We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly brilliant!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cullinan's Seafood Restaurant

Cullinan's Seafood Restaurant
Doolin | Co. Clare, Doolin, Ireland
065 7074183
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $19 - $30
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated in the heart of Doolin, an idyllic setting overlooking the Aille River, Cullinan’s Guesthouse & Award winning restaurant is run by chef/owner James & his wife Carol. We offer 1st class accommodation in spacious rooms with flat screen tv’s, tea/coffee facilities, ensuite bathrooms, hairdryers, free car parking on site & free wifi throughout.Accredited Restaurants Association dining award, AA breakfast award, Michele Erdvig restaurant of the year, RAC dining award & 2 AA rosettes 2012/13. Also listed in many prestigious guidebooks such as Georgina Campbells 100 Best places to stay in Ireland 2012, Fodors, Frommers,Bridgestone Guides and top choice Lonely planet.Guests are advised to make dinner reservations prior to arrivalRestaurant open for dinner from 6.00 - 9.00pm Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday & SaturdayRestaurant not open for dinner from November to easter
Kenmare
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly brilliant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I really didnt know what to expect when the owner of the guesthouse we were staying at booked this for us...their own restaraunt was not open that particular night-it turned out to be one of the nicest meals ive had...and i can be very particular about food!-We were greeted and seated in a lovely intimate dining area with panoramic views of the doolin countryside...it only holds about 25 at any one time but tables were not squashed so it was a good indicator that the emphasis is on quality and not quantity here-a lovely little complimentary taster was brought out before our starters...a nice little gesture and very tasty-the brie starter came on a slate plate and tasted just as good as the quality presentation..the breads were also amazing especially the sundried tamatoe bread which still had a vein of tamatoe paste running through it...yum! .....for mains i had the monkfish and my gf had hake wrapped in parma ham....shes not a big fish eater but she was loving this dish...both pieces were cooked perfectly and very nice but the standout part of the mains is the complimentary flavors and sauces they integrate into the dishes....honestly words wont do justice...for deserts we got the choclate tartlet and the ginger and rhubarb crumble...again really excellent stuff...the crumble especially tastes great and is served warm with homemade ice cream!- In summary-service food location and a very cosy dining experience make Cullinans one you cant afford to miss!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    9
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had not booked a table, yet the host managed to squeeze us in. This was a true meal experience - exquisite food and in no way could we fault the service. Excellent.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Two night stay in Culinan's guest House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is the best place I have stayed in in Ireland! We stayed there last week for a wedding we were going to and I loved every minute of it. The bedroom was very pleasant and I was impressed by the comfort of the mattress. It was great, too, to be able to open windows and get plenty of fresh air. One of our windows looked out onto the river which made it extra special. We didnt get to eat dinner in the excellent restaurant as the wedding was on one of the evenings and they are closed on the Wednesday evenings. However, we had the breakfasts and they were a most enjoyable and delicious experience. We didnt get to meet the amazing chef but we loved meeting Carol and found her very welcoming and most helpful in every way. As they were not open on the Wednesday evening, Carol quickly suggested a very pleasant alternative and booked it for us. I highly recommend Cullinan's and look forward to going there again big time. Everything about it is tastefully done and to very high standards.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Definitely going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Recently my wife and I made our third trip to Ireland. Unable to get into a favorite B&B in Galway, we decided to spend a night in Doolin. As we drove into town we noticed Cullinan's and thought we'd try to go there for dinner. We arrived without reservations and were told we could get a table provided we were done at a certain time as they had other reservations. We agreed and it turned out to be on the best moves we could have made. We ordered off the "Early Bird" menu and can't stop talking about how terrific everything was. My wife doesn't particularly life seafood but ordered the Atlantic Seafood Pot and loved it. In fact, she kept ordering similar dishes throughout our trip in an effort to find another one as good as what she had at Cullinan's. We agree this meal was one oof the best we've had in all our trips to Ireland. We''re in the process of planning our fourth trip to Ireland and hadn't planned on being over towards Doolin but may just have to make a special trip!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Cullinan's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Breakfast at Cullinan's last Saturday morning. Initial impression was that of top quality. 2 linen table clothes to each table. No butter pats or jam disposable packs. Only sliced butter and homemade jams presented in delph bowls. Beautiful delph with nothing missing on our table. Waitress dressed in what appeared like a uniform, how appealing first thing in the morning. To top off the service, the owner, Carol even came around to each table to check that all was well. This is certainly a rarity for breakfast in Ireland. B and B's generally provide a much higher quality service for breakfast with individual attention to each person but Cullinan's exceeded all service I have previously received in any B and B and I would not even compare hotel breakfast with Cullinan's. Bain Marie food left steaming for hours and "tough luck" if you are a few minutes late for breakfast. If we want to bring more tourism to Ireland, why don't all interested parties begin by taking a trip to Cullinan's of Doolin and if you cannot stay overnight, give their evening meal a try, you will not regret your trip!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cullinan's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Doolin, The Burren
 

Been to Cullinan's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cullinan's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.