We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Ucci

Bar Ucci
Piazza Della Torre 9, Volpaia, Radda in Chianti, Italy
+39 0577 738042
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Volpaia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Wine bar, osteria
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is a great wine bar in Chianti, but is is located in Volpaia, not Radda. Volpaia is about a 15-20 minute drive north of Radda, though well worth it for the views and to dine at Bar Ucci. Prices are reasonable, food and wine are excellent, and there's no table charge. Try the wild boar stew. Yum!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    74
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wild Boar Stew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had lunch at 3 PM after biking up a 4 km steep hill to Volpaia (as part of our 7 day Tuscany Bike Tour with Charnes Bike Tours). We actually had to walk part of this hill but don't despair, the ride down is very fun.
We had intended to din at La Bottega but it was closed; the terrace there looked so lovely and after that difficult bike ride, I would have loved to have sat there.
But a sign pointed out that the Bar Ucci was owned and operated by the same family.
It was too sunny and windy to sit outside so we sat inside by a window.
The service was VERY slow. But the food was good. We had a Chianti Classico made in Volpaia and a platter of cheese. We also had Wild Boar stew and it was great.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

And great wild boar stew. Two of the best eating houses in the area are in Volpaia and this is one of them.The other is la Bottega. Both owned by the same family.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Collons, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best traditional tuscan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Love Palo is a great host and know here local food and wine so well, I can eat night after night here.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing little place, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Our tour guide took us to bar ucci while in Tuscany this week - a total gem of a place! It's a family owned/run place with excellent service and the food was great! Must try the riboletta and the bruschetta - both were excellent! The tiramisu was also great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Ucci also viewed

Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Bar Ucci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Ucci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.