We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sean is terrific!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doll's Cottage Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doll's Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Fisher St., Doolin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Doolin B&B and Inns
Napa, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sean is terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We ended up in Doll's Cottage by chance. Everything else we tried was full. Boy, were we lucky! We enjoyed our time in Doolin and were very well taken care of by Sean. He was most happy to make recommendations for food, music and touring the Burren.

I would recommend Doll's Cottage to one and all!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
36
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This was a great B&B. We've stayed in Doolin before, and this has to be my favorite now. The location is absolutely PERFECT. It's literally right around the corner from Gus O'Connor's Pub, easily the best pub in Doolin. Sean's family used to run the pub so he loves telling about the history of the pub and Doolin. His breakfasts are amazing, and he absolutely loves food. He gave us several recommendations for other places in Ireland as well. The room was also very comfortable. Although the breakfasts (the best we had on our trip) and the location was wonderful, the hospitality is what really put this place over the top. We probably talked to Sean for at least an hour after breakfast. A great B&B. If you're in Doolin, definitely check this place out! And of course , Doolin is an amazing place to stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Sean, profession chef and historian, made the best breakfast on the whole island, traditional Irish, oatmeal with Baileys, locally smoked salmon, etc. He also hooked us up with the right pub for music each night. Warm Irish welcome and sad goodbye, felt like family on departure. Centrally located to the 3 pubs in town for traditional music and dinner.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Great location in quaint town. Our hosts were warm and friendly and
our Irish breakfast was one of the best we had in Ireland! To die for scones!!!
Just a short walk to the pubs and ocean. No TV, but free WiFi!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We had a great stay at Doll's with Sean and Niamh being friendly and gracious hosts. They knew we were on our honeymoon and had a very nice note and bottle of sparkling wine awaiting our arrival. The accommodations were very comfortable and our room had a nice view the ocean and cliffs. The breakfast was delicious and Sean provided some fun stories while serving us. There was detailed information in the room regarding activities while in Doolin along with information on the local pubs. The location is exceptional - right off the "main" road down tot the harbor docks and within less than a two minute walk to Gus O'Connor's pub. We only had one night in Doolin, but wish we could have stayed longer due in part to how welcoming Sean and Niamh were. Cheers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomington, il
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We traveled to Ireland for the first time in May, spending the first two nights here. We arrived later then planned and were greeted warmly by both Sean & Niamh. We were given given expert advice & direction & were quickly acclimated to the culture & history of the area thanks to Sean. He was right on target & helped us make the most of our brief time in the area. We had the middle room upstairs. It was very clean & comfortable & although compact met our needs. Our room had no view, just a sky light that didn't open but I'm not complaining, just noting it, because we really didn't spend much time in the room- so much to do! The breakfast & lounge area were nice. Breakfast was wonderful & Niamh made sandwiches with our leftovers. Our fellow guests also seemed to enjoy their stay and everyone was so friendly. The location was great! O'Connors is right around the corner and the other pubs a pleasant 15 minute stroll. McGanns had the best sea chowder of our trip and Blackie provided some of the best tradituional music at McDermotts! Sean will know who is playing and where. We ran into him that night and he bought a round- we owe you Sean. Closing time came way to early. When we return, we hope to stay here again. Thank you Sean & Niamh & I hope the key arrived safely in the mail- sorry about that.

Room Tip: Ask about a room with a view or a window that opens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed with Sean and Niamh for two nights may 14 and 15th, we loved the room we had, very clean and quaint, looking out to the sea. Sean called the next morning to make sure we got on the ferry to the Aran islands. We also took the ride to the cliff of moher. Sean is so knowledgeable and very helpful and can give you great information about the areas. He also does some tours if you request them in advance. We enjoyed the o'connors pub which was onced owned by his family. You will not regret your stay with them. Thanks Sean and Niamh for making our stay so great.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doll's Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doll's Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: Fisher St., Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doll's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Doll's Cottage Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list