We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Marks Every Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolino

Piccolino
214/215 Ashley Road, Hale WA15 9SF, England
+44 1619289500
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Piccolino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 21 Restaurants in Hale
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Experience the flavour, style, colour and charm of modern Italy at this truly outstanding Piccolino restaurant and bar. Located on Ashley Road in the attractive village of Hale, the restaurant features a fine dark wood exterior that is sure to turn heads, whilst the covered al fresco terrace is the perfect location to enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat with friends. Beyond the glass doors, vibrant green leather upholstery is combined with striking black marble table tops, inviting mirrors and sleek wooden finishes to create a contemporary style and atmosphere that is always welcoming, relaxed and informal. Upstairs, the chefs work passionately in the open kitchen, whilst the sight of fresh pasta being made from scratch each and every day provides a delightful visual spectacle for guests as they enjoy the great tastes of Italy.
England
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Top Marks Every Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Dined here numerous times. Had the most memorable wild sea bass with salsa verde off the specials and the best fish dish ever. Busy can be noisy at times but great atmosphere especially sat outside on a summer's day. Maitre d' FANTASTIC. Excellent service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    22
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Tip top restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

It's not difficult to see why this restaurant is consistently busy (apart from being situated in an affluent area).
Good choice of food with attentive and efficient service. The waiters constantly endeavour to upsell but not in an in your face kind of way. Restaurant has pleasant atmosphere, good food and wine [excellent house red] and we enjoyed the meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Run of the mill/dime a dozen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Expensive Italian, pretentious clientele, completely over the top maitre d', overcooked, overpriced scallops, but a polite and attentive waitress. Lack of competition locally means this place gets more credit than it deserves.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Over Priced Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Went for a nice Sunday early evening meal the other day. i have eaten both here and at Piccollino in Bramhall & Manchester.
I would have to say that of the three Hale rates lowest.
Firstly lets talk about the food and to be fair I have to admit i had no issues I had the veal chop which was good and my wife the sirloin steak again very nice. We also had nice starters in pizza garlic n cheese lovely and thin and bruschetta, again no complaints.
Secondly the price. I feel that this is where they let themselves down. Im not sure if its because of the hale location and the fact that it's probably filled with footballers wives eating lunch ( sorry I will correct that, footballers wives don't eat) you know the drill ladies lunching etc. However, for two people the bill came to £74.00 without a tip! This was for two basic starters- garlic bread and bruschetta, a veal chop and a steak, two very small side salads, a glass of wine, a bottle of lager and a small bottle of still water. This was some £10 more than Jamie's Italian in the heart of Manchester!
And finally the service... Well this is where they let themselves down badly and its such a shame because up until receiving the bill over waiter was very good. Upon checking the bill I noticed that they had added on a large bottle of still water approx £4.00. As I signalled the nearest member of staff (not our waiter) he rushed forwards to snatch the bill from my hand and rush off in the direction of the bar before I could even finish explaining the problem. This makes me think that (a) he was quite happy to presently me with an overcharge (b) he surely knew about it and why would he not check the bill before presenting it to us?
At this stage although a little angry at the (lets give them the benefit of the doubt) mix up I was still planning on giving him a 10% tip. Unfortunately for him he just presented me with the revised bill without a single word of apology, just plonked it on the table.
This is where I revert back to my earlier comments about ladies lunching and / or wealthy people eating. Perhaps this is something that happens on a regular basis after all its not uncommon in some restaurants especially when there are large parties all drinking.
I think I will try elsewhere that not only tries harder to offer VFM but doesn't leave you feeling as though you were royally ripped off!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service , always busy so book in advance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Great Italian restauarant in Hale, Cheshire.. Authentic italian food , always cooked to perfection. You never have to wait long for your food and its always good. Great waiter service , nothing is too much trouble. The menu is varied and not too pricey. My Daughter and i are working our way slowly through the menu and have never been disappointed. We always like to sit downstairs, but they also have seating upstairs as well. The restaurant is always buzzing and a great place to dine.

Gets very busy as its so popular. They have a loyality card, called club individual which has great benefits and offers. Book on line at the moment and they give you a free bottle of wine every time with your meal, as long as stocks last. Now that cant be bad..!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolino also viewed

Hale, Greater Manchester
Hale, Greater Manchester
 
Hale, Greater Manchester
Hale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Piccolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.