area with such potential, it deserves a mention. Bon continuation!

Room Tip: Book ahead, it might be getting busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I had no reservations when I stopped in Doolin and allowed the Bus driver to chose my hostel. I was traveling alone through Ireland for 30 days. When I stepped off the bus and entered the Hostel the rest of my trip was canceled! This was home! My accomodations counldn't have been better. The location is so perfect with the Cliffs of Moher on one side, the Burren on the other & the Aran Islands just off the coast in front of you with the ferry terminal a short mile walk away. Don't forget the TRAD is at all the pubs & you can walk to all from Doolin Hostel. I enjoyed sharing my room with different people as that gave me a chance to meet so many interesting people.
The best thing about the Doolin Hostel is that when you arrive you are a client, when you leave you are family! Can't wait to get back to see my family! Give the girls a hug from the U.S. Grandma.
Geneva Remmerde

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doolin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolin Hostel

Address: 1 Fisher Street, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Doolin, overlooking the Village and out to Sea. At the start of the Cliffs of Moher Coastal Trail, 100m to O'Connor's Irish Music Pub, Located at the Bus Stop and a 15 minute walk to Doolin Pier. ------------------Free WIFI, Free Continental Breakfast, Free Internet Access, Free Parking. Dorms, Standard and Superior Rooms with King beds available. ----------------We cater for individual explorers, families and outdoor adventurers. We do not accept Stags, Hens or similiar parties. ---------------Cafe en-site (open April to October) serving home baked goods,local produce and Irish Craft Beers and great Coffee. ----------------Other services include Bus Eireann Ticket office, Tourist Information, Bureau de Change. Laundry, and full Self Catering facilities including outdoor area to wash activity ware. ----------------We look forward to welcoming you to our home. Anthony and Deirdre Moloney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Doolin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doolin Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.