We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treehouse Retreat at Diamond Waters

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunbogan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treehouse Retreat at Diamond Waters
Save
You added Treehouse Retreat at Diamond Waters to your Saves list
128 Diamond Head Road, Dunbogan, New South Wales 2443, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Dunbogan B&B and Inns
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I am bereft having just left a wonderful treehouse, surrounded by stunning scenery, natural wildlife and the sounds of the surf in the still of the night. Kerry and Peter couldn't of made me feel more welcome with tips on their backyard fishing and their local list of must do's whilst visiting Camden Haven, I had a wonderful stay and will cherish the memories forever.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreehouseRetreat, Owner at Treehouse Retreat at Diamond Waters, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and I would say that everyone at the Treehouse Retreat just loved having you around for chats over coffee and your input into our traditional Sunday morning Telegraph Quiz challenge over coffee was greatly appreciated. Being able to provide someone with a home away from home for a short period of time was a privilege and we cannot wait to see you and your family in the near future. PS - we would love to be able to guarantee that every guest would catch the quality of fish you snared but there is an element of luck with all fishing - but you took to it like a natural.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I had the most fantastic stay at the wonderful Diamond Waters Treehouse Retreat.
The tree house itself exuded a unique style of understated charm, and was magnificently appointed. Architecturally well-conceived, and situated amongst beautiful surroundings, (gorgeous trees and amazingly lush grounds, and a lovely pond), and not to mention the sweet sound of local tree frogs bellowing into the night, it really is a place you can unwind and relax in style.

Peter was the quintessential host attending to our every need as guests (we unfortunately didn't get the chance to meet Kerry). And we loved sampling the 'very' local produce grown on the property. A wonderful side-benefit to such a great place. Situated not far from the beach (of which at times you can practically be the only people on it), and close to amazing
water lands and mountain views, this really is a beautiful part of the country.

With me and my wife having travelled the world extensively, it is so fantastic to discover pieces of paradise like this in our own backyard (even though we're not from this part of the country). Our only regret is not being able to stay for longer! Highly recomended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreehouseRetreat, Owner at Treehouse Retreat at Diamond Waters, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your awesome review of our property. The team at Diamond Waters were absolutely thrilled to read it and it gives us great heart to expand the eco-tourism experiences for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My sister, Tess and husband, Barry Hannelly from Sydney made the perfect choice to have a vacation within a vacation for me, from Dallas, Texas. They know how I love being around nature, but not loose the comforts of home. This is a perfect place to unwind, welcomed by Jimmy and Skye as you pull in the driveway, taken to the nearby beach by Skye, hike the nearby trails, kayaking, and a whole lot of fun activities in the area. Kerry and Peter are more than happy to suggest the places to eat and visit and never disappointed. (rather beyond expectation). The garden is just to die for. I wanted to take home everything and recreate the beauty that they have provided for their visitors even a frog that I said I have not spotted. The cappuccino served by Peter in the morning was delicious. WE VWILL BE BACK! Thank you, Kerry, Peter Jimmy and Skye. Jimmy, get well soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreehouseRetreat, Owner at Treehouse Retreat at Diamond Waters, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
It was so delightful to have you stay at the Treehouses and to occasionally see you link into our facebook page is wonderful. Every time we find a new frog species I think about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branxton, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Treehouse is the perfect place to stay! The hosts - Kerry and Peter - are the best!

We are return visitors and intend to keep returning!

The Treehouses are impeccably clean, well planned architecturally, well equipped for everything.....Peter and Kerry have thought of everything!

It is quiet, not far away from Laurieton. Close to the river for fishing, kayaking, boating and swimming or surfing. Or just the perfect place to relax on the balcony reading a book or magazine with cuppa or champers!

The most enjoyable memory for me is sitting in the Nursery coffee bar -just relaxing with my free cup of Soy Milk Latte and chatting with Kerry and Peter about my next plant purchase and which pot is going to suit it best - I have done this for many years!

Kerry and Peter have catered well with my Coeliac Disease requirements - this is appreciated - CD visitors need not be worried - in my opinion.

Thank you guys and can't wait to return again! Cathy & Tim R.

Room Tip: Great beds, good pillows and clean bed linen. Wonderful bathroom & rainwater shower.Everything i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreehouseRetreat, Owner at Treehouse Retreat at Diamond Waters, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. It is an absolute delight to have you as guests and hope that you might come back for a winter sojourn to experience the cosy fires. Our staff who prepare the Treehouses were absolutely thrilled to read your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, NSW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Diamond Waters Treehouse Retreat for our honeymoon, and absolutely loved it. The treehouses are beautifully crafted, with almost everything you could want in a home away from home. We absolutely adore this place. The beach, river, and National Park are all at your doorstep, and being surrounded by rainforest was just wonderful.

