We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Priory

The Priory
The Square, Scorton, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Scorton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: http://www.theprioryscorton.co.uk/
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Had a lovely meal here over the Easter holidays with a group of friends.
We were camping nearby and it was great that we could take the dog with us!
The food was great, the restaurant was comfortable, nice decor etc. The village location was beautiful. Would recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    24
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great freshly made and cooked food at a reasonable price. Varied menu. Great location for exploring the local area. Staff are friendly and helpful and we enjoyed an unhurried meal - it was nice not to feel rushed and there was no pressure to hurry and vacate the table. The surroundings are lovely as is the interior of the restaurant. Just in case you still feel hungry when you leave (which is highly unlikely), you can take home so fresh baked produce from the shop.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Family meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were a table of 14 per booked for an evening 60th birthday party. The staff were pleasant and accommodating in the run-up. The food was well prepared, choices included duck, fish pie, beef stroganoff, fish and chips, steaks, chicken in pepper sauce. Desserts included sherry trifle, meringue with raspberries, sticky toffee pudding, chocolate fudge cake. The service on the night was a tad slow, we had to look for the waitress in the kitchen both for the birthday cake and to pay the bill - the place seemed deserted! We were the only people in the restaurant that night. However, everyone enjoyed themselves and we would recommend the Priory for a pre-booked party.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Inside and Out, food above average.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a lovely late breakfast at the priory, the staff were wonderful, we sat near the fire and enjoyed ourselves. There was no pressure to be hurried out and they accommodated our change in order, browsing the shop was a bonus and the interior decor of the restaurant warranted a wander round. Food was good, I wouldnt say excellent, but all plates were clean on finishing and we were satisfied with what we had at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Priory is a welcoming, relaxing place. We stayed for 1 night, had afternoon tea and also had a meal in the restaurant. Food and service was great. Would recommend a visit. The staff are so friendly. We will return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Priory also viewed

 
Little Eccleston, Lancashire
 

Been to The Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Priory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.