We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a lifetime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Novo Airao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge
Save
You added Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Rodovia Am 352 - Km 1 - Igarape Do Monteiro | S/ Numero, Novo Airao, State of Amazonas 69730000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Landisville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We just came back from one of the most incredible experiences. We stayed three nights at this luxury lodge. It was a perfect combination of nature and a resort stay. The entire complex consists of a limited number of cabins/bungalows. They were very comfortable with a hammock on the screened in porch. They have air conditioning which was definitely needed and hot water. It was very humid when outside so we took frequent showers. There were very few mosquitos as we were on the Rio Negro but you do need the long sleeves and pants for several of the excursions. The staff and tour guides were very friendly and helpful. The tour guides ate in the dining room/hut and were often in the reception hut. The staff mingled with the guests throughout our visit. We especially liked that the tour guides met with us at the meal prior to the excursion and explained what we needed and what would happen on that excursion. You could as questions at that time. The reception area was always pleasantly occupied and we met several other guests very easily. The length of stay was great but we could have stayed for several more days .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    68
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
151
228
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We liked everything here. The concept of the lodge is to give you the feeling of the rain forest and it 100% works. The staff is absolutely friendly. The bungalows have a transparent terrace which allows you see and hear jungle life. Beautiful view to the Rio Negro river where it is possible to swim also you can relax in 24 hrs pool with a view to the river. Another place for meditation is a hammrock room and observation deck nearby. The lodge provide very interesting activities like jungle walk, watching dolphins and wild life. Another thing is a food: Brasil,natural, nice and tasty. So the only thing we regret about is that our staying was too short... Paradise place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I were at this lodge in Oct 2013 and it was amazing. It felt like luxury camp! There were guides who were native to the Amazon who could spot a snake 50 yards away in the dark from a boat! Not kidding. The food was all really good and beautifully presented. Plus, they give you plenty of down time to just enjoy being on vacation. There are no TVs in the rooms, but there is a really nice TV room if you must watch. Of course, channels in English are limited. I suggest you bring a book and go to the pool which has a lovely view of the jungle. Oh, and the Rio Negro has pretty much no mosquitoes so most people at this lodge don't even use bug spray. This was a pleasant surprise for us when we arrived. The only down side to this lodge is that it is a three hour drive from the airport in Manaus. If you have the funds, you should opt for the beautiful seaplane ride instead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampertheim
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

With friends I spend a long weekend there, it was a great experience!
Located in the middle of the jungle, we didn't miss any comfort.
The staff was really friendly and polite, the hygienic circumstances were excellent.
The guides were speaking several languages, english is usual. We were lucky with a german guide!
In this resort the staff take care even about the fine details, this behavior I found only once in the world until now.
A paradise in the jungle, I would do it again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

AV Jungle Lodge was our first stop in South America. The rooms were nice and the staff was extremely helpful. There are many actibities you can enjoy duting your stay if you are planning to stay less than 7 or 8 days, it may be a good idea to check the whole list of activities and try to schedule your stay on the days of your preferred activities.

The place is very well suited to enjoy the overall Amazon experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

So - I love this place. It is like camp for adults. First of all, the reservation process could not have been easier. And, they even called the morning of pickup to ensure we had arrived safely the night before. The rooms were wonderful - especially considering you are in the middle of the jungle. I loved the hammock on the screened-in porch. The food was excellent - and there was always a decent variety. Even my overly picky boyfriend always found something to eat. The tours were varied and the guides were extremely knowledgeable. What is more impressive is that all of the guides appear to really enjoy their jobs. One of our guides said he had been working at the lodge for 10+ years. The tour pacing is very good, and you always feel like you have done enough, but not so much that you're exhausted. The entire facility is very nice and very comfortable. Everything seems to run seamlessly.

I have two small gripes - although one, the lodge couldn't do anything about. The first is that because the water has such a high acidic level - you don't have many mosquitos - but, you also don't get too many animals. While I knew that ahead of time - it was still a little bit of a bummer. However, this is not the fault of the Lodge - it is just necessary to know ahead. My second gripe is that everyone is charged for beverages - alcoholic or not. While this was not a huge charge, this facility is not cheap - so, you start to wonder why you have to pay extra for a soda you drank with lunch. That being said, however, I really enjoyed our time at Anavilhanas, and would definitely go back and would definitely recommend it. Overall, it was one of my favorite parts of my trip to Brazil.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 weeks travelling in Brazil. This was our 3rd stop. We absolutely loved it. The rooms were excellent, the daily activities were just the right times and length, the guides were very knowledgeable and the other guests were pleasant to be with. Of course the nature around us was amazing. Who would guess, no mosquitoes in the Amazon. Definitely worth a return trip.

Room Tip: Go for the bungalow. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge

Address: Rodovia Am 352 - Km 1 - Igarape Do Monteiro | S/ Numero, Novo Airao, State of Amazonas 69730000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Novo Airao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Novo Airao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge is a small and exclusive hotel situated in the heart of the Amazon rain forest, Brazil. Resting in front of Anavilhanas archipelago, the lodge is touched by the black waters of the Rio Negro and is blessed with the sounds, smells and mysteries of the Amazon Jungle. Free of mosquitoes and nested within a vast stretch of untouched rain forest, the hotel offers a wonderful balance between nature and comfort, adventure and peace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anavilhanas Jungle Hotel Novo Airao
Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge Brazil/AM - Novo Airao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.