We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Badian Island Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Badian Island Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Badian Island Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6031, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Badian Island
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Small paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This hotel is the best of the best! You will never find the service such their stuff provide in another places, doesn't matter even how much money you will spend. We have never seen so friendly and helpful personnel who can achieve ALL you needs and desires! till the day the room is decorated by flowers about 2-3 times and also cleaned. each detail in the hotel is made up to perfection. If you need to work there is wi-fi connection almost everywhere (also at the beach area). Accommodation are very big and some of them are with hammocks and even private polls with sea water.
We Strictly recommend this hotel to everyone, especially for honeymooners and coupes. It is a really small private paradise!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    7
    12
    16
See reviews for
19
40
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very well maintained resort, surrounded by nature. Manager and Staff are very accomodative of Guest need. We enjoyed our stay. It was a bit drive from air-port to resort, but it was all worth for the time we spend. It takes a bit time to deliver food order, and I can say that one will not regret the waiting period. Excellent food. Departure from resort was memorable with everyone singing and saying good bye.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms gives a much better view and quite relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

the resort is very pleasant and quiet, perfect if your seeking a break from the crowded places elsewhere. aside from that, there is nothing to look forward to. the food is good but is overpriced , everything from the room furniture, to the music seems to be stuck in the 80's, the beach is not as good as it looks in the pictures, too many mosquitos and its coral garden does not have that much fish. for the price, it would be better to stay in mactan, moalboal or boracay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Badian Island hotels

Cebu
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Positives
- Well maintained beach front
- Staff friendly overall
- Amazing coral garden for snorkeling

Negatives
- Food is terribly overpriced (P3700/head/day for full board meals - bfast, lunch and dinner) without drinks
- We got the higher end Badian Suite and the split type aircon is like 20 years old, not working. We asked to switch rooms and still the same problem. It was hot a night and we were using a fan!
- During dinner, I asked for a glass of water and all the staff were very busy. The waiter told me to get one from the water dispenser. Terrible service!
- We had 3 cockroaches in our room in separate occasions.
- The GM met us when we checked in and was pleasant and even gave her business card, but with all our problems, I called her, texted her, no response. Terrible service!
- Everything here is charged! Even snorkeling gear at P100!

If you want to be overpaying a vacation, go ahead and book this resort. There are a lot of more resorts out there which will give you value for your money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed in Badian Resort&Spa Hotel in January, 2012 for a couple of weeks. It was a marvelous time! The first thing we'd like to mention is that the staff is very attentive, responsive, well-wishing and complaisant. Starting from the very beginning, we were transferred from the airport to the Hotel by car and though it took almost 3 hours, there were many interesting things to watch during this trip so that time passed imperceptibly. After that we went by boat to the Badian Island and on the shore of it we were met with beads out of beautiful flowers and while waiting at the reception we could enjoy welcoming drinks out of coconut shell, decorated with flowers.
Then we were accompanied to our Junior Suite. We were impressed by the spaciousness of the room and cleanliness. The Suite really looks like on the photos on the Hotel’s site. Besides, our suite was always decorated with fresh flowers. The flowers were everywhere, on the bed, in the balcony, on tables, in the bathroom and in the bath! It was very pretty and romantic! The suite was cleaned twice a day.
Speaking about meal, it was perfect. The food was always delicious, various and rich! The Dinner was always organized in different places, either on the beach, or at the swimming pool area etc. Though it's not club hotel where you can dance all over the night, there was always live music or dances, organized by Filipinos. Alex has a wonderful voice and a big talent for singing! Thank you a lot for your romantic songs and good mood!
As for excursions and tours, we enjoyed all of them! We went to Coral Garden to snorkel (the fauna and flora is impressive on the whole island), to Kawasan Waterfalls (it was amazing to swim there and to stand under the Waterfall on the float) etc. Moreover we were lucky to visit Sinulog fiesta in the city, we really enjoyed the original culture of the island! As we were honeymooners we had a chance to plant a tree on the island (a palm), that’s also memorable and pretty!
All in all we were really impressed by our Honeymoon spent on Badian Island and we hope that our life will be as beautiful, romantic and bright as the whole atmosphere on this Island and in this Hotel! We’ll certainly come here one more time in 5 or 10 years to visit our plant :) and to enjoy this fairytale one more time! We express big thanks to all in the hotel and on the island to Ana, to Alex, to Ceroy, to Claire, to Jenaline, to children in schools who were so pretty and welcoming, to everyone, whose names we don’t remember for such a perfect start in our new life period!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Was a little nervous about this place cause of some bad reviews but now that we have stayed there we know how good it is, cause this place is really a perfect relaxing getaway.

