We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reason to get up in the morning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Doolin Cafe

The Doolin Cafe
Roadford, Doolin, Ireland
+35 (0)65– 70 74 795
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Doolin
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A reason to get up in the morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Doolin cafe is just so sweet. The food is delicious, with generous portions at a really great price and it feels like something out of your nana's kitchen. Fresh made breads, the best hot chocolate and such warm friendly staff. An absolute gem!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    41
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best food in Ireland, let alone Doolin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Awesome menu, very progressive. Have a pint next door at McDermott's but have dinner here! The leek soup was amazing as was the scallop appetizer. Having the squash entree, which looks and tastes amazing!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tasty food and huge portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had the 5 course evening meal at Cafe Doolin. Staff were extremely friendly and professional, and we enjoyed our meal.

The food was tasty, but the portions were huge including lots of bread and side dishes and I don't think I'd get the 5 course special again. After the starter I was regretting my decision!

The chef has some nice ideas, and definitely knows how to cook (perfect medium steak!) but it's a shame the sides, salads and garnishes didn't suit each course rather than serving the same thing with everything. They could save a little and focus on quality over quantity.

Overall we'd a lovely evening.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesomeness on a plate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

The Doolin Cafe is awesome. Excellent food, atmosphere, staff and chefs. I've been twice, once for dinner and once for breakfast. The imagination of the chefs here is what sets the food apart from other establishments. Bored of rubbish veggy breakfasts I was thrilled to get a huge plate with perfectly poached eggs, the sweetest cherry tomatoes ever, grilled haloumi, roasted red peppers, fried potatoes and the freshest brown bread ever...I ate the lot, very quickly!! My only complaint is that it's too far from my house in Galway so I can't visit as often as I'd like. If I lived closer I would be a very regular customer! Well done to all staff involved!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston lancs
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had read about this place and their legendary breakfasts on Tripadvisor so sought it out. It's slightly out of the town and looks fairly ordinary outside. It was full and we had to wait quite a while for a table but it was well worth it. Two of us had the great breakfast and one had the pancakes with fried banana and pancetta. All faultless! Loads of lovely toast too, both soda bread and a really good fruit bread with cherries.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Doolin Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Doolin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Doolin Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.