We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverside Bistro

The Riverside Bistro
Roadford, Doolin, Ireland
(065) 7075604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 23 Restaurants in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location & excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

After our lovely day of touring Inisheer and experiencing the awe inspiring Cliffs of Moher from sea level, we were hungry and tired. We passed crowds at other restaurants and made a serindipidous turn into the Riverside Bistro. The lovely location along the side of a pretty creek was inviting. I ordered their crab claw appetizer and fish & chips and both were cooked to perfection and extremely fresh. The wine list was brief but thorough and we enjoyed an excellent French red recommended by our server. Service was prompt and unobtrusive. Please frequent this restaurant and support this lovely alternative to the other high quality establishments in Doolin.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    17
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fine Dining At Budget Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Riverside Bistro is one of the best restaurants l have ever eaten in. From the moment my husband and l entered we were given such a warm friendly welcome by the owner Olive, The food was divine, absolutely delicious and very generous portions. The waitress on duty was lovely and very friendly. l would highly recommend the Riverside Bistro, you will get five star food without the high cost !!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Consistently Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were here in 2011 and ate here twice... so we decided to try again and it was a fantastic meal by all in our party -- including our 4-year-old daughter. While our daughter is pretty open to anything they offered chicken nuggets and fries (chips) to which she said YES... and they were fresh chicken nuggets and not frozen which we were happily surprised.

As for the rest, we had a great bottle of wine and everything from the fish-wrapped fish to the local Irish beef was all perfect.

On a side note, the manager recognized us from our previous visit which was nice. A little conversation to catch up and good to know this restaurant has survived the winter.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A nice charge from pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We spent 3 nights in Doolin. It is well known for its music and it is a well earned reputation. If you are looking to get away from traditional pub food then you will not be disappointed with this bistro. There is a set menu and some evenings have specials. We enjoyed it so much we went back another night. I enjoyed the special, fish stir fry, the first night so she offered to make for my husband the second time we were there even though there were no specials that night. That's service. We indulged in the chicken curry and a delicious duck in an orange sauce. I was pleasantly surprised. It was a nice change from all the fish I was eating since our arrival to Ireland. All the dishes were freshly prepared and full of flavour.
We were very delighted to be entertained by Rita and her mandolin after supper our second night. Audience participation was welcomed. In no time we were all singing along.
This is a very small intimate setting. You get to talk to the owner, the entertainer and the few other patrons. We were so happy to end our experience in Doolin on such a positive note.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Nice alternative to pub food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This wonderful place redeemed our evening. We got into Doolin around 9:00 and had a terrible time finding at table at any pub. We walked into three different pubs where no one greeted us and there were no empty tables. Finally, we found this lovely place and walked in. We were immediately greeted with a friendly hello. We had our choice of tables and seated ourselves facing the fireplace. We shared an entree of baked salmon in a mushroom leek white wine sauce. The salmon was delicious as was the sauce. The presentation was beautiful and the steamed vegetables that accompanied it were fresh and wonderful. For dessert we enjoyed baileys cheese cake that was light and delicious and not too sweet. The service was great. I definitely recommend this bistro.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverside Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Riverside Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riverside Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.