We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to a beautiful new experience in Country House accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coolefield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millstreet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coolefield House
Drishanbeg | Millstreet, Millstreet, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Millstreet B&B and Inns
millstreet
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Welcome to a beautiful new experience in Country House accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I must say many thanks to Mike and Pam for going well out of their way to make our wedding a very special occasion for us and our guests.
Many of our guests commented in the following days that it was a really memorable occasion (as we whole-heartily agree) in an exquisite home.

Thank you to all at Coolefield House. We will always love to come back here, time after time.

ps. did I mention the fantastic breakfasts, not forgetting the rooms and the beautiful old world feel within the house.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
11
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed here last year during the Millstreet Walking Festival.
What a beautiful house and such a great welcome from our hosts - home-made scones beside the warm fire on arrival. Our room was full of character, with a walk in wardrobe and views stretching over the local landscape. Breakfast lived up to our expectations, with freshly squeezed juices and local produce. Look forward to staying there again.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Think of B&B /Guest House and think again! This is in a different class. I found Coolefield house by chance when searching for a place to stay for a long weekend at a pony show in Millstreet. Coolefield House is very tasteful in design, and very welcoming. The rooms are a good size - we took a family room, and there was more than sufficient space. A beautiful day room where we were offered tea and sweet treats in the afternoon which was much appreciated. Breakfast was superb, and very flexible in terms of times and choice, which is exactly what we needed as we were out and about early for the pony show. Highly recommended and excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

What an oasis on the outskirts of the busy market town of Millstreet. A new build house with a magic feel of an old world home. Sumptuous breakfasts and wonderful rooms makes this a must for any business traveller or visitor to the Millstreet area. Hosted by a great family that go the extra mile in welcoming their guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skitheglobe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed here while on route to wedding in Kerry. What a wonderful find. This house felt like home, it had a warm atmosphere and all the rooms are very spacious. The breakfast was really delicious and plentiful with lots of local produce. Our kids are still raving about the surprise pancakes made for them.
The owners were very friendly and hospitable and we look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolefieldhouse, Owner at Coolefield House, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for that lovely feedback! We enjoyed having you stay with us and very glad that the children enjoyed their breakfast surprise! Looking forward to your next visit to Coolefield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coolefield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolefield House

Address: Drishanbeg | Millstreet, Millstreet, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Millstreet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Millstreet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to welcome you to Coolefield House, our Georgian style home in a parkland setting, on the banks of the River Blackwater. We offer bed & breakfast accommodation in a comfortable, relaxed & informal setting. Coolefield House is both eco & guest friendly. The eggs we serve for breakfast are freshly laid and our breads are freshly baked. All our guests can enjoy complimentary home baked biscuits or cakes, tea and coffee throughout the afternoon and are free to relax and read a book from our library. We provide packed lunches on request and are happy to pick-up guests from the local train station. Located in the heart of Munster, amidst the rich pastures of the upper Blackwater Valley and in the shadow of the Derrynasaggart and Boggeragh mountains, this is the ideal base to sample the Great Outdoors of Cork & Kerry. Should you wish to golf, hillwalk, fish, cycle or just relax in the Library, our hope is that your stay will be an enjoyable one. Michael & Pam Thornton ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coolefield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Coolefield House to your Saves list