We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone Downhill” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolino

Piccolino
214/215 Ashley Road, Hale WA15 9SF, England
+44 1619289500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 21 Restaurants in Hale
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Experience the flavour, style, colour and charm of modern Italy at this truly outstanding Piccolino restaurant and bar. Located on Ashley Road in the attractive village of Hale, the restaurant features a fine dark wood exterior that is sure to turn heads, whilst the covered al fresco terrace is the perfect location to enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat with friends. Beyond the glass doors, vibrant green leather upholstery is combined with striking black marble table tops, inviting mirrors and sleek wooden finishes to create a contemporary style and atmosphere that is always welcoming, relaxed and informal. Upstairs, the chefs work passionately in the open kitchen, whilst the sight of fresh pasta being made from scratch each and every day provides a delightful visual spectacle for guests as they enjoy the great tastes of Italy.
Conwy, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Gone Downhill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Always enjoyed lunch or dinner here. Not been for over 12 months and things have gone downhill. Food horrible. Only the pudding was enjoyable. Sorry but much better restaurants in Hale such as Amba or Hale Kitchen.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    22
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a great place to go, a vibrant atmosphere and good food.
We have been a few times now and have always had the same good service and food.
Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Average food,poor service! Amazing how people are so accepting of expensive average food.the place is also so noisy

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wouldn't patronise again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I like piccolinos in collingham so gave this place a try. I usually patronise the hale grille but thought I d have a change. Mistake. It was a Saturday evening......3 deep at the bar so couldn't have a pre-dinner drink. Whisked upstairs to a tiny able for 2, the nose in the big barn of a restaurant was deafening and I could hear the lady on the next table.....well we were last touching elbows as the tables were packed in more Than I could my companion seated opposite.
Food ok,,,,,,,waited ages for drinks though. Toilets crowded with young girls taking each others pictures to pst on Facebook ??!!! Not my idea of privacy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have eaten in most of the restaurants in Hale but this was our first and last visit to piccalinos. I have to agree with some of the earlier reviews in that the customer was not the main priority in this establishment, the service was poor to say the least. If the food was great then you may overlook this but mediocre food, poor service all adds up to a big fat never again. As stated its NOT about the staff, it's about the customer !!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolino also viewed

Hale, Greater Manchester
Hale, Greater Manchester
 
Hale, Greater Manchester
Hale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Piccolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.