We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet but only OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silk Pavilions

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Silk Pavilions to your Saves list
Silk Pavilions
274 Mt. Burrell Road, Mount Burrell, New South Wales 2484, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Quiet but only OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Silk Pavilions is set in a picturesque, tranquil countryside with magnificent mountain vistas. The quasi camping experience provides a perfect opportunity to escape the hectic pace of Brisbane and is a welcome contrast to the 'over cooked' environments of the Gold and Sunshine Coasts. It is a great idea.
But ..... the service lets the place down. Silk Pavilions is a relatively expensive destination but guests are made to feel like they are staying at a cheap motel. The breakfast and complimentary room provisions, such as coffee, are cheap and decidedly down market. Disappointing indeed.
Frankly, the service seems rushed, 'forced' and non-genuine, verging on weird. It lacks the professionalism that would be usually expected from an establishment in this price range.
Silk Pavilions would benefit from the provision of higher quality service and has the potential to be a delightful experience, with essential improvements.
For us, it is a 'one off' only.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPM1, Owner at Silk Pavilions, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you so much for the time taken to write a review. We have looked at all your comments and most definitely take them on board. Just to explain, we, the owners, are usually the ones to meet, greet and look after you but at the time of your visit we were on a well earned holiday!! Emma, our caretaker is usually a very pleasant efficient, friendly lass who we believe does her job brilliantly. She did explain to me that at the time of your check in she was multitasking by 10!! So if it seemed a little rushed then I apologize........it probably was!! It is definitely not the norm and if the readers would like to read our other reviews below they will see we get wonderful accolades about our service. So apologies there. Re the tea and coffee, we have been using the 'Diplomat" brand purely because each t-bag is labelled! Twinings etc often do not label each individual t-bag. We will definitely try and explore other brands though. Unfortunately we cannot have a coffee machine in the Eco's due to the lack of power. Fabulous coffee's are available at the main pavilion for a small additional cost should guests wish. Hopefully you could visit us another time when WE could give you the usual friendly lovely welcome we are remembered for!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    9
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We took advantage of an online marketing voucher to visit this destination. We thorougly enjoyed the serenity and isolation of this location. We stayed in the "Majestic" tent which requires some urgent repairs to its door and window flaps -- I understand that the owners plan to replace all tents with new ones next year. The state of our tent did not diminish our enjoyment though. Hopefully with a new tent will come new outdoor furniture as ours (whilst comfortable) has seen better days. The small (actually tiny) refrigerator needs to be upgraded to a reasonable size for guests who wish to cook their own meals during their stay. We were forwarned by friends of ours and took an esky to keep our salads, butter etc fresh. The current refrigerator would hold only 2 bottles of wine and around 6 stubbies of beer. Some meals are available which according to the Visitors Book were very good. Our bed was very comfortable and all in all we enjoyed our stay. Would we visit again? Even with proposed new tents I believe at current rack rates this destination is a little expensive. Maybe -- who knows!

