We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect host, perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doonmacfelim House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Doonmacfelim House to your Saves list
Doonmacfelim House
Doolin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 44 Doolin B&B and Inns
Staten Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect host, perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in April with three children, well teens! Had very warm greeting by Frank when we arrived. Quick check in and show to our rooms. Spotless rooms and especially bathroom (which is very important to me)! After getting settled Frank gave us some ideas of what teens might enjoy doing in the area, Cliffs of Moher of course! A real hit was the Doolin Caves! Beds were comfy, rooms comfortable and a fabulous, HUGE Irish breakfast! Very pleased and very convenient for walking to pubs and shops! Check out the fudge at Doolin Choc Shop....best ever! Say hello to Noreen the proprietor and ask for a sample! Delish!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    29
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
21
34
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A great house in a great little town. Frank did a great job with everything. It is very convenient to walk to the pubs in Dingle, where we heard great traditional music. Room was very nice and clean. We would definitely stay there again on our trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed 2 nights there with my wife and it was so nice place, so clean, amazing view, feel full privacy, great location near to the port and the owner frank is so nice man and honest i forgot my book there and he followed us by his car to the bus station to give it to me, the food was so nice and when you stay there you can see smell the real Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed 4 nights with a friend, in May 2013. The room was fairly small, but adequate, with a pleasant outlook. Frank works hard to keep guests happy, and was very apologetic when one morning we had cold showers as he had 'forgotten to turn on a switch'. The position, between the two halves of the village was excellent. While we were there a small writers festival was held and we joined a couple of lectures, and an evening of a couple of short plays - both interesting and enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for one night in May 2013. We had the "worst" room in the house -- not an en suite, but rather with a bathroom across the hall. This little hiccup did not do anything to ruin a perfectly lovely stay. The room was clean, the bathroom was huge, and the property well kept. Frank seemed very, very busy so we didn't get to speak with him at all, but did enjoy his large breakfast. We especially appreciated being given some unusual breakfast options, such as a selection of cheeses and yoghurts. A very nice B&B, and VERY close to O'Connor's Pub and the Lower Village.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I've read all the reviews, and all I can say is we enjoyed Frank. He has a quirky sense of humor (told us, with a huge smile, that we were late for breakfast, the sun was shining etc. etc.), but we showed up unexpectedly at his door, he gave us a choice of rooms, we slept great and the house and grounds were well maintained. We talked with him for probably an hour that morning and we really liked him.

I think as Americans, we assume that Irish B&B's are hotels. THEY ARE NOT! They are a way for people who live in Ireland, not the richest of countries, to make ends meet. We are in their homes. We are truly guests and as such, should treat them as if we were staying with friends. We should arrive in a timely fashion, or let them know when to expect us. We should be respectful of their time and day. If we are not willing to do so, we should stay in a hotel. Frank, here is my 5. Keep those blue Irish eyes smiling :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is my second stay at Doonmacfelim House, and surely won't be my last. Frank is a wonderful host, and tremendously well informed about the local area and sites. The B&B is quiet, very well located and has plenty of parking. Breakfast is made to order and ample enough to keep you from needing lunch. Plenty of hot water, fresh towels every day and complimentary WiFi. Like a few others, I was late on arriving as driving in Ireland always takes so much more time than I expect. I had no issues with my late arrival and was received warmly by Frank and his son. The rooms can tend toward the cooler side in this unseasonably cold spring but there is a fireplace in the sitting room and plenty of extra blankets in the room so that we found it not to be an issue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doonmacfelim House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doonmacfelim House

Address: Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Doonmacfelim House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doonmacfelim Hotel Doolin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doonmacfelim House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.