We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most wonderful and welcoming place. Can not recommend too highly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coolefield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millstreet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coolefield House
Save
You added Coolefield House to your Saves list
Drishanbeg | Millstreet, Millstreet, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Millstreet B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most wonderful and welcoming place. Can not recommend too highly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What wonderful people and such a beautiful place. It was perfect. We could not have been made more welcome or been more kindly and generously looked after. After staying a couple of nights with Pam, Michael and their lovely children (July 2013) we felt we had been made honorary members of their family. Our girls were very happy and we all felt completely at home. They could not do enough to help us enjoy our stay - and it would have been impossible not to. The house is beautiful, spacious, light, warm (geothermal underfloor heating) and so comfortable. It is very elegantly furnished and at the same time completely homely. Pam made many heavenly scones and cakes, the breakfasts were also delicious and generous. It is a peaceful spot and was an easy drive onwards down to South West Cork and from Co. Clare. We had an excellent evening meal in the local pub. There was plenty going on in the area day and night! We swam in the beautiful river, walked locally and were given every local tip and contact to enrich our stay. We only wished we had stayed longer. They are the kindest hosts and we cannot recommend staying there too highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
15
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at Coolefield House for four nights in August 2013. Pam and Michael are brilliant hosts - both incredibly attentive & welcoming. Pam's baking is top class and the breakfasts were vast and delicious featuring copious home baked breads and scones, porridge, pancakes and the full Irish if you could fit it in. We were also welcomed home in the evening with tea and carrot cake by the fire or even in the kitchen if that's where everyone was. Pam and Michael's children were also a pleasure to be around - polite, well mannered and chatty when spoken to but not intrusive. The house is immaculate - clean, beautifully decorated and well appointed. Michael lent us maps for our bike trips and gave us a few good routes to follow as well. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area. Perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Coolefield combines all the features of a newly built house with a classic Irish Georgian design and tastefully furnished with antiques. It is set in a large plot which is quiet and rural outside of Millstreet town. There were cows in the adjacent field and chickens which provided our eggs for breakfast. There was plenty of outdoor space for our boys to run around and play (complete with a tree house). Our room was large, discrete and immaculate. The shower room was absolutely perfect. Michael was a helpful host, giving us excursion and restaurant recommendations (both were excellent and we would have missed them without local knowledge). The tea and cakes on arrival were a wonderful welcome. Finally, any request for the breakfast was expertly handled (the best of the trip by far). Coolefield House is a great choice for both families and couples who want to stay in a place with style and Irish hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Oh wow, what a beautiful house! We arrived at Coolefield House to be met by Pam. Once we unpacked in our very comfortable room we had tea and delicious eats in the library. Lovely crisp white linen, well appointed bathroom made for a very good sleep. Breakfasts were delicious, especially the porridge, thanks Michael! And thank you both for a wonderful Tay. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you’re going to be in County Cork, you must plan a stay at Coolefield House. The hospitality of Pam and Michael Thornton is like nothing I’ve ever experienced. (Be prepared to drink A LOT of tea! ;)) From the front door welcome (complete with tea, scones, shortbread, etc.), to the spotless rooms, to the delicious home-cooked breakfasts...everything was five-star. Seriously.

Coolefield House is centrally located in County Cork, making it a great base for exploring Cork, Kerry and Limerick. (Do check out Muckross House near Killarny when you’re there.) The train station is just a mile away, so even if you aren’t driving, you have access to all the points along the railway. The home itself is stunning. It has all the charm of a two-hundred year old house with all the conveniences of a new build (which it is...you’d never know it if they didn’t tell you).

While I was planning my trip, I talked with Michael on the phone and he told me not to think of it as a B&B but as my home away from home and since I was traveling by myself, he assured me that they would take good care of me. And they did. I never felt like I was alone. I felt like I was visiting friends.

So, this is a huge thank you going out to Mike, Pam, Michael and Ava. You made my visit to Ireland absolutely wonderful. Thank you Pam for going above and beyond and making me gluten-free scones. And thank you Mike for being such a wonderful tour guide. I hope you will be in the B&B business for many, many years...because you are gifted at it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I am not the kind of person who writes reviews of places I've stayed, but this B&B really deserves the praise.

My wife, 3 young children (5, 3, and 1), mother in law and father in law stayed at Coolefield House for 3 nights in June 2013. We hit a stretch of unusually cooler and rainy weather but that didn't stop us from counting our time at the Coolefield as the most treasured of our 2 week visit in Ireland. In fact we regret moving our location as often and could easily have stayed at Coolefield a week, while branching out to various nearby locations on day trips, or just taking a couple extra days to kick back and not travel. With kids we could have slowed down more, but of course it depends on your taste and pace. It's a quick and beautiful drive into Cork or Kilarney, and there are many other treasures even more nearby and even Millstreet itself has a lot to offer.

While I'd still rate the rooms, house, and food itself very highly, what gives Coolefield its magic is the way that Mike and Pam put their heart into making sure you feel comfortable and have a great time. Without getting into all of the specifics (because I can't imagine it would be reasonable to set the expectations as highly for all future guests), suffice to say that we were simultaneously treated like royalty and hosted as friends.

And Michael, if you read this, I don't have any authority for stamping an official accreditation but I still give 5 stars for NOT having TVs in every room, and for the repeated beer: sláinte!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Coolefield House. Michael and Pam were great hosts and the house was beautiful and full of character. We were treated to coffee and cakes on arrival and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts - Michael took us up Claragh Mountain (which was on our to-do list) the same evening. We enjoyed lavish breakfasts including eggs straight from the hen house outside. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coolefield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolefield House

Address: Drishanbeg | Millstreet, Millstreet, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Millstreet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Millstreet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to welcome you to Coolefield House, our Georgian style home in a parkland setting, on the banks of the River Blackwater. We offer bed & breakfast accommodation in a comfortable, relaxed & informal setting. Coolefield House is both eco & guest friendly. The eggs we serve for breakfast are freshly laid and our breads are freshly baked. All our guests can enjoy complimentary home baked biscuits or cakes, tea and coffee throughout the afternoon and are free to relax and read a book from our library. We provide packed lunches on request and are happy to pick-up guests from the local train station. Located in the heart of Munster, amidst the rich pastures of the upper Blackwater Valley and in the shadow of the Derrynasaggart and Boggeragh mountains, this is the ideal base to sample the Great Outdoors of Cork & Kerry. Should you wish to golf, hillwalk, fish, cycle or just relax in the Library, our hope is that your stay will be an enjoyable one. Michael & Pam Thornton ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coolefield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.