We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Angiolieri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Angiolieri to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Maria Vecchia 2, 80066 Seiano, Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seiano
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We loved the beautiful view and friendly staff here. We stayed for 5 nights as part of our Italian honeymoon and this was truly a gem! We woke up to a beautiful view of Mt Vesuvius and the ocean everyday. A quick train ride to downtown Sorrento and Pompeii and also a stop for the Capri shuttle boat. Just perfect!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    82
    26
    7
    13
See reviews for
51
224
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel overlooking the Bay of Naples. I cannot say enough about the view of Vesuvius from the restaurant. It is amazing. The staff were wonderful -- so kind, helpful, and thoughtful. Our garden-view room was lovely and well-appointed. If you are traveling by train, make sure that you have a phone to call the hotel for the shuttle pickup. There is no pay phone in the tiny train station although we saw many pay phones throughout Italy. We had momentary panic when we arrived, but were finally able to flag down a cab with a driver who didn't know where the hotel was -- even when I showed him the address. It turned out to be 2 minutes away, but I had to talk to the driver's English-speaking friend on his phone to make sure that we were headed in the right direction. It was a bit of an adventure, but nothing serious.

We had a wonderful meal at the restaurant on our first night and then went to Sorrento by train on the second night. There are not a lot of restaurant/shopping options in Seiano and we didn't expect that. I definitely recommend this hotel, but you need to understand that the location is before Sorrento. If you want to see Positano and Amalfi, you will need to take the train to Sorrento and then hop on a bus to see those towns. It didn't work out for us because we were only staying 2 nights and chose to see Pompeii and than have dinner in Sorrento, but that's just another reason to go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at this nice hotel for 3 nights. The staff was so welcoming and very friendly. The lady who greeted us at the check in was extremely nice.
The location of the hotel was excellent with an amazing view from the breakfast terrace.
From the outside, the hotel is beautiful. I loved the entrance to the hotel, the big jar, the beautiful view, the small church right next to it.
Another big advantage was the free parking availability.
The only small disappointment was the size of the room and a strong smell of cigarettes.
We did book a standard room so it was a small one and as for the cigarettes, we left the window opened every day before leaving the room so it was ok at the end.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for ten days in September & had a really great time, the superior room with sea view was not the largest I'v stayed in but it was well appointed, clean & the view was to die for, as for the rest of the hotel it was always very clean & well kept. We always found the staff very friendly & helpful especially the guy that ran the bar & the receptionist Josephine. The hotel is a little isolated but there is a railway station nearby which offers a good service to Sorrento or Naples & buses are plentiful. I can understand why this hotel would not appeal to everyone as I don't think its suitable for families with children but I would not hesitate to stay there again. Thank you all for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I can't compliment the staff enough. They were overly helpful in resolve a couple of problems (rental car & airline) which occurred during our stay.

The view from the bar and restaurant overlooking the Bay of Naple and Mt Ves were outstanding. Breakfast on the terrace was great, good and plentiful food.

Hotel design was very modern, which would explain the "starkness" comments of some guests. Swimming pool is adequate. The top floor is a large terrace which was a nice place to enjoy a bottle of wine at the end of the day. Shuttle is available to the beach and to the Vico Equese city center. Train station to the Circumvensia is only a few hundred yards away and the shuttle did drop us off. Herculeneum was 45 min on the train, Pompei about 25 min. Well worth the cost to considering cost to park at each attraction.

We stayed in room 203 which had a nice terrace and partial view of the bay.

My only negative comments relate to the mattress which literally was as hard as a rock and the shower which was only 16 inches wide on the narrow end by three feet. In the hotel's defense all bed mattresses in Italy seem hard as a rock, but I don't think I'm being overly critical. At the end of the day what any hotel is selling is a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here the summer of 2013 with kids. We booked a family suite. The room was incredibly large but bare bones. There were no pictures on the wall, no artwork except a few vases. No carpets or rugs. The room felt sterile like a hospital room, not a 5 star hotel. The bed was uncomfortable. My children complained they could feel wires poking them in the back when they slept. To their credit, they did replace the sofa bed with a real bed for the remainder of the week. My favorite was the bathrooms. Our $500+ a night suite had a jet tub from the 70's and no shower. We had to climb into the jet tub, pull out the hose, lean over and wash our hair and bodies. I felt like i was washing my hair in a sink every night. The list could go on.. I know how frustrating it can be to spend lots of money on your dream vacation and expect a 5 star experience, to then show up and get a 3 star room. so I felt it necessary to let you know, this is not a 5 star experience. One positive, the staff is really nice, its only the hotel room that is awful. The actual hotel grounds are beautiful. Go elsewhere....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisaBalzano, Manager at Grand Hotel Angiolieri, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guests,
Greetings from the Grand Hotel Angiolieri and thanks for your kind review we will take it as tip to improve our selves.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Staff cortese ed accogliente. La nostra camera una delle migliori con vista del Golfo. La terrazza del ristorante e incantevole e la colazione non lascia niente a desiderare.
We have had a most wonderful experience in a week enjoying excellent services from the most professional staff. Excellent food at one of the best restaurants on the coast from Naples to Sorrento.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisaBalzano, Manager at Grand Hotel Angiolieri, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Greetings from the Grand Hotel Angiolieri and thanks for your kind review.

Your satisfaction is the best prize we coukld expected.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seiano
1.4 mi away
Capo La Gala Hotel
Capo La Gala Hotel
#3 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Torre Barbara
Hotel Torre Barbara
#6 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#2 of 97 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#4 of 97 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 1,791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
#10 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 97 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Angiolieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Angiolieri

Address: Via Santa Maria Vecchia 2, 80066 Seiano, Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense > Seiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Angiolieri 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, Grand Hotel Angiolieri is a five stars hotel, laid down on a peak overlooking the sea, positioned in the village of Seiano, belonging to the municipality of Vico Equense. Grand Hotel Angiolieri is an oasis of peace, serenity and great charm, situated at the same time in an unmatchable strategic position. In fact, famous sites as Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples are easy accessible by car, train or boat. The hotel itself is immersed in a garden rich in citrus plantations and secular palms, offering several green corners, with simply unique sea and landscapes.The Rooms:Restored with considerable competence, Grand Hotel Angiolieri disposes of 37 rooms, all well groomed, with particular attention to details, with sober and refined taste, presenting functional and elegant furniture. The classic pastels colours lend them a touch of simplicity. The rooms offer sea or garden view, with terrace, balcony or window. Rooms at a glance:21 Standard rooms with window and garden view; 9 Superior rooms with window and sea view; 3 Deluxe rooms with terrace and sea view; 2 Junior Suite with terrace and sea view; 2 Suites, one with open terrace and sea view, one with French balcony and sea view.L'Accanto Restaurant:L'Accanto Restaurant, awarded with a Michelin Star for the year 2010, where our Chef delights the guests with creative local gastronomic specialties with an appeal to regional products.The Services:Grand Hotel Angiolieri offers a peculiar and highly customised range of services, in order to satisfy all kind of demand the guest may have. The hotel provides a sea view swimming pool, panoramic restaurant, free internet access and underground parking. A massage room is available for all lovers of relax and wellness. Main reference for the guest is the reception desk, formed by a specialized team, able to offer and organize a wide number of services, such as boat, car and scooter hiring, transfers, private excursions, shopping tours and further leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Escapio so you can book your Grand Hotel Angiolieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vico Equense
Grand Angiolieri Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Angiolieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.