We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable & Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Badian Island Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Badian Island Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Badian Island Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6031, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Badian Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable & Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We are a family with 2 young children. The resort was exactly what we needed. It was quiet, peaceful, and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The kids loved the beach and nightly local talent. After speaking with the owners on several occasions, it was easy to understand why there is such loyalty and care by the island staff and residence. What we enjoyed the most was the non-commercial aspect of the resort and the personalization provided to families. Our kids became so attached with the staff, that they knew most of them by name and the staff knew theirs as well. We hope to return on our next trip to the Philippines and let our family and friends in Asia know of the resort.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    7
    12
    16
See reviews for
19
40
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

The prices are dear comparison to Philippines standard but the quality of service is amazing here. It is a resort you go to really forget you are in Philippines away from smoke, smog, traffic noise, the stress of having to bargain EVERYTHING, and just be pampered. I think 4 nights here is adequate to unwind any longer though you'll get bored. Bring fruit and snacks to eat in between or prepare to be paying $18 AUD a meal. The place is comparable to 5 star resort you find in Fiji so it has a lot of potential. It needs a pick me up though. The snorkelling is a must!!! The guide I believe was born with fins. The best part, is the picturesque view and every photo magically turns into a post card. Amazing lighting!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK Midlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I spent six nights, over New Year, at Badian Island Resort. Looking at their very professional website, and considering the high cost, we thought it was going to be very special. Sadly, this was not the case. The only thing that was 5* was the price. Badian is no more than a modest 3*. This is a great pity as the territory is delightful, and the staff brilliant in every way. There was unfortunately a feeling that the management realised that we were trapped there, and were determined to extract as much cash from us as possible.
The rooms are adequate, but tired. We were given an unasked for upgrade to a Badian Suite. This was a bit of a barn, but had a good sea view and a large balcony with a two person hammock (possibly the best thing about the whole place). We did look at a Pool Villa, but that was the same as ours, but with no hammock and a rather tatty, small concrete poolette. I preferred the Badian. The suites all have large stone baths, overlooking the sea. Unfortunately, the hot water supply runs out before the bath is quarter full! There is only sufficient hot water for two modest showers in succession. We asked about this, but apparently, nothing could be done.
As there are no other outlets on the island, guests are obliged to pay handsomely for some sort of meal plan. The food is no more than adequate. Breakfast was dismal; no yoghurt, no prepared fruit, instant coffee, a small domestic toaster and bacon in an unheated chafing dish. Nothing for Asian guests. We had freshish bread twice in six days!
Dinner is a little better if you choose carefully and wait while stuff is freshly cooked. Again, many of the containers were not heated, so the contents slowly congealed. Someone has had the ‘bright’ idea of putting a bottle of wine on each table, presumably as an encouragement to purchase. I found the practice pretentious and vaguely insulting. The whole set up has an amateurish feel and lacks direction.
The resort also has no policy on smoking. This is a disaster for non-smokers. On one occasion, two Germans chain-smoked throughout dinner, totally polluting the air for the twenty other tables of non-smokers.
On New Year’s Eve there was a mandatory extra charge of $US 120 each! For this, we had a glass of fruit cocktail, a slightly more extensive buffet and two and a half hours of local dancers. Instead of a countdown, we were treated to a five minute stand up prayer session followed by some fireworks and balloons - not even a glass of fizz. The place is in an 80’s Catholic time warp!
All the spa treatments and the trips ‘off island’ are ridiculously overpriced. My wife considered a massage followed by manicure and pedicure. When she looked at the cost, it would have come to just over twice what the same treatments would be in the Mactan Shangri’la - a proper 5* establishment, with a much more pleasant and better equipped spa. The Badian spa, unsurprisingly, is almost permanently empty.
The place has actually learned a little from previous Trip Advisor reports. Apparently a small beer used to be Php250. It is now Php130. Result: most nights I had three 130 beers, whereas at 250 I would have gone without. They should apply the same business principles to their Spa and trips - perhaps more people would go…
The only reason that this place survives is that there is nowhere else within 50 km. If another hotel opens in the area (which seems likely before long) Badian will sink without trace unless it adopts a more businesslike approach.

May I offer the following suggestions:

- double the outlay on breakfast commodities.
- invest in a couple of commercial toasters and a real coffee machine.
- set up an in-house bakery.
- buy enough heated chafing dishes, and use them.
- ban smoking in the restaurants, like any civilised establishment, or at least, set aside a couple of tables, where the addicts can enjoy their habit without polluting the air for the 95% of other diners.
- remodel the Pool Villa pools to make modern, marble lined infinity pools. The Villas would then be worth nearer their present asking price.
- sort out the hot water systems so that there is enough for a proper bath.
- half the prices for all treatments and trips.
- stop thinking ‘profit’ and start offering ‘excellence’ - profit will surely follow.

