We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Angiolieri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Angiolieri to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Maria Vecchia 2, 80066 Seiano, Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seiano
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day stay in the Grand Hotel Angiolieri. We did think we were going to be staying in Sorrento when we booked but I have to say we were glad we wasn't after looking around the hotel and the views of the surrounding area. The views from anywhere in the hotel was fantastic. Breakfast choice was excellent and the view of the bay of Naples from the veranda every morning was stunning. The outside bar area also having a stunning view over the bay and was lovely to sit there of an evening having a drink and watching the sunset. The pool was a little small but perfect for the size of the hotel with plenty of sun beds and towels put out for you. The staff at the hotel was first class, nothing was to much trouble. They even got the shuttle bus out specially for us to take us down to a local restaurant one evening down in the bay to save us the walk - excellent service. Our rooms were also very nice, cleaned every day with fresh towels etc. With Sorrento only 15-20 minutes drive away with ferries to Capri and the Amalfi Coast the hotel is in a perfect location. Also Pompeli only a short drive away. I really can't think of any reason why we wouldn't love to stay at this hotel again in the future or recommend to others. You will not be disappointed !!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    66
    25
    7
    13
See reviews for
43
196
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Koksijde, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Staff, view, room, location, service, breakfast, diner, ... everything was fantastic!
And we were even chosen to be a modelcouple for their new jacuzzi on their rooftop, soon to see on their website! ;-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We thought we were in Sorrento, and were confused and disappointed at first to be in Seiano. While it would have been fun to have more restaurants and life nearby, we enjoyed Grand Hotel Angiolieri for different reasons. It was very convenient to everything. We rode the train for cheap... 10 mins to Sorrento, 2o mins to Pompeii. The staff would take you to Vico Equense, and it was a really cool little town without many tourists, it seemed. We liked that.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. WE had not done our homework or set up tours in advance. They were GREAT! We had a driver (unfortunately not much English) take us to Amalfi, Positano and Ravello -- wonderful day! We toured Pompeii with Fernando -- Great Guide! And the highlight was a private boat to Capri with Daniella (her family business). Expensive, but worth it! All booked through the hotel.

The only glitch was having to get cash to pay for every thing at the end of the trip. We have always been able to use a credit card for activities in a 5 star hotel. Our bank (despite advising the bank of our trip) put a fraud alert on our account -- limiting ATM withdrawals. The hotel was very accommodating with our difficulties.

The pool is refreshing, and breakfast has a perfect view of Mt Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. A great few days!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed two nights in Angiolieri and enjoyed the whole time - the hotel, the view, surroundings and staff are absolutely amazing. A special thanks to Antonio & Giuseppe & the kitchen staff, we really felt like royalty in this divine place. Rooms were perfect as well, pool area really calm and beautiful. Seiano is quite nice, not touristy at all which we appreciate. Vico Equense is the biggest nearby village, worthy of a visit. A huge recommendation, the best hotel during our 10 day trip in Amalfi Coast. Thanks so much & will surely return! xx from Finland

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St John's, Newfoundland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a two week holiday on the gorgeous Amalfi coast. We stayed at the Angiolieri for the first week, having been seduced by the web site, one-star Michelin kitchen, and 5-star-comfort promise. We were not in the least disappointed. In fact, we were intensely satisfied with the entire experience. Not knowing the coast when we booked, we were a little anxious about how close or far the hotel was from where we thought the action was. In fact, the hotel is perfectly situated close to the town of Sorrento (well worth a day's browsing), and to Pompeii and Herculunaeum, lying smack centre as it does facing the Bay of Naples. Words cannot describe the view from almost every corner of the hotel, with towering Vesuvius looming before us and the lushly terraced landscape of the coast and its villages on all sides. It's simply staggering. Waking up to this view and then dining on the sun-kissed terrace for breakfast and dinner--afforded day after day of sun and sea, not to mention astonishing sunsets--is everything you want in a vacation. We kept pinching ourselves with self delight. Our room was a 'superior,' which meant facing the sea. The only complaint about the hotel is the size of the rooms. Generally, they are small. Next time we would take a room with a balcony--same size, but enlarged by that extra bit of outdoor viewing. That said, the room we had was well appointed and carefully designed, with special attention to immaculate architectural detail, economy of storage, and aesthetics. These details compensate for the small size to a large degree. Moreover, the service at the hotel is strictly first-rate, well deserving of five-star status. We fell in love with the staff. In particularly the m'aitre'd and head sommelier, Giovanni, who was utterly charming, helpful, kind, attentive, and most knowledgeable about wines local and otherwise. We relied on him exclusively for glass by glass accompaniment with each meal and were never disappointed. We will never forget him and his kind, generous eyes. Likewise, the reception we received from Guiseppe at the desk was most gracious and warm, and we appreciated his always patient charm throughout our stay. Indeed, all the staff were so accommodating, without being in the least cloying or patronizing. We felt as if we were in superb hands throughout. The bar area also affords a view of the bay and is a wonderful end-of-day retreat, as well. The infinity pool is a serene spot of relief from the blazing sun, and we availed of it every day after touring and hiking. Wisely, we took advantage of the offer to attend a cooking class. We can't say enough about the sheer thrill of being in star-chef Vincente Guarino's kitchen--a highlight of our entire visit. Marco and Vincente gently took us through the steps of ravioli-making, as well as showed us the labour-intensive ways they prepared some of their delicious meals. We were in heaven! The kitchen itself is a gorgeous piece of design, enviably state-of-the art. When we were leaving after a week to move on down the coast the chef himself emerged from the kitchen with a large bag of highly prized local pasta which we lovingly carried home to Canada, along with our chef's aprons and parchment certificate, suitable for framing. We actually ate almost all meals at their restaurant l'Accanto, and why not? The food and service were impeccable. When one evening my husband's dish wasn't quite cooked well enough they simply didn't charge us for it, without any fuss. That is what one would expect from such a place. Even a Michelin-starred chef can make a mistake every now and then. I am never sure what to make of Trip Advisor reviews that are so negative about a place like this -- either the hotel and the restaurant. We would go back in a flash. We join the choirs of those guests who appreciate the Angioliere's fine attention to detail, and we will retain fond memories of its warm, gracious staff. Bravo! And thank you for giving us such happy times. We hope to see you all again. Molte grazie.

