We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Quality Family Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dee Thai

Dee Thai
6 a Cecil st, Hale, Hale WA15 9PA, England
0161 928 6686
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 27 Restaurants in Hale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $37
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely Quality Family Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We visited one Sunday night and the Restaurant was busier than I would expect. We arrived slightly early and were asked to wait in the waiting area, which as we were less than 10 minutes early slightly surprised me. However there were plenty of seats there and we were offered drinks and we were shown to our table promptly at the booked time. The service was excellent and the food of really good quality and tasty. Most of us had the mixed starter which was really nice, although not sure about the "Home Made" description. We also ordered one Tempura Veg which again was very good.

We choose a selection of mains, including the "Weeping Tiger" which is very tasty, Duck in Red Curry which was really nice, Hot and Spicy Pacific Seafood, which was definitely "Hot and Spicy" so much so additional beer was required, well that was my excuse....

I really enjoyed my visit, but as other have said its a bit lacking in atmosphere, feeling more like an up-market restaurant that serves Thai food, rather than a Thai restaurant that's move upmarket.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    39
    14
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I love the decor and ambience of this place. Food is very nice and is served with an elephant carved out of potato, which is a nice touch. Served my friend a desert lit with a little candle for her birthday!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hot, spicy, tasty and plentiful Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

A busy Thai restaurant on a Friday evening we wandered in without reservation and they were able to fit us in quickly and easily, even though the place was well over half full. It was very nicely decorated.
The bar, with its folding doors open to the street, was very busy.
Food arrived quickly, was plentiful and very tasty. My Tom Yum Kai soup was hot and spicy and my seafood salad delicious. I do love my Thai food and this was good.
The bill for 4 adults came to £75 incl 1 cocktail & 2 beers. The duck dish we had excellent and the three chilli rated hot Jungle Curry (both beef and vegetarian options taken) were very hot. We all loved the food.
The service was quiet, not chatty, but effective and efficient. However it didn't exceed our expectations as one may expect in a restaurant like this. No complementary fruit platter to finish for example.
They allowed us take as much time as we wanted to finish, even though we expected them to get busier later as there was quite a buzz as we left.
Would be delighted if this was our local thai - well maybe our waistlines wouldn't be as delighted! :-)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The idea is great and there has been alot of hype revolving around dee thai, however after several visits we think this is overrated. The food weve had from the takeaway is consistently cold, although quite tasty. The staff dont really say much and are uninterested. there is a relatively good atmosphere in the place. all in all a bit 50/50 on good/bad

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Went to Dee Thai in Hale with my brother and his wife on Friday 22nd June. Food was fabulous and the restaurant was very busy so had a nice buzz to it. Service was excellent looked after very nicely would recomend to a friend .

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dee Thai also viewed

Hale, Greater Manchester
Hale, Greater Manchester
 
Hale, Greater Manchester
Hale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Dee Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dee Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.