We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lodge!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Novo Airao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge
Save
You added Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Rodovia Am 352 - Km 1 - Igarape Do Monteiro | S/ Numero, Novo Airao, State of Amazonas 69730000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“Great Lodge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were traveling with a large group and we all enjoyed our stay very much. Our rooms were clean and basic with A/C which we really needed for our stay. The food was good, and a nice selection. Fresh fish everyday which was nice. Our guides were excellent and great company! Really enjoyed all our outings with them, especially to the village. Thanks!
Would come again for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    60
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
137
209
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My fiancee and I did the three night, four day package. A tour guide was assigned to us on the first day and stuck with us for most if not all of the days we were there. He was very knowledgeable of the language, culture, and terrain, making our overall experience fun and memorable! We saw alot of wild life and took some great photos, especially during the sunrise meditation. The only reason I did not give the property a five out of five rating is that the my bungalow was plagued with bugs the first and last night I was there. We paid for the luxury bungalow in order to avoid any discomforts, but the Amazon got the better of us. We ended up with a 5 inch flying cockroach in our room one night. A beautiful insect that is indigenous to the jungle. (We saw it again in the INPA's insect collection a few days later; a beautiful insect, but quite large!) The room also had wasps and some ants. The hotel management said the area was experiencing an unusual increase of insects and that some of the staff members had also experienced an increase of insects in their rooms. Though I knew a plentitude of insects was to be expected in the jungle, I would suggest you do not spend the extra hundreds of dollars on the luxury bungalows as they are pretty to look at, but located much further away from the main area of the hotel, making them more susceptible to infesation, especially at nightfall.

Room Tip: The luxury bungalow are away from the hotel in a more rugged area - a lot more jungle. This may bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We did the 3 night, four day package. It takes a day to get into the rhythm. We were there in rainy season, but only rained for 20 minutes the whole time. Because it was wet season, .there wasn't an abundance of animals, but the true experience was the river itself. We were able to canoe through the Flooded Forest etc. The rooms were clean and adequate, the setting fabulous, the main reception, bar area, living gathering room was just like Africa. Some buffet meals were better than others. The morning and afternoon excursions are preplanned for you. BUT.. The guides are among the best in the world. After having travelled to 71 countries we were rate him among the best 3 guides we have ever had. We LOVED the experience and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The cottages were very acceptable, smaller but had a small veranda. The four bungalows had TV's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We did the 3 nights, 4 days package at Anavilhanas and I have to say that it was the most amazing thing I've ever done. I LOVED it and can't recommend it highly enough. We did a 3 week tour around Brazil and this was the highlight.

The lodge is absolutely beautiful. The staff speak excellent English, the food was really good, service was excellent and the accomodation was clean, comfortable and charming. Being completely objective, I have only 1 minor criticism to make; our cabin often smelled a bit damp. There was some torrential downpours while we were there so obviously the wood is going to be wet. I don't know how this problem could be rectified but I have to stress that it wasn't that bad and in no way detracted from the overall experience. It was just that everything else was so perfect, this was the only little thing that was noticeable.

The excursions were extremely enjoyable. We had 2 guides throughout our stay; Krishna and Rob. They were excellent; extremely knowledgeable, polite, friendly and spoke almost perfect English. I found the excursions absolutely fascinating and loved learning about and seeing the rainforest and the creatures first hand.

Finally, as we were spending one night in Manaus after our stay in Anavilhanas before our next flight, Krishna recommended that we book a tour of Manaus, which he arranged for us. Don't hesitate to take Krishna up on this offer. Our guide, Sardes, was excellent and we had a fantastic tour of Manaus. It was the perfect end to a perfect stay at Anavilhanas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful way to experience the Amazon. Quaint. Fantastic activities. Rob is am unbelievable guide. Food could be a notch better. Wonderful place to relax, be pampered and see nature. This is the Ritz Carlton of the jungle.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogi Das Cruzes, SP
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great hotel with comfortable rooms. The food is just ok but the attractions are amazing.
Everyday you have one attraction in the morning and one in the afternoon. The guides are good and have a lot of knowledge about the forest.
As the hotel is in the middle of nothing try to bring some snacks like cookies and chips.

Room Tip: The bungalows are equipped with TV and king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The lodge is situated about 3 hours drive from Manaus on the Rio Negro. It is fairly isolated except for a small town which is about 20 minutes away.
The Rio negro does not have as much wildlife as The Amazon river. The reason for this is that the water in the Rio Negro is slightly acidic. That's not to say that there is no wildlife there, it just means it is harder to spot. It also means a few less mozzies.
The lodge itself is good. The cabins have airconditioning and there is a small and well kept swimming pool and sun deck. The service and the food are also very good. Best thing though are the excursions and of course, the guides, all of whom are very knowledgable and enthusiastic.
I wouldn't describe the lodge as 'eco' because it has a few too many luxuries for that but I would say it would be very good for those who aren't looking for the really hard core Amazon river wildlife experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge

Address: Rodovia Am 352 - Km 1 - Igarape Do Monteiro | S/ Numero, Novo Airao, State of Amazonas 69730000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Novo Airao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Novo Airao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge is a small and exclusive hotel situated in the heart of the Amazon rain forest, Brazil. Resting in front of Anavilhanas archipelago, the lodge is touched by the black waters of the Rio Negro and is blessed with the sounds, smells and mysteries of the Amazon Jungle. Free of mosquitoes and nested within a vast stretch of untouched rain forest, the hotel offers a wonderful balance between nature and comfort, adventure and peace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anavilhanas Jungle Hotel Novo Airao
Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge Brazil/AM - Novo Airao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.