We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CENTRAL, SPOTLESS, FRIENDLY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Connors Doolin Riverside Camping & Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
O'Connors Doolin Riverside Camping & Caravan Park
Save
You added O'Connors Doolin Riverside Camping & Caravan Park to your Saves list
Doolin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“CENTRAL, SPOTLESS, FRIENDLY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We've camped here a couple of times now (but too lazy to write a review so far!), but it just has to be done. We camp in a tent so can't give advice for camper vans, but overall the facilities here and people running the show are top class.
THE SITE: This is not your typical square open field, odd shaped area alongside the river with 2 smaller sectioned-off areas. Gorgeous, perfect for pitching. Also worth noting, a small group pitched late the first night and music on quite loud (not that bad), we mentioned it to the staff and they immediately put a stop to it. Any time we've camped there's a mixture of young, old, couples, groups, and families so I'd say this is suitable for all types of campers.

OFFICE/ KITCHEN/ SHOWERS: Showers & toilets are immaculate 24/7 (not just in the mornings like other sites!). The kitchen has 2 separate hob cookers that operate using 1/2 euro coins. Haven't used them but am told they run for ages on nothing...handy if the rain comes in. Kitchen is also spotless, has several sinks and a communal fridge. Office stocks a few items like soft drinks, toiletries and ice creams as well as tonnes of info on local activities etc. As another poster said if the office is closed (rare) ring the bell and they're down within a minute. Nothing is a problem, always friendly, great for advice on local stuff and even let me put my ice packs in the ice cream freezer!

THE VILLAGE: Love it! Loved Doolin for years. It's quirky, got great music, trad pubs and more modern less touristy pubs too. Lovely cafes also. THere's a bit of everything here.

Doolin cafe is a gorgeous quaint place that does almost everything home-made, down to the little french fries and tomato ketchup.

I hear there's a lovely French sort of bakery/cafe on the way out of Doolin towards Galway to the right. Keep an eye out for it if you're there, I hear their cakes and coffee are divine!

Cruises go from the pier out to the cliffs everyday - well worth a look was amazing!

Rainbow Hostel (i think thats the name) does bike hire if you fancy a cycle around which is a great way to see everything and go a little further too.

....Oh and bring your midge spray! In this humid weather by the river you'll be glad to have it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
tullamore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

just back after staying 4 nights here with my boyfriend , our first camping trip and thankfully we picked a super site , very plesent owners , spotless campsite and facilities . nice little shop on site they run the B&B as well so if there not in the shop just ring the bell and they come over super quick. we brought our dog as well and kept him on a lead at all times was nice to be able to bring him as it works out cheaper than kennals !! great pub close by, very central to alot of activities . noticed other reviews saying there were issues regarding noise at night , we stayed around the campsite having a few drinks and giggles with friends we wrapped up about midnight which is fair enough i think and no problem , would highly recommend and were already planning out next trip over :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a lovely campsite, kept to a very high standard. It has everything you could possibly need camping. The owners are so friendly and helpful and it's just a short walk to the local pubs. Their is a small shop at reception which is basic but has lots of snacks and drinks. We stayed in the very hot weather so it was lovely to wake up and have a ice cold drink from the shop. I would recommend this campsite to people of all ages. I was that impressed I'm returning next week.

Room Tip: As previously mentioned with other travellers, camping behind the hedges will minimise the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is an extremely good camping site, location is fantastic, facilities are really good, all u need is there ,showers, games room, washing facilities, the place caters for all groups, friends, families and couples, the owners are very good at recommending where to go and what to do, ferries go to the Aran islands and the pubs around the place are great especially at summer time, will definitely be returning again,a great base for site seeing,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Its a great place to stay set in a lovely location and only a short walk from everything.the staff are very friendly and helpfull.facilities are fantastic very clean and theres a big games room so somthing for everyone.will definitely be coming back.couldnt have asked for more.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The site reception is just a window so doesn't make you feel very welcome. The shower block was very clean and was 1 euro. Tokens can be bought at reception. It gave you plenty of hot water. There is only one power bollard with lots of different power points for all the caravans. This means you may need a long cable depending on which pitch you are on. If you happen to be on the opposite side then your power cable has to run across the section which means people would have to run over your cable to drive out. Our pitch was on the same side so it didn't bother us. However, having said that the site in in a good location. The Fitz's pub is only a couple of minutes walk and serves food and live music nightly. Doolin is a funny little place and is split into separate parts with pubs in each. The famous Gus O'Connor's pub is in one of the other parts and is about a 10 minute walk. Again a great pub with food and live music nightly. For such a small village it is very busy with tourists. From here we went to The Cliffs of Moher. The car park fee gives you access to the visitor centre and the cliffs. If you go through the visitor centre and off to the right there is a tower which you can climb but have to pay. Don't bother paying because it's not worth it. If you walk to the left along the cliffs you will come to a spot that says private property. Most people didn't take any notice and continued walking. I must say we did the same and the view was far better than going the other way. Well worth being a bit naughty!! We continued walking to a small castle at the end and took us about 1 hour. You can also get a ferry across to the Aran Isles which comes back via the Cliffs of Moher or you can just do a 1 hour trip to see the cliffs only. We just did the 1 hour trip.Another day we had a drive through The Burrens. This is a large area of unusual rock formations and very interesting. I believe there are many walks that you can do around the area. All in all we had a great time here and would recommend it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were impressed with the facilities of this campsite, it is straight forward, basic and clean and we were allowed to camp where it suited us - we picked a sheltered spot, enclosed by a fence and a hedge as we had a 9 months old and a 3 years old and did not want them running too far from the tent. The only downside was after a massive downpour one day, the ground we picked was like a bog and we were asked to stop parking our car adjacent the tent to prevent it being churned up. The owners were polite but did not really have much time to chat. It felt a bit strange having to talk through their kitchen window. We had a great time, and would recommend this site to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Connors Doolin Riverside Camping & Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Connors Doolin Riverside Camping & Caravan Park

Address: Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Doolin on a unique setting over looking the Aille river. Riverside camping is a small, friendly, family run park constructed within our family grounds, to the highest hygiene standards. It is well sheltered and personally supervised. 3 star guesthouse on site. Hotel Doolin, Fitz's bar, a pizzeria, two restaurants, a pantry and off-licence and a tourist information point are located less than 60 metres from the site. O'Connors pub is located 5 minutes walk to our right and McGanns and McDermotts pub's 5 minutes walk to our left. All pubs have live traditional music nightly starting from 9:30. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Connors Doolin Riverside Camping & Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.