We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McGann's

McGann's
Doolin, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stopped here for breakfast and a Guinness on our way to the Cliffs of Moher. Nice little pub with good service

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    66
    21
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More for the Locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

While O'Connor's is amazing, McGann's is a great place to mingle with a bit more of the local crowd. Another great place for sessions and a little less refined :) The food there is very good and the staff are all very friendly. The owner didn't just ask a general 'how are you' question and take our order, but generally wanted to know where we were from, how we liked Doolin, what we had done, etc. He made sure we were having a good time and stopped to chat here and there. Great all round place!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichaels, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I had breakfast here our first morning being in Ireland. This is an awesome looking Irish Pub. The waitress's were very friendly and the food was delicious. It was not comfortable to eat though. There was a group of guys, who did not look like good people, there drinking that kept watching us and made some rude remarks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another Doolin must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

McGann's Pub is the second of 3 great pubs in Doolin. Dermott the owner was bartender waiter and server the night we were there. You would have thought the service was going to be slow but fact is it was better than most places I have been over the years. Food was OUTSTANDING! and atmosphere was warm and cozy. We went twice during our stay in Doolin. Once for dinner and once for a fantastic traditional Irish breakfast. Make sure you add McGann's to you list if staying or passing through Doolin.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Very Irish feel to McGann's. Tony, the owner, was present and mingling with everyone. Irish musicians played throughout the evening and there was a soccer match on TV. The Irish coffee was fantastic and the Guiness poorer perfectly. Even with a bus of German tourists joining us, there was room for everyone.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGann's also viewed

 

Been to McGann's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGann's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.