Room Tip: The "Majectic" tent is the most private of them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPM1, Owner at Silk Pavilions, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and all your comments have been taken on board. Just to let you know we have NEW TENTS on the way. They will be brilliant and arriving soon!! Along with new verandah furniture. Re the fridge, we can only have a small fridge due to the limited power down at the site. We do point this out in the FAQ'S on our website. We would love to have larger ones(they actually cost a lot less than the current ones) but due to the stated reason we cannot. We do however provide meals, delivered to your Eco for you to enjoy at a very reasonable price. Then you don't have to worry bringing any food or the worry of storing it!! You deserve time off!! So maybe next time enjoy some of our meals or our Villa comes with a much larger fridge and also has a BBQ. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and really hope we get the opportunity of welcoming you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The area is indeed beautiful ,we were met by a lovely Scottish lady and given a glass of sparkling wine whilst we filled iout our information which we felt was a nice touch as we had flown up from Syd and travelled by car from Ballina .The accomadation was comfortable and I loved the idea of glam camping We had a voucher for 2 nights which the owners had extended for us for another $50 and I think the money we paid $350 for 2 nights was more than adequate for what we recieved in terms of accomadation, an average breakfast and general service .We booked dinner at $59 a head and it was fantastic an interesting menu, and prepared beautifully and served to a covered outside area .Unfortunately because of weather conditions( which no-one is in control of ) we could not enjoy the romantic moment quite so much as we were freezing and getting rained on as we sat outside, there was no indoor facility offered for dining or outdoor heaters as these are only available and plumbed in from May to Sept .The breakfast was adequate only, and the coffee international roast though you could purchase other coffee from the main house which was about 350 metre,s away and not very practical to have with your breakfast .The tents themselves were great, comfortable and nicely decorated loved the touch of the chanderleir, the outdoor bathroom was a bit nippy if weather conditions aren't good, fab shower . The verandah offered comfortable seating and a BBQ which we used to cook the homemade pizza by Sue (which was delicious)on our 2nd night .
We had a late checkout as part of the voucher but the owner came down on his tractor 10 mins after regular check out to see if we were ready to leave so we felt rather rushed .
Views are best from the house but as this is where the owners live it felt rather intrusive to sit there and look at the beautiful mountains Our eco tent was in a gully so the views not as great .Silk pavillions as a concept... fantastic ,the accomadation comfortable and ecclectic , but the general interactions and feeling comfortable in the enviroment as a paying guest for us could have been better .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPM1, Owner at Silk Pavilions, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for writing your comments above. We take all reviews good and bad very seriously. It is so helpful for our business. So just to address some of your concerns so that other guests intending to visit have an understanding. The amount you paid on your Spreets voucher was $299 for two nights and as your 12 month voucher had expired we do like to offer you an extension as a matter of good will so your voucher is not lost. We did this for you on this occasion. If I remember correctly you arrived quite late on Friday evening. I also remember we planned for you to have your Romantic Dinner at 7pm and unfortunately due daylight saving you thought it was QLD time therefore were an hour late!! I don't think this was a problem for you as you seemed to have enjoyed your dinner which is very important to us. I do indeed also remember the nights weather was horrible. We usually have guests sit in the open on our butterfly landing, under the stars but due to the weather we moved you up to the covered verandah. I also remember that John observed that you were a little cold so lent a pashmina! We really do try to look after our guests to the very best of our ability so are very sorry to hear you did not think we achieved this on this occasion. There is very limited electricity in the Eco's and this is why we cannot put an espresso machine in each eco. We do however as you say provide delicious coffees 250 metres away in the main pavilion. For future guests, we have 100 acres for you to explore and if you would like to sit and observe the view in privacy we can of course provide a couple of camp chairs. We do have a lovely wooden bench for this purpose on the lawn which is away from the house. Re checkout, our usual checkout time is 1030 and with your voucher it extends to 11am. We were happy to extend your checkout as you requested until 12 noon. When it got to 1220 we had to go down and hurry you up as we had guests coming into your Eco at 2pm and the room needed to be changed over and cleaned. So sorry you felt rushed. It was definitely not our intention. We really hope you return one day and can enjoy some fabulous weather and hopefully our excellent customer service service we pride ourselves on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very impressed by the service at Silk Pavilions. The receptionists and owners were lovely people, always welcoming and did their absolute best to make us feel comfortable.
We purchased a Spreets voucher - my partner and I are keen campers and I've always wanted to try 'Glamping' (glamorous camping). The tent itself was great - we stayed in "The Majestic" which was the most secluded of the four. It came decked out with super comfortable queen size bed, doona, pillows and linen. Plenty of extra blankets for the colder days, outdoor day beds and lounges.
Would highly recommend the pizza's and the romantic 3 course dinner - both of which were prepared and served by the owners.
It was so romantic and secluded but still within 15 mins driving to Nimbin, 1 hour to Byron Bay and 2 mins down the road is an awesome little Cafe that's opened til late.

I would recommend Silk Pavilions to someone who loves nature; possibly people who are campers already and want a camping holiday without having to set up and pack down. It would be great for a couple or even an individual who needs some time to escape.

Room Tip: The eco pavilions were more secluded - "The Majestic" was the most out of the way. The Tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We visited Silk Pavilions as I purchased a Spreets voucher. I had no idea what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. The booking process was very easy and smooth. The voucher was for an eco pavilion however on booking we decided to upgrade to the Thai Pavilion. The grounds and surrounds were stunning, the views incredible. Yes the thai pavilion is close to the main house but privacy was always respected. On night one we ordered the home made pizzas which were delicious. Night two we ordered the romantic dinner for 2. IT WAS AMAZING. Our own private table was set up overlooking the lovely views at sunset - candles, flowers, cooked by Sue and served by John (our hosts). It was outstanding, we loved it all. The food was amazing and the whole experience something we will remember forever. Brekkie was also great - again prepared and served by our hosts - delicious home made muesli, toast, home made jam and peanut butter, fresh fruits - YUM. The bed in the villa was very comfortable and all furnishings authentic and comfortable. It was so private that we left all curtains wide open each night to enjoy the view of abundant stars and even a lightning show one night. The wallabies and hens were very friendly and visited us at the back deck daily. At check out, we were permitted to have a sneaky look into one of the eco pavilions which was vacant. There are three on the grounds. I loved the thai pavilions and I believe I would have enjoyed the eco pavilion just as much - they are so cute, unique and have everything you could possibly need with comfortable furnishings. LOVED this place and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We enjoyed two nights in the Thai Pavilion which was just exquisite. Such a beautiful little villa with quirky little features and a stunning view towards the mountains. We were served a delicious homecooked dinner outside the villa.

Our hosts were very accommodating and very friendly.

My only small 'gripe' was that the pavilion is right next door to the main house. Therefore I just felt that privacy was limited slightly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here just before our first baby was due. The accommodation is fantastic and the location was incredible. I loved waking up to the sounds of birdsong in the mornings. Along with the abundant bird life there were also wallabies on the property. The Eco Pavilion we stayed in was adequately furnished for our glamping trip. The food that Sue and John (owners) prepared was off the scale in terms of freshness, and taste. We had homemade pizzas prepared for us and then we cooked them on the bbq and they were delicious. Our last night there, Sue and John prepared a 3 course meal for us on the deck of their house. Again the food was fantastic and delish!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silk Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silk Pavilions

Address: 274 Mt. Burrell Road, Mount Burrell, New South Wales 2484, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mount Burrell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mount Burrell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Silk Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silk Pavilions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.