We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Settimana da Dio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Angiolieri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Angiolieri to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Maria Vecchia 2, 80066 Seiano, Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seiano
italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Settimana da Dio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Staff cortese ed accogliente. La nostra camera una delle migliori con vista del Golfo. La terrazza del ristorante e incantevole e la colazione non lascia niente a desiderare.
We have had a most wonderful experience in a week enjoying excellent services from the most professional staff. Excellent food at one of the best restaurants on the coast from Naples to Sorrento.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisaBalzano, Manager at Grand Hotel Angiolieri, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Greetings from the Grand Hotel Angiolieri and thanks for your kind review.

Your satisfaction is the best prize we coukld expected.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    66
    25
    7
    13
See reviews for
43
196
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We just left this hotel this morning and I felt compelled to share our experience, which has been far from good.

Let me start with a few positives to give this review not a complete ranting taste. We liked the view from the restaurant patio, it was great to have an underground parking spot where you don't have to worry about the car getting scratched up and the building seem to be well maintained, including the outside garden area by the entrance.

Upon entering our room the good story ends though. We are a family of four (including 2 kids aged 8 and 10) and the suite that we had booked at a not insignificant price, was at best a 3 star experience, if that. I'll spare you all the details but give you a flavor: 2 extra beds for the kids turned out to be a trampoline (think metal in your back) pull out sofa. The main bed had a mattress that didn't fit the frame and make us feel we're sleeping on Italian marble. The hairdryer was broken. The internet access didn't work (and no, it wasn't us not doing it right, a router was missing from the room). The sheets weren't changed until 5 days into the stay and only after we alerted the staff to it. The room floor wasn't mopped regularly which gives you an idea how walking around barefoot feels. The shower was a joke - a pull out cord from the "jacuzzi" that mostly provided only cold water. The breakfast felt like at a Novotel, just not as good and the selection was worse. Oh yes, twice we came back from the beach to find our doors not being locked/shut by the staff that entered the room after we left.

A few things were addressed when we raised them to the manager (bed, hair dryer, etc) but all in all the guy was not really interested in making it a better experience. I felt they gave up on us as a lost cause as there was no more attempt to remedy the situation, including not asking "How was your stay?" at the end. He knew what the answer would have been. I felt even too tired to ask for some of the money back - which would have not enabled me to write this review.

So, the place, while a good idea, had very bad execution and remediation was mediocre. What seems well executed are the professional photos that were taken of this place. For example, it made the pool look like a beautiful space to rest and hang out. In reality, it was a walled in small space that has apparently two nice photo angles which fail to give a real picture.

I give this hotel a maximum of 3 stars (certainly not 5) and 1 star for service. Maybe it was just bad luck or just our room (suite "Zeuxo") but I would not ever recommend this hotel to anybody else and obviously we would never stay there again. Not even if you told me that the price was half.

And yes, Amalfi Coast and Capri were wonderful, we still enjoyed ourselves, just not when we were spending time at this establishment.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisaBalzano, General Manager at Grand Hotel Angiolieri, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for sharing your experience and please let us comment it.
First of all we apologize, as we did when you showed your complaint, please believe us your disappointment is a defeat for us.
As you wrote the first problems, matress, sofa bed, hair dryer, router were replaced and you also appreciate it and thanked for a small attention sent to the room for all the family.

What we want definitely to contest is your affirmation about the cleaning of the room this is not true above all the sheets that weren't changed until 5 days, impossible also because the maids every day coming in to your room, found them throw away and rolled on the floor
The pool is not small, it is proportionate to the building, maybe not really suitable for a family with kids
We do not contest your personal taste concerning the breakfast that anyway Guests use to appreciate.
The shower is not a joke it is just the way it has been conceived
Concerning the number of stars our hotel deserve it’s your personal opinion that we do not agree thanks to the many good reviews that everybody can look at Everything you wrote in your review was anticipated personally with rude way, asking: “how was your stay” would have been the most inopportune question.
You were tired to ask some money back….we would never buy your silence
You declared: “I would not ever recommend this hotel to anybody else and obviously we would never stay there again” we hope on the contrary to welcome back in future and try to make things better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

