We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight on a trip of Highlights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ballinalacken Castle Country House to your Saves list
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Coast Road R-477, Doolin R477, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Best Rates Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Doolin
Amherst, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Highlight on a trip of Highlights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Where to start? This fabulous hotel and superb dining was totally beyond our expectations. There are a limited number of rooms, and one family traveling with us mentioned how safe they felt, that though their room started out a little stuffy (during Ireland's unexpected heat wave), they felt comfortable leaving their door open while it cooled off! We took up 3 rooms for our family and each one was fabulous. Excellent sleeping in comfort and cleanliness. Beautiful rooms.
Food--absolutely top-notch cuisine. And though we felt our adult tastes were more than satisfied, the 4 young children traveling with us were also catered to. We had an exquisite dinner one night and excellent breakfast the next morning. The staff was extraordinary. Absolutely couldn't be nicer--from the lady who greeted us upon entering to the wait staff in the dining area, to Declan, our tour guide for the old abandoned castle. WOW! WOW! WOW! Would go back in a minute. Difficult to get to for us Americans; however, can't judge the location too poorly as we had an ancient castle within yards of us and a gently sloping grassy area for the kids to run on....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    53
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
96
204
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The setting for this hotel is wonderful and our room was superb as was the breakfast. Great advice was given for our day out and Bill O'Brien was waiting for us as we drove down to the jetty. Aran Islands on ferry and trip in a pony and trap, Cliffs of Moher - it really was like stepping back in time and of course the fabulous weather absolutely made it - the sunset was spectacular.

Room Tip: The older rooms facing the sea have 4 poster beds and are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We arrived at this hotel quite late in the evening but were warmly welcomed by the staff. The hotel is in a quiet area about 4 miles from Doolin. We were initially shown to the bar for a drink but this is quite small and claustrophobic so we took the drinks to our room. There are large lounge areas with comfortable seats where we could have had our drinks. Our room was clean and spacious with views out to the Atlantic and had a four-poster bed. Tea and coffee making facilities were in each room and fresh milk was available. Breakfast was superb. The menu was good and tasty soda bread, scones and pastries were also available. The food was served by a very pleasant and helpful waitress who always ensured your coffee or tea cup was full. We were disappointed that on our second evening the restaurant was closed and we had to eat in Doolin. However, when we returned to the hotel we had a spectacular sunset only marred by numerous midges on the look out for exposed skin! Before we left the hotel the following morning we were treated to a private tour of the old castle which is beside the hotel. This is a hotel that we would recommend - it is a pity that we were unable to have dinner in the hotel and report on the excellent menu that was advertised.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view out to the Atlantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was the most beautiful place that we stayed at on our 10 day Ireland vacation. It is completely secluded on a hill with fabulous views of the ocean and the Cliffs of Moher. The hotel is wonderfully decorated and Cecilia was so friendly and welcoming. We arrived late in the day, fearing we were too late for the boat tour below the Cliffs of Moher. Cecilia promptly called down to the boats and let them know that we were on our way. The Hotel is just a short drive from the town of Doolin. When we returned from our cruise, we ate dinner at the hotel. The food was delicious, the setting couldn't be beat and the service was great. Then, to top things off, Declan took us for a sunset tour of the castle which is right behind the hotel. It was just incredible to have a private tour of a castle while the sun was setting over the ocean. From the top you could see the Cliffs of Moher and the Aran Islands in the distance. We finished out our evening in the bar where we had a wonderful time chatting with Dennis who was not only the bartender, but also the proprietor of the property. He had fascinating stories about growing up on the property and living in the area all of his life. We really enjoyed our time visiting with him and another couple that were staying there as well. We had a great breakfast in the morning, and Cecilia saw us off to our next destination. We wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Simply an amazing Country House that my wife and I got married at. The scenery was breathtakingly beautiful and the staff were beyond nice and helpful.

I would fully recommend to anyone staying in the Doolin area to stay here at least a couple of nights. This place truly has the Irish charm I visited Ireland for.

Also the older gentleman in the bar was really nice to drink a pint with and talk to for a couple of hours!

Room Tip: We got the honeymoon suite which I would recommend for the extra euros even if you're not on a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a wonderful two days enjoying the castle grounds the Cliffs of Moher, and the village of Doolin. Cecelia and Declan were helpful and welcoming hosts. All the staff we encountered were attentive. We especially enjoyed Evonne our waitress at dinner. Our room with the four poster canopied bed was spacious and comfortable with a fantastic view. Dinner and breakfast were delicious with a creative, eclectic menu. It was just a short drive to the Cliffs and the village, but far enough away for serenity and relaxation.
Declan, we thank you for the informative private tour of the castle tower. it was fascinating to hear the history. We appreciate taking time out of your busy schedule to accommodate guests

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Want a private tour of picturesque castle ruins not open to the public, led by someone with intimate knowledge of its history as a third generation caretaker? For free? Yes please. That's what we got when we stayed here, not once but twice.

We arrived much later than planned, but our host Declan went out of his way to make sure we were fed and taken care of in the hotel restaurant and then afterwards in the hotel bar. The hotel can best be described as having B&B charm with convenience of hotel amenities. They strike a perfect balance with these without losing the personal attention that you love about smaller B&Bs.

I can't stress enough though, DECLAN'S CASTLE TOUR ALONE IS WORTH THE STAY!!!

Room Tip: There is a newer addition, but so much attention to preserving the historic feel was taken that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballinalacken Castle Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Address: Coast Road R-477, Doolin R477, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinalacken Castle Hotel Doolin is one of the leading Castle Hotels Ireland with views of Cliffs of Moher. This Clare Hotel has an award winning restaurant and is the best place to eat in Doolin. It would be difficult to find a more beautiful place on the West Coast of Ireland in which to wake up. The Ballinalacken has been described in the press as one of the finest located houses in Europe. Our guest rooms offer spectacular panoramic views of the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay. A 15th Century Castle ruin of the O'Brien Clan stands imposingly beside the Ballinalacken Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ballinalacken Castle Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballinalacken Castle Country House Hotel Doolin
Ballinalacken Castle Country Hotel
Ballinalacken Castle Country Doolin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballinalacken Castle Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.