We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing jungle lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Novo Airao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge
Save
You added Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Rodovia Am 352 - Km 1 - Igarape Do Monteiro | S/ Numero, Novo Airao, State of Amazonas 69730000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“Amazing jungle lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We spent 5 great days in this lodge and I would recommend this trip to anyone interested in visiting the Amazon! The staff is very friendly and professional.The lodge is located a few hours from Manaus what makes it difficult to reach it, but once you get there you will enjoy the benefits of being away from everything.The nature around the lodge is beautiful! The guided tours are a great intro to the wildlife of the forest. The guides are very knowledgable and seem to have a great pleasure answering any kind of question! The food in the lodge is delicious. The hammock room and the swimming pool area are simply all you can wish for your holidays...just relax and enjoy it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    60
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
137
210
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
barcelona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very nice place, very confortable and the staff is very friendly; Prakash is a very good guide.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011 via mobile

My family and I stayed at this hotel for the three days/two nights package. Needless to say we were very pleased with the hotel. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and tastefully furnished. Additionally there were a large variety of activities on offer, catering to all tastes ranging from the cultural (visits to a native village) to the interpid (jungle hiking). The activities were well spaced out during the day understanding that the guests would also require to rest in the early afternoon heat after lunch. The food was world class, combining delicious local flavours with some international influences. All served by attentive staff. The reception and restaurant staff were very accommodating for vegetarians. The guides were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic, making our time in the jungle a memorable one big up krishna and leandro . In all, Anavilhanas is a value for money hotel of a very high standard. We would heartily recommend it to all prospective guests!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

A long transfer but absolutely worth it.

The lodge is fantastically sited on the side of the River Negro - which is amazing to swim in off the jetty as it's black and you can't see your feet or body! It is incredibly well run with lots of activities run by knowledgeable guides - Robbie was particularly good.

We stayed 3 nights which I think was about the right amount of time as we did jungle walks, Dolphins, canoeing through the flooded forest, Piranha fishing, night spotting and a whole afternoon through the silent archepeligo.

We had two bungalows - one standard and one superior (or may be called a suite) I would totally recommend upgrading to the superior of which I think there are only a handful. They are newly done with much more light than the standard. You are surrounded by jungle with stunning glass walls allowing you to take it all in.

Public areas nice and relaxed, lovely (although slightly small ) pool and good food rounded off a great stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed here for two nights. Wonderful retreat - activities include fishing, boating, and hikes. Meals (buffet style) were delicious with lots of choices. Guides very professional and seem to enjoy what they do. Reception very helpful. Great hammock room and pool. Located on the Negro River and since the river is somewhat acidic, no mosquitos. No phones or tv's in the room... life is good. A/C worked well in room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

It all started with the reservation process which was smooth and helpful. The pick-up from Manaus was on time and the driver was very nice even though he didn't speak English. Our arrival was met with cold drinks and snacks and from then on it was more and more fun and enjoyment together with comfort and good service.
There were organised events in small groups 2-3 times every day and the guides were amongst the friendliest and most knowledgeable we could have ever hoped for. In particular Leandra was exceptional. The actual activities were so enjoyable and the Amazon is simply AWESOME.
The kids (aged 9 and 11) were equally at home as the adults and there were loads of others that they played pool with even though the others didn't speak English (kids are so versatile).
Food was good and they bent over backwards to cater to our needs (we keep Kosher and they ensured there was always fish we could eat).
The bungalows were spacious, comfortable and every afternoon was spent on the outside hammock having a nap before the next activity.
Every aspect of our stay was wonderful and I can not recommend it highly enough.
If you have the opportunity, go for it as its a life-changing experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We wanted to see the Amazon as part of our trip to Brazil but we had not realised just how beautiful the Anavilhanas archipelago would be. The lodge has a lovely setting on the Rio Negro and a very caring staff who will try and accommodate any requests. On our return to Manaus airport they had the foresight to arrange for us to take a motor launch across the river if the Manaus car ferry was delayed (which it was) so we would be in plenty of time for our flight. The rooms are comfortable and air conditioned with a hammock on the terrace and the food was excellent. There was a wide choice of dishes at each meal and other hotels' fruit juices tasted watered down after theirs!
We did not expect to see a huge amount of wildlife while we were at Anavilhanas, so we regarded it as a bonus to see a sloth and for my son to pick up a vine snake from the river (at our guide's instruction of course), although there are plenty of dolphins and piranha in the river! You can't swim with the river dolphins, which are mainly rescue animals, at their feeding place any more. but some wild ones came quite close when we were swimming off the lodge's jetty in the river anyway. Swimming in the river was not something I had expected to do but the water was clear and soft, although its unique colour makes you look as if you have had a drastic spray tan! The colour indicates the high acidity of the water, which meant that we did not see any mosquitoes - a real advantage
We found all the people we shared excursions with to be good company and happy to chat and have a laugh. There were several families staying at the same time as us with children of all ages (upto mid-20's) and the friendly atmosphere certainly contributed to this lodge being the highlight of our holiday, beating Rio, Iguacu and the Pantanal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge

Address: Rodovia Am 352 - Km 1 - Igarape Do Monteiro | S/ Numero, Novo Airao, State of Amazonas 69730000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Novo Airao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Novo Airao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge is a small and exclusive hotel situated in the heart of the Amazon rain forest, Brazil. Resting in front of Anavilhanas archipelago, the lodge is touched by the black waters of the Rio Negro and is blessed with the sounds, smells and mysteries of the Amazon Jungle. Free of mosquitoes and nested within a vast stretch of untouched rain forest, the hotel offers a wonderful balance between nature and comfort, adventure and peace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anavilhanas Jungle Hotel Novo Airao
Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge Brazil/AM - Novo Airao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.