We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss This Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Ucci

Bar Ucci
Piazza Della Torre 9, Volpaia, Radda in Chianti, Italy
+39 0577 738042
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Volpaia
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Wine bar, osteria
Coxwold, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We normally stay very close to this restaurant at La Locanda with the really friendly couple Guido and Martina. The restaurant is the closest to La Locanda but I would not hesitate to drive twenty mile to eat here. What makes this place so special is the owner she is without doubt full of life and a great and funny host

The food although simple and nothing fancy is delicious and there is lots of it and at a very reasonable / cheap price. The house wine is great and again inexpensive and comes in a one litre carafe at a lot less than most other places charge for a bottle.

You won't go far wrong here and you will definitely enjoy the experience. We have been several times now and told other guests of La Locanda of how good it is and they all went and agreed

Thank you Bar Ucci - we still have the post card which we are going to frame in our new house as it reminds us of some really great nights with you, can't wait to come back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    72
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun stop in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely little restaurant...great stop for a coffee or glass of wine. Clean bathroom, nice decor, friendly staff.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberias, Israel
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“unexpected pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We found the town of Volpaia almost by chance when visiting Radda in Chianti, and enjoyed walking around the town. By chance we saw a sign that said Tuscan food at Bar Ucci, and liked the menu and looks of the place, so we had lunch (our main meal of the day) there. The food was delicious, and the woman in charge (owner and maybe cook of some of the items) was warm and friendly and one of the people we'll specially remember in Italy (even enjoyed a hug goodbye). It was a wonderful experience, we ate very well, and even bought a prepared spelt salad that I saw in the refrigerated display case as "take away" (an Italian word!) for our evening meal. It was also superb.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Suprise visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had been planning on eating at the Bottega di Volpaia but hours in Italy are such that it was closed in the afternoon but the Bar Ucci, riight across from the Bottega, was open and it was very good. A very relaxed atmosphere and yet historical with pictures of the managers as children in Post Card fashion given to you in the bill.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you are looking for a quick bite and good coffee on your way through Volpaia then this is perfect. It's got loads of character and the owner Paola very friendly

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Ucci also viewed

Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Bar Ucci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Ucci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.