We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mehhhh!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolino

Piccolino
214/215 Ashley Road, Hale WA15 9SF, England
+44 1619289500
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Piccolino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 27 Restaurants in Hale
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Experience the flavour, style, colour and charm of modern Italy at this truly outstanding Piccolino restaurant and bar. Located on Ashley Road in the attractive village of Hale, the restaurant features a fine dark wood exterior that is sure to turn heads, whilst the covered al fresco terrace is the perfect location to enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat with friends. Beyond the glass doors, vibrant green leather upholstery is combined with striking black marble table tops, inviting mirrors and sleek wooden finishes to create a contemporary style and atmosphere that is always welcoming, relaxed and informal. Upstairs, the chefs work passionately in the open kitchen, whilst the sight of fresh pasta being made from scratch each and every day provides a delightful visual spectacle for guests as they enjoy the great tastes of Italy.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mehhhh!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Average, average, average. We had the set lunch which, whilst inoffensive, was certainly nothing special. For £15 I had the prawn starter (nice, but it would fit in your eye, it was soooo teeny) and the pizza - not actually bad, but lacking in that critical element 'tastiness'. I did ask that they add a bit of chilli to my pizza and they obliged quite literally as I counted about six minuscule atoms of red chilli and couldn't taste it at all. They did add 50p to the bill for it though - so at least I got a bit burned!

The service was Ok, so I can't complain about that but I don't think I'd return - too 'franchisey' and formulaic for my taste and certainly not even in the same postcode as the 'modern italian' they describe themselves as purveying.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    33
    25
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sale
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quite a 'rip off' really”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Visited this Restaurant at lunch time, with two friends. There was a 'special 2 course menu' for £15.00. Having glanced over the menu, it wasn't much less than having a meal off the a la carte menu. I am not a very big eater, but the portions were extremely tiny - then had to wait around 40 minutes for sweet, which, when it came, was two minute blobs of ice cream - not even with a wafer!!
Not recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Disappointing does not describe the experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

A few years back we used to be regulars at their Knutsford branch, slowly the standard declined, most of their better staff left and we stopped going.

We made the mistake of going to the Hale branch for a light lunch, without first checking TA.

We found ourselves in the land of the beautiful people, not the guests but the staff, fortunately the management had provided large mirrors around the room allowing maximum opportunity for the staff both male & female to preen and admire themselves.

Our waitress was the exception, hard working and efficient.

Of the specials some 80% were not available.

For a starter we ordered a mixture of garlic + cheese or tomato on a sort of pitta bread base, this used to be a Piccolino signature dish but this was awful, just bread with hardly any topping.

This was followed by Calamari's which were fine as was the wine.

This very simple meal took for ever to serve, which was down to the kitchen, they did take the starter off the bill but we would have been happy to pay for something decent.

Piccolino's is owned by a group called Individual restaurants, I cannot understand how the management of that organisation are not aware of the TA reviews,or if they are, why they have failed to take action.

Avoid or take your worst enemy to lunch!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hugely overpriced, very disappointed.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The service staff can only try their best, it's a shame the same doesn't happen in the kitchen. An Italian restaurant that can't cook spaghetti bolognase, massively disappointing, won't be visiting again in a hurry. Oh and it wasn't just once, 3 times they got it wrong. They then felt that guilty that they wrote the rest of the bill off, when they came over and saw I was on trip advisor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“All middle of the road except prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

It certainly helps to walk in as girls but all the "Bella Bella " comments in the world can't hide average food and average service. The lady members of the team seemed to do most of the work, the boys trousers are all probably too tight to make them efficient, and assume chap in the blue suit and bow tie is only paid to strut up and down or maybe that's his style of management. Had a lovely day due to the weather and the company but the venue contributed zero to either.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolino also viewed

Hale, Greater Manchester
Hale, Greater Manchester
 
Hale, Greater Manchester
Hale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Piccolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.