We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McDermott's Pub

McDermott's Pub
Roadfoard, Doolin, Ireland
+ + 353 65 7074328
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Traditional irish pub owned and run by the same family since 1876. Serving home cooked meals daily from march to november 1st. Groups catered for with reservations. Traditional irish music live every night all summer long. Come and join us!!
Ishpeming, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our group of six ate here and everyone enjoyed their meals. The staff were pleasant, but very busy even though the place wasn't that full while we were there. Our group had the Guinness stew, and other dishes, and all were very good. Recommend it as a good stop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    122
    34
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We wanted a light dinner and an early night and McDermotts was recommended to us. I had a bowl of seafood chowder that was huge and full of seafood; my husband had the fish and chips. Both were very tasty. We did not stay to hear the Irish music, but the place appeared to be popular with locals, always a good sign. The service was excellent

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great pours and a night of great music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The food is excellent here. We were lucky enough to be there on a night when Blackie O'Connell was there with Foolin in Doolin and got to hear them play for a few hours. Great fun, good food and Guinness, and the music of the land. Recommend!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Irish Comfort Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The first night we ate here, it was a cool, rainy day and we had walked quite a bit so were pretty ready to have something hot. We both ordered the beef stew and it really hit the spot! It was truly one of the best beef stews I've had. Highly recommend it! But aside from that, the atmosphere of the pub, the friendly wait staff, and the musicians who played in the evening made this feel like a true Irish experience. I did read where another person wrote that the musicians didn't engage the patrons, but the night we were there (also in September of 2013), they did several songs that we were encouraged to sing along with. It was "good craic" as they say in Ireland. We came back the next day for an early dinner and I had the fish and chips that day, and they were also excellent. What I really liked about this place is that the locals came in, that the town is small and everyone seems to know each other, and that the staff never seems to pressure people. You can sit there and enjoy a drink or your meal and take as much time as you want and it never feels rushed. If you find yourself in Doolin, do check it out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Irish through and through”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Fantastic home cooked Irish tucker and authentic Irish sounds with live music most evenings. this is my favourite in Doolin.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McDermott's Pub also viewed

 

Been to McDermott's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McDermott's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.