Room Tip: Face the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We returned yet again to this fantastic place and yet again the hotel, staff and services on offer - everything - remain first class if not more so than our last visit. This magnificent boutique hotel is in a prime position with a fantastic view of the Bay of Naples and directly in front of Vesuvius. On arrival we enjoyed the sunsetting over a glass of bubbly before retiring to our lovely, spacious and very comfortable room. We had booked well in advance and were given a fantastic room with 2 views. The hotel has ample underground parking and a Michelin starred restaurant but we enjoyed their club menu at the bar on several occasions instead. Breakfast is fabulous and vast and is served on the terrace by brilliant staff and this hidden gem is also close to many attractions such as Sorrento, Pompeii, Herculeum and a port where you can get boats to Positano, Capri, etc.. The staff at this hotel are exceptional and lovely people, we had a brilliant time and can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Pay more for a Superior Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We have returned to this lovely, stylish and perfectly run boutique hotel 4 times. We keep returning to it because you just can't fault the service or experience. It is a fantastic hotel with a real attention to detail. It is so convenient if you want to see all the sites (close to Pompeii, just above a port where you can get boats to Capri, etc..) and it now has a bar where you can sit, sip cocktails and watch the sun set over Vesuvius as well as fine-dine at a Michelin starred restaurant. And you have your breakfast served on the most fantastic terrace over looking the Bay of Naples. All the room are gorgeous and exceptionally clean but the superior rooms are particularly roomy. Lovely bathroom products, free water, chocolates every night and tasty biscuits on arrival - this place is heaven! We love this place and long may it reign as a hidden gem. Staff are great and really welcoming too.

Room Tip: Book a Superior Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Angiolieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Angiolieri

Address: Via Santa Maria Vecchia 2, 80066 Seiano, Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense > Seiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Angiolieri 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, Grand Hotel Angiolieri is a five stars hotel, laid down on a peak overlooking the sea, positioned in the village of Seiano, belonging to the municipality of Vico Equense. Grand Hotel Angiolieri is an oasis of peace, serenity and great charm, situated at the same time in an unmatchable strategic position. In fact, famous sites as Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples are easy accessible by car, train or boat. The hotel itself is immersed in a garden rich in citrus plantations and secular palms, offering several green corners, with simply unique sea and landscapes.The Rooms:Restored with considerable competence, Grand Hotel Angiolieri disposes of 37 rooms, all well groomed, with particular attention to details, with sober and refined taste, presenting functional and elegant furniture. The classic pastels colours lend them a touch of simplicity. The rooms offer sea or garden view, with terrace, balcony or window. Rooms at a glance:21 Standard rooms with window and garden view; 9 Superior rooms with window and sea view; 3 Deluxe rooms with terrace and sea view; 2 Junior Suite with terrace and sea view; 2 Suites, one with open terrace and sea view, one with French balcony and sea view.L’Accanto Restaurant:L’Accanto Restaurant, awarded with a Michelin Star for the year 2010, where our Chef delights the guests with creative local gastronomic specialties with an appeal to regional products.The Services:Grand Hotel Angiolieri offers a peculiar and highly customised range of services, in order to satisfy all kind of demand the guest may have. The hotel provides a sea view swimming pool, panoramic restaurant, free internet access and underground parking. A massage room is available for all lovers of relax and wellness. Main reference for the guest is the reception desk, formed by a specialized team, able to offer and organize a wide number of services, such as boat, car and scooter hiring, transfers, private excursions, shopping tours and further leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Angiolieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vico Equense
Grand Angiolieri Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Angiolieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.