We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real home from home, where every wish has been catered for.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake Cleveleymere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scorton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lake Cleveleymere
Save
You added The Lake Cleveleymere to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Cleveley Mere, Cleveley Bank Lane, Scorton PR3 1BY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Hull
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A real home from home, where every wish has been catered for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Wow!! Where do I start?? We are a family party consisting of grandparents (60+yrs), aunt (40yrs) uncle (45yrs) parents (37, 39yrs) and grandchildren (13, 10, 2yrs) and last but not least, Winnie the Labrador Retriever!
We have recently returned from our Christmas break at Cleveley Mere Lodges. We stayed from 23rd - 27th December. We stayed in the Fin Lodge and Otters Lodge.
Our accomodation was definitely 5 star, with every detail of the highest standard and every requirement thought about and provided. Our view across the lake was magical and made even more special by the addition of subtly lit Christmas trees on the decking of the lodges dotted around the edges of the lake. Traditionally decorated Christmas trees provided within the lodges was also a much appreciated touch that really made us all feel like it was a home from home.
From before we even arrived the customer care provided by Roger was second to none. His information and recommendations enabled us to make the most out of our stay. On Roger's recommendation we booked our Christmas Day lunch at The Whitewell Inn nearby, which was fantastic.
Within our party there were lots of different age ranges to cater for and entertain. This was not an issue at Cleveley Mere, from the small children's play area, ducks, 'The Den', children's games provided and the dressing up box! the children were more than happy. Also greatly appreciated was the beautiful scenery enjoyed either by foot, walking in the wellies provided, or by free to use bikes or by boat that could be used whenever and as often as we liked.
I truly believe that the whole experience made our Christmas perfect. Being away together as a family enjoying each others company in fabulous lodges, in beautiful countryside, making wonderful memories is something I cannot recommend highly enough. We are all looking forward to visiting Cleveley Mere Lodges again.
Thank you once again to Roger and all your team.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
62
68
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have stayed twice at Cleveley Mere, this review is for the Woodsman. I can't rate Cleveley Mere highly enough to be frank. From the moment you arrive you feel like you are escaping the world. You are greeted and taken to the chalet where you get a little induction about your accommodation and the area. The woodsman is a small but beautiful, gorgeous, romantic little cabin and we fell in love with it immediately. The view onto the lake, the private jetty with the little rowboat moored for your use is so cute and the bedroom and kitchen and bathroom are very high spec.The cabins are far away from each other so it feels very secluded. I would say this is one of the most special places I have stayed in the UK, and I have very high standards. There are things to do in the surrounding area but the accommodation is so nice you just don't want to leave. There are things to do on site, boats, crazy golf, ducks that run to you when you clap, fishing etc but again it's the perfect place to literally do nothing. We will definitely be coming back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the tree house which flew over really quickly. Perfect private location clean and everything catered for being self catering. The boat house is a good touch. The only thing I would maybe change is to have the main bedroom upstairs so you can wake up to views of the outside. Also a later check out would of been nice so you don't feel rushed. (Maybe a hot tub) Other then that would recommend for a couple or a family.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We got home tonight from a stunning weekend here with 12 of my family , It was my wifes 50th Birthday and it was just a really special place, The view from our 2 luxury cabins was stunning across the private lake,me and my grandchildren spent hours rowing round the lake (All free), The owners take great care to welcome you and look after you and the kids,real proper playing out for the kids and so safe, thankyou so much and would recommend this place to anyone, it puts your sole back together..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I have just had the most wonderful two days in a Tree House , WOW ,From the very start of my break i was made to feel like the hunter gatherer i always strive to be. Shooting ,fishing,canoeing
feeding the livestock , and as for the tree house , it was more like a palace .
I had totally private & secluded views of the well stocked trout lake ,my own rope bridge to take me to a panoramic ,elevated view of the water .The tree house itsself was quite breathtaking
without being too over the top, with all the little extra's that you only get at a place where they take pride in what is offered . I can only think of one saying to describe this little gem .
Secreltl'y Famous.

Room Tip: Sorry their was no pool , but i can't alter the rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We have just spent an idyllic weekend in Otters Lodge (22-24 November). Our party was six adults (three couples) and on booking Roger recommended Otters Lodge (perfect choice, thanks Roger), there is plenty of room in the Lodge, the bedrooms are a good size, one being en-suite, we all had lovely clean white bed linen, bathrobes and loads of fluffy towels. We stayed in and cooked on the first night and found the kitchen very well equipped, loads of wine glasses and pint glasses for the beers, along with full canisters of tea, coffee and sugar. The wine, chocolate and eggs are a lovely gesture to all the guests. We were lucky to have good weather and used the boats on the lake and the blokes went clay pigeon shooting with Alex the gamekeeper (great bloke, really patient and helpful). You can go like the 'clappers' on the lake and feed the ducks (once you've been you'll know what we mean!!). You really don't need to leave the site at all, it is so beautiful and relaxing, a perfect weekend break.
We will definitely be coming back - if Roger can cope with us all again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Having just returned from my Hen Weekend with the girls, I had to write a review to say what an amazing time we have had at Cleveleymere. The place is simply breathtaking & incredibly relaxing. We stayed in Otters Lodge which was finished to a very high standard & had every thing we needed & more. Incredibly comfortable beds, wonderfully warm & cosy lodge with stunning decor. We received a complimentary bottle of red wine & box of chocolates on arrival too. We enjoyed a trip out on the lake on a boat & a pedallo which was a lot of fun. We played crazy golf, rode bikes & we used the fire pit & toasted marshmallows whilst drinking champagne to celebrate. We also made use of the wii & the many games in the lodge. Roger was very helpful & gave us a very warm welcome, which was very informative & was always available to help us should we need him over the course of our stay. I couldn't have wished for a more perfect place to stay this weekend & I'm hoping to go back with my husband to be next year in December for our first wedding anniversary! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger B, Owner at The Lake Cleveleymere, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi, So pleased you enjoyed your Hen party, glad you found it '' breath taking & incredibly relaxing'' Some fab words...Thank you..Very best wishes for the wedding , really look forward to seeing you on the 1st Anniversary ..Very Kind Regards Roger ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lake Cleveleymere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Cleveleymere

Address: Cleveley Mere, Cleveley Bank Lane, Scorton PR3 1BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Scorton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Scorton
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Cleveleymere 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Lake Cleveleymere Scorton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake Cleveleymere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.