We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy a Five Star Meal with the Sunset Over Galway Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ballinalacken Castle Country House to your Saves list
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Coast Road R-477, Doolin R477, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Best Rates Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Doolin
Denver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Enjoy a Five Star Meal with the Sunset Over Galway Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

While not as well known of a place to stay as say Kilarney or Dublin, County Clare is home to the Cliffs of Moher, and the Ballinalacken Castle and the Country House next to it are very close by. This is a romantic spot with incredible natural beauty - and it happens to be home to one of the best restaurants around. We ate there 2 nights in a row, and the lamb might have been the best I ever had!

Room Tip: Decide if you want a larger room or a view so you can advise them when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    53
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
96
205
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Staying here was an experience! We loved the location- to the left you have a view of the distant Cliffs of Moher, to the right you can just see Galway bay. Overlooking the hotel is the remains of O'Brien tower, a 15th century castle! One of the highlights of our entire Ireland trip was when the proprietor allowed us to tour the castle. It was such a nice surprise! Although every room in the hotel is gorgeous, the green marble fireplace in the lobby, the beautiful sitting room and the dining room stand out to me. The hallway is lined withphotographs of the Burren. Breakfast is excellent!!! Our room was very clean and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. The room would please guests who prefer modern conveniences, yet it retains the charm of an antique-filled country home. Service is friendly and cheerful. A quick drive from town and attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at Ballinalacken Castle Country House during a recent family reunion. We had a fantastic experience from start to finish..we were greeted on arrival by Cecilia, our friendly and efficient hostess. The hotel has wonderful views over the Aran islands, Cliffs of Moher and even Connemara. We were blessed with fine weather and the views were truly magnificent. The hotel is located on the grounds of an old castle providing plenty of history and great photo opportunities. Our large room was well serviced and very clean, the bed was extra large and ultra comfortable. We ate dinner in the restaurant and it was one of the best meals we have eaten. The extensive menu was very impressive and my choices of crab dumpling and seafood special (prawn, scallop, monkfish, salmon and sea bass) were delicious. Great selection of good wines too and not overly priced!!The quiet bar nestled behind the restaurant is the perfect place to retreat for a night cap before bed.. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel..thanks to Cecila, Declan and all the staff for making it a very memorable stay.

Room Tip: Request a sea view as the views are amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Ballinalacken recently on a Friday night. The views from the hotel are superb. From the front of the hotel you are looking out at the Cliffs of Moher and the Atlantic Ocean. The food in the hotel is top class. The menu was excellent with a range of options - beef, poultry, game and a wide range of seafood. The wine list was good without being too expansive and was very reasonable. There is a real family feel to the hotel. It is owner run and managed. This shows through with service and the very friendly staff. I would highly recommend Ballinalacken for a stay in West Clare.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

an elegant treasure tucked away in the burren. very near doolin, and the cliffs of moher, this charming and comfortable hotel gave us beautiful rooms with water views as promised. the restaurant is excellent and the very hospitable hotel staff made sure we had a divine dinner even though it was a quiet night for the kitchen. they were great about giving a tour of the castle ruins, and we had a lovely cup of tea in a dreamy sitting room off the main lobby. lots of character and historic feel, and we recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I visited Ireland for the first time this summer with my husband, who has been to the Western coast many times before. He loves Doolin, so we stayed a couple nights at Ballinalacken and used it as a jumping off point for Doolin and the Aran Islands. I HIGHLY rec. taking a ferry to one of the islands and renting bicycles for a few hours. It was def. one of the highlights of the trip. The inn itself, I felt, was a little overpriced but maybe being so close to Doolin warrants that, I don't know. We were given the very first room, number 3 or 4 I think. It is right across from the pub and a few steps away from the parlor and reception desk. You could hear all of the clanging from the kitchen and pub as well as every conversation going on at reception and their phone ringing. The country house seemed to also be very popular with young families. The hotel was very full when we stayed but they were kind enough to let us move to the very last room, the suite. It was like night and day! The price was too, but if you are sound sensitive or looking for a more romantic getaway, just pay for the suite. There is a beautiful sitting area with views of the garden, sea, and the few fat cats lounging around the property. The room def. felt newer and fresher than the first and was nice and quiet. The young woman who worked breakfast and dinner was VERY nice.

Room Tip: Pay for the suite at the end. The view and space are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel is fantastic, though it is really more of a B&B than a hotel! It is not only in a BEAUTIFUL spot with castle ruins on the property, but the hotel staff makes you feel like you're at home. The best part of the hotel was the food, OMG AMAZING! I recommend the pistachio encrusted goat cheese, WOW! My family has issues with gluten and the chef knew exactly how to handle this obstacle because he had been gluten free his whole life, took stress away from the meals. The only reason I don't give them an excellent rating is because they only provide internet (wireless or LAN) in the bar and not in the rooms. While we were traveling for fun, not for business, this was a need for my family. Overall a fantastic place to stay and from what we saw of Doolin, it is definitely the nicest place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballinalacken Castle Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Address: Coast Road R-477, Doolin R477, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinalacken Castle Hotel Doolin is one of the leading Castle Hotels Ireland with views of Cliffs of Moher. This Clare Hotel has an award winning restaurant and is the best place to eat in Doolin. It would be difficult to find a more beautiful place on the West Coast of Ireland in which to wake up. The Ballinalacken has been described in the press as one of the finest located houses in Europe. Our guest rooms offer spectacular panoramic views of the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay. A 15th Century Castle ruin of the O'Brien Clan stands imposingly beside the Ballinalacken Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ballinalacken Castle Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballinalacken Castle Country House Hotel Doolin
Ballinalacken Castle Country Hotel
Ballinalacken Castle Country Doolin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballinalacken Castle Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.