The hosts, Peter & Kerry, were lovely people, and Peter makes a great coffee. They provided great suggestions for places to eat and things to see and do. We truly wish we had booked a longer stay; it was so amazing that we didn’t want to leave.

We have been recommending Diamond Waters to all of our friends and family, and we intend to return when we can, to experience that which we missed this time around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreehouseRetreat, Owner at Treehouse Retreat at Diamond Waters, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Wow, thanks Miriam and James. Even though we had the recent local bushfire during your stay it did give us a bit more time for talks and coffee. We are really looking forward to a return visit. PS we picked up an award at the NSW Tourism Awards last Thursday that we are thrilled about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were fortunate enough to stay at the beautiful Treehouse Retreat for three perfect nights. Where do I start? The location is wonderful with a short drive to Laurieton and all the facilities you would expect of a lovely local Village, a short stroll down the path to the beach with untouched sand and wild and glorious waves and the surrounding area of Camden Haven itself is an absolutely beautiful destination for time away to relax, unwind, take a breather and really live! The Treehouses are impeccable in every way, the craftsmanship and beautifully thought through colours and furnishings ensure this eco friendly piece of art is no only 5 star but sits wondefully well in its tranquil natural surroundings, it truly is a haven. The birdlife, the chooks and Jimmy the Duck are gorgeous and our hosts could have done nothing more to make us feel so welcome (great coffee too thank you!). Walking to the front door on our first evening, my partner said 'oh no.... we should have tried to book for the whole week' without even stepping inside we were entranced by the place. We can not recommend this highly enough, having the good fortune to have undertaken many travels Treehouse Retreat is an absolute standout in our experiences - eco friendly, wonderful hosts, perfect location, impeccable thoughtful design, furnishings and amenities, quiet, clean, comfortable and exceptionally difficult to leave...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreehouseRetreat, Owner at Treehouse Retreat at Diamond Waters, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we look forward to adding more features to our Treehouse experience for next year. Now that the Coffee Bar project has been completed we are turning our attention to the orchard and bush tucker grove. So far we have planted macadamia, mango, mulberry, brazilian bush cherry, abiu, olives, orange, lemon, mandarin, lemonade, passionfruit, guava and limes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 days and had a very relaxing time. The scenery is very beautiful and the treehouse is well equipped and modern. Loved picking herbs from the garden and collecting fresh eggs for breakfast. This place is a winner!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreehouseRetreat, Owner at Treehouse Retreat at Diamond Waters, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We are so pleased that you found our little 'haven' restful and we particularly enjoyed your comments about the herbs and vegetable gardens. Our nursery staff were chuffed. This spring we are commencing work on our 50 tree fruit orchard and bush tucker plantation and hope to extend to our guests delectable items from both Australia and around the glode. Last week we planted an abiu and the fruit tastes like creme caramel! We have also planted mangos, Brazilian bush cherrys, cape gooseberries, passionfruit, guava, tropical plums, papaya, olives and more. To cap it off we are going to build a 'living fence' - just to be a little uncoventional. It is about having a great deal of fun really.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treehouse Retreat at Diamond Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treehouse Retreat at Diamond Waters

Address: 128 Diamond Head Road, Dunbogan, New South Wales 2443, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Camden Haven > Dunbogan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dunbogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Waters Treehouse Retreat is a multi-award winning facility with two eco-luxury Treehouses. They are T-QUAL (Australian Tourism), Advanced Ecotourism and Climate Action Business Accredited to ensure the highest possible quality amenity and service. Described by NRMA Open Road Magazine as "where eco-cottages meets Vogue Magazine".The Treehouses overlook the pristine Camden Haven River and protected wetlands and sit under the gaze of North Brother Mountain. The Retreat is just 500 meters walk to a secluded beach and a few minutes drive to national parks, the local village and superb restaurants. They provide the perfect holiday destination for a romantic weekend, or a great location for family and friends to escape-discover-relax. Come and enjoy our idyllic climate and the natural beauty of the yet undiscovered NSW mid north coast.There is a wonderful rain forest garden, coffee bar and extensive herb and vegetable gardens to graze from. Coffees, herbs and vegetables from the gardens are free for Treehouse Guests to enjoy.North Coast New South Wales Tourism Ecotourism Award 2012 - GoldNew South Wales Tourism Unique Accommodation Award 2012 - BronzePort Macquarie Environmental Sustainability Award 2012 - WinnerPort Macquarie Disabled Access Award 2012 - FinalistThe Treehouses are not just a wonderful and luxurious place to stay, they are an environmental experience. ESCAPE - DISCOVER - RELAX ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treehouse Retreat at Diamond Waters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.