We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We expected more from a 5 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Angiolieri

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Angiolieri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Maria Vecchia 2, 80066 Seiano, Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seiano
Halle, Belgium
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“We expected more from a 5 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were a little disapointed. We had a very small room with just one small window. The staff was not really friendly and helpfull, not what we expect in a 5 star hotel. The pool is very, very small.
Parking our car was free.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisaBalzano, General Manager at Grand Hotel Angiolieri, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Grand Hotel Angiolieri and thanks for staying with us.
For me your comments are important to improve, every opinion is taken as good advice.
Unfortunately for the size of the rooms that are displayed in the room descriptions, I cannot do anything since the building is an historical establishment.
I am really surprised regarding the comments about my stuff, which is usually much praised
I hope to welcome you in future and do a better job for your stay
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    61
    24
    6
    13
See reviews for
42
184
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our Honeymoon so we wanted it to be special and it was.We had travelled down from a busy day in Roma and had accidently got off the train a little too early, this was not a problem with the hotel who sent their shuttle to pick us up. On entering our hotel we found it clean and very well maintained, the surrounding gardens were immaculate.
The room we were given was lovely and clean and fresh with a rather large balcony which was made better by the view of Vesuvio across the water.
We were brought a lovely bottle of bubbly which we sipped on the balcony/terrace, what a start to a honeymoon.We went out to every day and found we could use either the train in Seiano or the local bus to get around the area, Sorrento is a short ride south and Pompeii is twenty minutes north of Vico Equensa.
Being a special time for us we did book our last night to have a lovely meal in the hotel restaurant, the food was quite simply to die for and we found the price including wine to be very good value and I cannot rate the food highly enough.
The staff were extremly helpful and our Barman who we met every night was knowledgeable of the area, helpful oh and made a mean bunch of Cocktails.
If you want a quiet tranquil hotel with many extra features then this is the place to stay.
The view over the Bay of Napoli is beautiful and a real treat whilst having your breakfast, which was also very nice and varied.
Timmy and Anna Grainger.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisaBalzano, General Manager at Grand Hotel Angiolieri, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very very much for leaving your feedback., we are very flatered reading your impressions.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were welcomed by Adriana on the front desk like old friends and this set the tone for our whole stay. The bar staff who assisted with our evening sunset cocktails, the ladies who cleaned our room, the porters, the waiters and chefs were all a delight to meet and so helpful. The location is secluded and so a great place to get away to. There is a train station within 500 metres so when we fancied a bit of hubbub we took the train to nearby Sorrento to have lunch in Fauno on the square.

The tiny harbour of Seano felt like we'd gone back to the fifties (no I don't remember it but it's what I'd imagine it to be) what with all the families on the beaches and off on the many little boats. We sat and whiled away a happy afternoon watching the boats coming and going and the young men jumping and swimming from the jettys.

The evening dining experience was truly out of this world; this was a double five star restaurant in my humble opinion. We've tried taster menus recently but for taste and presentation this beat the spots off the others. Being in Italy we tried out the local wines which were outstanding and we will be seeking them out back home.

When we were leaving there was a wedding party about to arrive and the dining setting for it was breathtaking; beautiful tables, flowers and the bay of Naples, how could you not fall in love with it?

We fell in love all over again during our magical stay........ we hope you do too.

TRY THIS HOTEL YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.

Room Tip: Try a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisaBalzano, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Angiolieri, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your review, your satisfaction is ours!
Thanks for the nice words spent for us.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Giuseppe Russo
Front Ofiice Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The room we had was small and not what you expect from a 5 star hotel. The staff was not very helpful when we asked for a place to walk and have dinner. We know that they have a Michelin star restaurant but we want something simple. The bar of the hotel is very basic and only a place to drink and than go.. And overpriced!
The breakfast was very good and the view was superb. Not to far from Pompeii and Hercaelum. Sorrento is fantastic and only 7 km away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisaBalzano, General Manager at Grand Hotel Angiolieri, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Grand Hotel Angiolieri and thanks for staying with us.
For us your comments are important to improve, every opinion is taken as good advice.
Unfortunately for the size of the rooms that are dispayed in the room desciptions, we cannot do anything since the building is an historical establishment.

