We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A castle with a view and much more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ballinalacken Castle Country House to your Saves list
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Coast Road R-477, Doolin R477, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Best Rates Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Doolin
Grand Rapids Mi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A castle with a view and much more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

We just returned from a trip to Ireland on July 14, my wife and I and two other couples, Ballinalacken Castle was our first stop. Just a short drive from Shannon airport Ballinalacken is located near Doolin in County Clare. The house is situated high on a hill with a view of the cliffs of Mohr to the south and the Aran isles to the west. Clarming rooms all with views of the Irish coast four poster beds attached bathroom with shower. The staff is professional, helpful and friendly but the best part of our stay at Ballinalacken was the food! We stayed in more expensive hotels and paid much more for meals during our two week vacation but the six of us all agreed our dinner at Ballinalacken was the best of the trip! When our travel plans once again take us to County Clare a stay at Ballinalacken will be at the top of our list.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    53
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
96
205
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

Thank you so much to Cecilia and the staff at the Ballinalacken Castle. My boyfriend and I went to Ireland for the first time and I suprised him with our stay here. The staff helped me for months prior to make this a special experience. From every detail, the view was spiritual, the food more than I could have expected. I love the way you handle the dinner service, not rushed just simply relaxed. I am in the hospitality field in Florida and I have never had a server come tell me during dinner that I should step outside and catch the beautiful sunset. How wonderful, the entire restaurant stepped out and enjoyed a beautiful sunset together before returning for dessert. In my opinion the rooms and decor of the property created the feel I would have imagined of Ireland. I would highly recommend this property for a couple who just wants to relax and enjoy the beauty God created, Ireland!!

Thank you Ballinalacken for making our time there perfect!!

Jim & Holly

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

Although you're not actually staying in a castle, the Ballinalacken is a really great place to stay. The location is convenient, just a few km from either Doolin or Lisdoonvarna, and near the sites of interest in that area. The rooms are spacious, all with nice views and amenities. The staff was very accomodating to our needs and very friendly. This was the most expensive place we stayed on our trip (140 euro for each room) but it was our one big splurge and we didn't feel cheated. I would recommend staying here if you're in the area - or even if you have to go out of your way to get here!

  • Liked — The ambience and the views
  • Disliked — The shower was a bit difficult - no way to avoid a small flood the way the door closes.
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

I have not actually stayed or eaten at Ballinlacken Castle Country House. The castle itself was marked on our tourist map so we drove by to see it from the road. Noticing that there was a restaurant next to the castle we went in thinking that if we ate there we would get to see the castle up close. Sadly the restaurant was closed but they were putting together a tour of the castle for their guests and invited us along.

The castle is exceptional. It is a ruin, not a tourist site with explanatory posters, gravel walks and plastic windows. However it is an very well preserved ruin with exceptional views. It is, I think, the best castle we visited in Ireland.

Witnessing the owners interacting with their guests, on the tour and elsewhere on the grounds I have confidence in their ability to cater to every need and their ability to make everyone feel welcome.

As a final note I will mention that, should the Irish skies be clear enough to provide a sunset, Ballinlaken Castle Country House would be a strikingly beautiful place from which to watch it.

  • Liked — The Castle
  • Disliked — The restaurant is closed on Tuesdays
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

We stayed at the Ballinalacken Castle (the castle is behind the Manor House) for two nights and enjoyed our stay immensely. We stayed in room#16, which is the suite with views of the Aran Islands. We had dinner at the hotel and the service and the food was excellent. The country house is only 10 minutes from Doolin (Trad Music at the Pubs), and the boats to the Aran Islands. The Cliffs of Moher are also just 20 minutes from the hotel.
WE also met Dennis Callaghan, the owner who regaled us with stories of Ireland. Dennis was also kind enough to give us a tour of the OBriens Castle, which is on his property.

  • Liked — Location and Food
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

We spent a night at Ballinalacken in May and found the setting beautiful and convenient (next to the Burren Way and close to Doolan and the Cliffs of Mohar) The room in the new wing had a distant view of the ocean and poor beds and furnishings and was not ready when we arrived at 5 PM . We participated in a lengthly argument in order to convince them to store our luggage while we waited. The service at the hotel and restaurant was generally quite poor and they did not seem to know anything about the surrounding area. We were not seated (at a very dark table) in a fairly empty restaurant until 45 minutes after the reservation we had booked well in advance. The food ranged from ordinary to poor. (two portions of fish very over-cooked and scones completely raw in the middle) We spent other nights in Ireland in some really wonderful places and this did not begin to compare.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

The hotel is quirky at best! They could do a better job of organization at the hotel especially serving dinner. The food however good is pricey and although presentation is very nice it could use a change to the atmosphere. The beds in the rooms were less than pleasing after a long day out traveling.

  • Liked — The town it was located in.
  • Disliked — The accomodations and the stuffy atmosphere.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballinalacken Castle Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Address: Coast Road R-477, Doolin R477, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinalacken Castle Hotel Doolin is one of the leading Castle Hotels Ireland with views of Cliffs of Moher. This Clare Hotel has an award winning restaurant and is the best place to eat in Doolin. It would be difficult to find a more beautiful place on the West Coast of Ireland in which to wake up. The Ballinalacken has been described in the press as one of the finest located houses in Europe. Our guest rooms offer spectacular panoramic views of the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay. A 15th Century Castle ruin of the O'Brien Clan stands imposingly beside the Ballinalacken Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ballinalacken Castle Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballinalacken Castle Country House Hotel Doolin
Ballinalacken Castle Country Hotel
Ballinalacken Castle Country Doolin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballinalacken Castle Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.