We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B? NO, Better and Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowside Castle B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meadowside Castle B&B
Save
You added Meadowside Castle B&B to your Saves list
Drumacre Lane West, Longton, Preston PR4 4SB, England   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Longton B&B and Inns
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“B&B? NO, Better and Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here due to the reviews on Trip Advisor. My wife wanted to see the Blackpool lights. I had not been for thirty years and she had not been for about ten years.
We searched and found Lisa and Ponce.
Magnificent, the room and bathroom were warm and spotless, sadly Lisa could not get to us once a week to clean our house though. In the morning breakfast was perfect, even though we were the only couple that morning the fruits, cereals were put out for ten people. Some places would have had one cornflake and an old banana.
The hot breakfast was all local foods and very well cooked and presented. we had the opportunity to speak with Lisa and listened to how hard the work had been to get to this pinnacle of hospitality. Thank you Lisa for our weekend.
Go and stay, phone and speak with Lisa and Ponce to see what you can discover in the area. Read the guestbook.

Room Tip: It does not matter everything is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
17
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in January overnight for a 40th wedding anniversary celebration. The owners could not have made us more welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was amazing. Facilities beyond expectations. This is wothout doubt the best B&B we have stayed in during over 30 years of traveling. Don'y evevn hesitate, it's superb.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We have stayed here on numerous occasions over the last four years and cannot fault the kindness of Lisa and Ponce. We have been looked after so well and had wonderful breakfasts and above all a great nights sleep in such lovely surrondings. We look forward to coming again in April.

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Hosts Lisa and Ponce really do make their guests feel welcome and at home. Meadowside Castle is a great find and it's no wonder they receive return visitors - and long-term guests. It's a beautiful property. Very clean and comfortable (with fabulous bathrooms - modern fittings, powerful shower, not cramped). So many web sites over-promise, so you have to take a gamble, but there's no gamble with Meadowside Castle. We've stayed there twice and will be returning again at Christmas (if they have room!). We don't eat breakfast, but understand we're missing out as other guests are so complimentary of the morning meal. The B&B is separate from the owners' accommodations, with use of a nice kitchen and comfy sitting area. Very home-from-home. It's incredible value for money too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I stayed for 8 nights and could not find fault with anything. Location excellent, quiet surroundings, safe parking, friendly hosts, breakfasts more than enough. Clean, comfortable. The gardens are massive and well maintained. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

A search on the internet to find a hotel for 2 nights stay at the start of august 2011, this was for myself and a colleague on a business trip from swindon, and turned into a very enjoyable stay at Meadowside - castle. With the country surroundings, large wooden entry gates, drive through archway to the courtyard, and a residence one would dream to stay in, complete with tower, and the feel of a castle. Very friendly welcome from Lisa and Ponty, even on our late arrival. Full English breakfast is top of the list and highly reccommended. An excellent central location with good restaurants and pubs within minutes. By the end of our stay we felt like part of the family, an excellent stay and little did i know i would be back at the Castle a week later.
This was a mixed business and pleasure trip with my wife, i had to let her see the real thing for herself. Totally impressed with everything, cleanliness, quality of food and rooms, and especially our hosts. We took trips to Blackpool one day then Southport the next, both in such close proxinity to the B&B. I recognize the last review from the couple from Hereford, we were pleased to meet you. I am returning for a 3rd trip at the end of August, booked already, and look forward to another Full English.
Thanks both, from Tony, Steve and Jane

Room Tip: There is a family room, single room and double rooms. I had a double room with bath and shower, Sky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

After researching trip advisor for a place to stay in Hutton Preston, we saw Meadowside Castle B&B, What a fantastic place to stay, lisa and ponce were brilliant hosts, fantastic breakfast, this place is 5 star, we are going to stay every couple of months as my father lives nearby. We met other guests whilst there and it was like having friends around truly brilliant.

Room Tip: all rooms are very well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meadowside Castle B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowside Castle B&B

Address: Drumacre Lane West, Longton, Preston PR4 4SB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston > Longton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Longton
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowside Castle B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.