Despite all this, once we had mentally written off the outrageous cost, we had a pleasant time. This was mainly down to the wonderful staff, who work long, hard hours for very little money. Management - get a grip!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The mandatory buffet dinner on new years eve cost 125 aud per person. For the price, the food was mediocre the whole fish overcooked spaghetti tasted like tomato sauce the chilli shrimps over cooked and limited dishes offered for the price. Also note that drinks and water is not included. As the buffet was disappointing we went for the a la carte and have been left waiting for an hr and still no food..also a la carte is actually half the price u will spend as opposed to getting the buffet upsell options..i am writing this as we wait for dinner due to pure boredom no apology when asking when the food will be ready they tell me they will check and go off to clean plates of other guests..three times we had to ask now four..and still no food A whole fish we ordered on the day we arrived for 700 pesos was slightly bigger than the palm of my hand and bland with not much meat at all. The photos are a lot grander than what you see when u get here.. the so called health
and beauty drinks on the menu were not available or missing key ingredients..not five star considering the distance u need to travel and other hotels/ resort options u have snorkelling is not free only the boat ride for the snorkelling gear you are looking at an additional 300 p/p and 350 per hour for raft hire to the kawasan falls on top of the 1300-1500 ..absolutely disappointing service and to think we spent new years eve and new years day here

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Badian Island hotels

Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Badian Island this week. It is quite far from Cebu airport, the 2 1/2 hours that are advertised are at least 3 1/2 in reality.
The resort is very spacious, with beautiful beaches and excellent amenities. Dinner was served on another location every night: in the restaurant, at the pool side and on the beach.
The rooms are large, beds are good, and after check out you are being escorted to the pier where a singing band bids you goodbye. All in all, a very nice resort.

However... it is 32 years old and there are quite a few things that should be improved. In one of our rooms the toilet did not flush, even after three repairs. The A/C was too old to be repaired, the same for the safe deposit box. The internet was up and down most of the time. The staff did work very hard to overcome these problems, but some things just have to be renewed. We did not make use of the Spa or the day trips, mainly because of the costs involved. And that is my main point: because you are on an island you HAVE to use the F&B of the resort and the costs are simply too high for the offering.

Will we come back? Yes we will, because it is a fantastic location and the overall experience was very good, thanks to well trained hard working staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampico, Mexico
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

the spa is greaaaat!! Also I recommend renting the paddle boat... it´s stunning to paddle even on your own and the views of the island from the sea are amaazing!!...It´s really worth it. Also whale shark watching is an activity worth trying while you´re here.

Room Tip: choose one with ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed in this charming remote resort last week, with clean water, great and nice staff, delicious food, charming German Boss, and were disappointed by the lack of TV and slow internet connection. Bring your own Globe Tattoo USB connection if you need internet as much as I need it, daily.
Wine selection will make happy any French Wines "connaisseur" or expert.

Then on the last day, my expensive Sony digital video camera was stolen from my room, by someone having access to room, therefore probably an employee. It's sad and ruined my stay...as I am very cautious with my belongings....it never left the room, as I only used it from my room, and searched any square cm in the room for it, for hours. I am 100% sure it was stolen. Management says that only housekeeping has access to the rooms.
Conclusion: lock ALL your valuables, inside a safe place, in the safe, or the suitcase....

Room Tip: The Private Villas with private pools are unique and just amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Badian Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badian Island Resort and Spa

Address: 6031, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Badian Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Badian Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Badian Island Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badian Island Resort and Spa is an opulent yet serenely comfortable that fuses luxury and wellness. Guests can choose from its well-assigned 42 rooms — Thalasso pool villas and Badian, Junior and Family Suites — each affording beautiful views. Dedicated to well-being, the resort boasts of the Thalasso Spa and Sauna, an expanse of health wellness with ionized sea-water waterfalls, open-air pavilions with baths and wading pools. It features signature massages, relaxation and health treatments. Badian Resort and Spa dishes out healthy gastronomic feasts and drinks taken fresh from the resort’s very own organic garden. For the fun-chaser, the resort offers various water sports such as the aqua cycle, banana boat, kayak and even free WIFI. It also has its very own PADI certified Scuba diving school. With Dolphina, the resort's very own yacht docked on Badian Bay, guests are on for a pleasurable short cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Badian Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badian Island Hotel Badian Island
Badian Island Resort And Spa Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badian Island Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.