We stayed in a junior suite and our room was wonderful. Spacious, good bed, nice bathroom with shower and flowerfilled bath tub. A balcony with a hammock and a view.

The food was really good with a varied selection at breakfast buffet and either a set menu or buffet for dinner. You can also order food to your room at any time.

The staff is fantastic, looking to your every need.

The resort in all has loads of places were you can relax or do different activities.

The 2-3 hour trip to get there seems long but it is totally worth it.

So dont be nervous about booking this place, it's just what you are looking for if you want a relaxing time to wind up.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

It was a 2hr drive from the city to their private port in Badian where I parked my car. On our way, the staff called to check on us and had a speedboat ready when we arrived at the port. It was a 3-5min boat ride to the resort where a receptionist greeted us as we docked and guided us through check-in.

We stayed in a spacious Junior Suite room, had a huge bed, and a nice veranda that was overlooking the sea. It was partially blocked with plants and trees though but thought it was a good view of nature and a relaxing atmosphere. The plants also provided some privacy especially that the open-air bathtub and shower was just next to the veranda. My wife immediately noticed no TV but I was OK with it for some detachment. The refrigerator was small and did not actually cool stuff but they brought bucket of ice to the room when requested. The water heater was not working at first and they were willing to have us transferred to another room because repair can't be done till the following morning. Since we liked the room's view, we just stayed and they had the heater fixed the following morning as promised. We did not find any wifi connection during our stay but I think they were just having problems with some equipment at that time since there were also power blackouts for the 2 nights we stayed. It took some while for their generators to kick in but we didn't really notice how long since we were sleeping.

The food tastes great and I think they must have an excellent chef. It's a bit pricey though comparing buffet selections you can get from other 5-star resorts or hotels in the city. The breakfast buffet definitely had limited selections. They had some entertainment though during dinner featuring Filipino cultural dance. The staff also surprised us with a serenade since it was our anniversary which was really nice and gave a personal touch to our stay. We also had an enjoyable tree planting ceremony.

There is only one swimming pool located near the restaurant, not a big one and no kiddie pool as well. The beachfront was not full of guests at that time so it was a quiet place to relax. There is a game area but haven't really seen much people spending time there. (Why would you when you've got a nice beach in front?) There are also some watersports facilities available for free. They had a bar at the beach front but we weren't able to try it out. They also have a small private beach at the other side of the island where you can snorkel. We took a 15-20min walk there from the resort since my wife is not a fan of boat rides and the tide at that time was not that calm for a small boat either. There is no bar/restaurant there to get refreshments and there is a surcharge for arranging a picnic lunch. The resort also had Spa facilities but we did not try it out. We found it too expensive comparing to spa facilities in other high-end spa or resorts in the city.

Finally, a group of staff bids farewell with a serenade as we boarded the boat on our way home. They are really very good in making your stay a personalized experience. For a romantic getaway and to enjoy each other's company away from the hustle and bustle of the city, it's a perfect place. I think it's too expensive though for the overall resort facilities so I just rated it Average. Is it a nice place to come back though? Sure it is but I'll have to think twice unless I get another good deal from the internet.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Badian Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badian Island Resort and Spa

Address: 6031, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Badian Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Badian Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Badian Island Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badian Island Resort and Spa is an opulent yet serenely comfortable that fuses luxury and wellness. Guests can choose from its well-assigned 42 rooms — Thalasso pool villas and Badian, Junior and Family Suites — each affording beautiful views. Dedicated to well-being, the resort boasts of the Thalasso Spa and Sauna, an expanse of health wellness with ionized sea-water waterfalls, open-air pavilions with baths and wading pools. It features signature massages, relaxation and health treatments. Badian Resort and Spa dishes out healthy gastronomic feasts and drinks taken fresh from the resort’s very own organic garden. For the fun-chaser, the resort offers various water sports such as the aqua cycle, banana boat, kayak and even free WIFI. It also has its very own PADI certified Scuba diving school. With Dolphina, the resort's very own yacht docked on Badian Bay, guests are on for a pleasurable short cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Badian Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badian Island Hotel Badian Island
Badian Island Resort And Spa Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badian Island Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.