We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy pub, great meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McGann's

McGann's
Doolin, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cosy pub, great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Went here for dinner on a VERY busy Saturday night in doolin (the Harley Davidson festival was in town). We found 2 bar stools as we walked in and asked a waiter if there were any tables. Within 10 minutes he had found us a table. The Irish stew was fabulous, my partner had the beef burger which was also great. Very friendly & attentive staff, even though it was so busy. Would highly recommend

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    66
    21
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ah-mazing food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Bartender was very helpful, wish I got her name. Recommended a black current cordial in my friend's first Guinness experience. It was great with and without it. Pricing was really good considering the output. The food was delicious...especially pear-seared salad, Irish stew and the cod in the fish n chips (my mouth is watering now thinking of them). My friends and I sampled each other's dishes. Nothing disappointed. I hate to say this, but I did enjoy Gus O'Connors which was closer to our lodge but McGanns food and service was really my favorite. Walk a little further down Fisher Street strip to McGanns. The walk there is also quite lovely. Oh, as soon as you come in, go to bar, review menu, then you'll have to place order at the bar and pay there too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Very good food, very kind staff and good music; even good people all around our table: what could we want more? If you are in Doolin, go there!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Solid Pub Food for the Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My wife and daughter found a table and enjoyed well prepared food. The service at the crowded bar was top notch. The bartenders sis not miss a beat. Our harried server clearing the dishes looked like she could have used some help. She cleared our plates and then forgot to give us our bill. We stayed for some music and another round of pints and thought we'd get the bill but I finally had to stop the server to let her know we never got our food bill. They gave it to us promptly but I wondered how easy it could be for someone else to walk out without paying when the bar is so crowded on these summer nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great pub grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I was visiting the Cliffs of Moher with my wife's family and we stopped in at McGann's after. It has a bit of the 'Irish theme pub' feel about it so I had my doubts. Yes it was full of tourists but there were clearly locals at the bar and the place had a lively and welcoming feel.
We were all starving and looking for something to keep us going for the drive back to Dublin and this place delivered in spades. It was all your standard pub classics e.g. burgers, fisn n chips, stew, bacon and cabbage. These dishes aren't hard but all too often Irish pubs make a mess of them.
McGann's however was absolutely top notch- simple food done really well. Even though it was very busy, the staff were great- really friendly which my guests commented on. Good value for money too I'd add. Well done to them and a big thanks.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGann's also viewed

 

Been to McGann's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGann's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.