We hope to welcome you in future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent staff, the greeting was fine. So much helpful and friendly staff although the english language proficiency is not enough at the front desk.They have strived to resolve our problem
fastly and at the proper manner.We booked double standart with a sea view for three person, but the two bedroom suit was courtesy of the hotel for the same price "as a gift". Outstanding view on the Etna Mountain and the Vesuvius! So the calm and peaceful atmosphere all around. You might hear birds singing at the morning while lying in your bed, you get a great service and lovely breakfast out there. Room cleaning 2 times per day and complimentary sweets with wishes from the hotel every night.
it was a little problem with locks and handles they are seemed a bit tight, and no any hanger for shower in jacuzzi

Room Tip: the hotel doesnt take sums more 1000 euro as a pay for staying due to italian laws
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisaBalzano, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Angiolieri, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your review. We try our best to improve and make a good job.
Thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you back

Giuseppe Russo
Front Ofiice Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Cannot say what a wonderful weekend we just spent here-- from the warm, welcoming staff and amazing restaurant to the gorgeous view and proximity to Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast. We had a gorgeous, large room overlooking the water. The restaurant was as wonderful as promised. Also got spa services on day which were fantastic. Hotel gave great recommendations on where to eat in Sorrento! Perfect for a relazing weekend for two.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisaBalzano, General Manager at Grand Hotel Angiolieri, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your appretiacian and satisfacion in for us really flatters us
We try our best to improve and make a good job.
Thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was possibly one of the most romantic hotels to be taken to. I'd recommend it to anyone who may want to spoil their partner!
The hotel and rooms are beautiful. We had an amazing balcony and view of Mt Vesuvius.
The hotel staff are lovely and helpful. You must eat one night in the hotel, its one of the best meals I have ever had and being from Manchester we have some great choices! The chef made me a birthday cake and everyone sang me happy birthday, even the front desk bobbed their heads in to sing along! The wine waitress was lovely and made brilliant choices, mmm to the wine!
There is a free hotel minibus transfer to take you into Vicoequense as the hotel is in a tiny village, with little to do. Pizza a metre is well worth a visit!
The trips organised by the hotel are very expensive, so I wouldn't bother! Its so easy just to jump on the train yourself for a few Euros (quick walk down the road or get the hotel minibus) to Pompei (or Naples etc) and when you arrive you can get into a group for a guided tour for a fraction of the price, our tour was fab. Another must do trip is the Amalfi coast, either do the hotels private trip or simply get a train to Sorrento and then get a public bus right outside the station for a few Euro up the coast, it's great. About 1.5 hours. We experienced a full storm and it was a fabulous trip still! We had lunch in Amalfi, think the place was called Gemma's or similar but again a must visit restaurant, really good!
We had a lovely 4 days in the hotel and area. Main negative was there was no shower even over the bath that we could stand under.

Room Tip: Ask about showers in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assanteantonello, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Angiolieri, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kiond review.
We hope to welcome you again in future.

Warm regards

Giuseppe Russo
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Angiolieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Angiolieri

Address: Via Santa Maria Vecchia 2, 80066 Seiano, Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense > Seiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Angiolieri 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, Grand Hotel Angiolieri is a five stars hotel, laid down on a peak overlooking the sea, positioned in the village of Seiano, belonging to the municipality of Vico Equense. Grand Hotel Angiolieri is an oasis of peace, serenity and great charm, situated at the same time in an unmatchable strategic position. In fact, famous sites as Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples are easy accessible by car, train or boat. The hotel itself is immersed in a garden rich in citrus plantations and secular palms, offering several green corners, with simply unique sea and landscapes.The Rooms:Restored with considerable competence, Grand Hotel Angiolieri disposes of 37 rooms, all well groomed, with particular attention to details, with sober and refined taste, presenting functional and elegant furniture. The classic pastels colours lend them a touch of simplicity. The rooms offer sea or garden view, with terrace, balcony or window. Rooms at a glance:21 Standard rooms with window and garden view; 9 Superior rooms with window and sea view; 3 Deluxe rooms with terrace and sea view; 2 Junior Suite with terrace and sea view; 2 Suites, one with open terrace and sea view, one with French balcony and sea view.L’Accanto Restaurant:L’Accanto Restaurant, awarded with a Michelin Star for the year 2010, where our Chef delights the guests with creative local gastronomic specialties with an appeal to regional products.The Services:Grand Hotel Angiolieri offers a peculiar and highly customised range of services, in order to satisfy all kind of demand the guest may have. The hotel provides a sea view swimming pool, panoramic restaurant, free internet access and underground parking. A massage room is available for all lovers of relax and wellness. Main reference for the guest is the reception desk, formed by a specialized team, able to offer and organize a wide number of services, such as boat, car and scooter hiring, transfers, private excursions, shopping tours and further leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Angiolieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vico Equense
Grand Angiolieri Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Angiolieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.