This is the only hotel I prepaid in full for 3 nights and walked away from my money! It is nothing like what is advertised: the rooms remind me of a cheap cruise ship complete with tiny room, porthole sized window and tiny plastic bathroom where you trip over the elevated threshold. The highly touted restaurant was simply awful! The staff were belligerent and just not helpful. The beach is a distance away on a busy highway and the hotel offered no shuttle. The pool is a joke and was filthy! I left.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisaBalzano, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Angiolieri, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review on this web site.
We apologize if the hotel and our service fell the short of expectations.
However, we think that it very important to set the facts straight.
First of all we really don't understand why you leave a review one year after your stay with us
We cannot discuss about personal tastes but something you have declared are not rights
You wrote that our staff was very rude, even belligerent, we are really surprised for your words. We have never received this kind of complaint, all the guest love the courtesy and skill of our staff.
The easier example of wrong report is the shuttle, which exists since the hotel opening and it was, it is and will be always free
Concerning the restaurant, it’s definitely a personal taste matter, everyone can read the good reviews about it.
We always hope that our guest have a nice memory of the Grand Hotel Angiolieri and L’Accanto restaurant. When we do not obtain this result we are not satisfied, but we hope that you can come back in future to change your idea of our hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel for a romantic stay. The views over the bay are fantastic especially when enjoying a superb breakfast on the balcony of the dining room. Who can fault magnificent cakes for breakfast?
The staff were friendly especially the bar man who gave us lots of advice on what to do and see. It is tucked away a bit but the hotel has a shuttle bus free to use to get to the nearest town if you fancy pizza by the metre!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed 5 nights during our trip to Amalfi Coast! The hotel was very nice with a super view.The service was very good.They have a wonderfull breakfast buffet.The restaurant of the hotel was really impressive they had a very good selection of wine menu and perfect menu.unfortunately the Standard Room that we stayed in was very small.it is a pitty that the dissatisfaction of the room can keep me from going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Must prefer a see view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle, Belgium
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were a little disapointed. We had a very small room with just one small window. The staff was not really friendly and helpfull, not what we expect in a 5 star hotel. The pool is very, very small.
Parking our car was free.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisaBalzano, General Manager at Grand Hotel Angiolieri, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Grand Hotel Angiolieri and thanks for staying with us.
For me your comments are important to improve, every opinion is taken as good advice.
Unfortunately for the size of the rooms that are displayed in the room descriptions, I cannot do anything since the building is an historical establishment.
I am really surprised regarding the comments about my stuff, which is usually much praised
I hope to welcome you in future and do a better job for your stay
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our Honeymoon so we wanted it to be special and it was.We had travelled down from a busy day in Roma and had accidently got off the train a little too early, this was not a problem with the hotel who sent their shuttle to pick us up. On entering our hotel we found it clean and very well maintained, the surrounding gardens were immaculate.
The room we were given was lovely and clean and fresh with a rather large balcony which was made better by the view of Vesuvio across the water.
We were brought a lovely bottle of bubbly which we sipped on the balcony/terrace, what a start to a honeymoon.We went out to every day and found we could use either the train in Seiano or the local bus to get around the area, Sorrento is a short ride south and Pompeii is twenty minutes north of Vico Equensa.
Being a special time for us we did book our last night to have a lovely meal in the hotel restaurant, the food was quite simply to die for and we found the price including wine to be very good value and I cannot rate the food highly enough.
The staff were extremly helpful and our Barman who we met every night was knowledgeable of the area, helpful oh and made a mean bunch of Cocktails.
If you want a quiet tranquil hotel with many extra features then this is the place to stay.
The view over the Bay of Napoli is beautiful and a real treat whilst having your breakfast, which was also very nice and varied.
Timmy and Anna Grainger.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisaBalzano, General Manager at Grand Hotel Angiolieri, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very very much for leaving your feedback., we are very flatered reading your impressions.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Angiolieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Angiolieri

Address: Via Santa Maria Vecchia 2, 80066 Seiano, Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense > Seiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Angiolieri 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, Grand Hotel Angiolieri is a five stars hotel, laid down on a peak overlooking the sea, positioned in the village of Seiano, belonging to the municipality of Vico Equense. Grand Hotel Angiolieri is an oasis of peace, serenity and great charm, situated at the same time in an unmatchable strategic position. In fact, famous sites as Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples are easy accessible by car, train or boat. The hotel itself is immersed in a garden rich in citrus plantations and secular palms, offering several green corners, with simply unique sea and landscapes.The Rooms:Restored with considerable competence, Grand Hotel Angiolieri disposes of 37 rooms, all well groomed, with particular attention to details, with sober and refined taste, presenting functional and elegant furniture. The classic pastels colours lend them a touch of simplicity. The rooms offer sea or garden view, with terrace, balcony or window. Rooms at a glance:21 Standard rooms with window and garden view; 9 Superior rooms with window and sea view; 3 Deluxe rooms with terrace and sea view; 2 Junior Suite with terrace and sea view; 2 Suites, one with open terrace and sea view, one with French balcony and sea view.L’Accanto Restaurant:L’Accanto Restaurant, awarded with a Michelin Star for the year 2010, where our Chef delights the guests with creative local gastronomic specialties with an appeal to regional products.The Services:Grand Hotel Angiolieri offers a peculiar and highly customised range of services, in order to satisfy all kind of demand the guest may have. The hotel provides a sea view swimming pool, panoramic restaurant, free internet access and underground parking. A massage room is available for all lovers of relax and wellness. Main reference for the guest is the reception desk, formed by a specialized team, able to offer and organize a wide number of services, such as boat, car and scooter hiring, transfers, private excursions, shopping tours and further leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Angiolieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vico Equense
Grand Angiolieri Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Angiolieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.