We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much needed holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Angiolieri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Angiolieri to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Maria Vecchia 2, 80066 Seiano, Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seiano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Much needed holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a lovely time at Angiolieri, I had read mixed reviews before I booked, but often find that some people complain for the sake of complaining.
The hotel was beautiful, the view from our room (despite probably being one of the cheaper rooms) was stunning! The staff were friendly, helpful, courteous. We ate at the restaurant once during our stay and it was fabulous. The recommended wine was perfect and the food, beautiful.
We ate by the poolside quite a bit and the food was lovely.
The complimentary driver to local town (Vico Equense) and to the harbour, proved to be very useful and appreciated.
We Hired a car to explore the Sorrentine penninsular and the Amalfi coast, the roads are narrow and scary, but our small car was perfect. The comments about the approach to the hotel and parking were not a problem to us as we had an appropriately sized car. If you bring a big Merc you will have a problem, but you'll have a problem everywhere as there are mostly narrow roads all over the area.
So all in all it was a lovely holiday and I would highly recommend this beautifully situated, classy hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    70
    25
    7
    13
See reviews for
43
200
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Picked this hotel due to a number of the positive reviews - and could not have been more pleased we did. Great location for visiting Naples, Pompeli, Veruvio, and the Amalfi coast. Far better than Sorrento which we found to be traffic bound and full of cruise ship passengers! Naples itself was rather chaotic - bested visited and then left! The views across Naples Bay from the hotel are just great. The staff we found could not have been more polite and the restaurant food was to die for! We ended up eating in all 3 nights we stayed - after all with a one Star Michelin Restaurant in your hotel with fantastic wine to compliment the food why go out at night!

We booked via the BA web site and found the whole 4 days great value in total. We hope to be back and bearing in mind I prefer to visit new destinations that from me is a real compliment. Well done Grand Hotel Angliolieri you deserve high ratings indeed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had the most fantastic time in October for our honeymoon. The service, the food, the room was everything we had hoped our honeymoon break would be. I would not hesitate to go back here tomorrow ! The restaurant was Michelin starred and the food was divine. We were recommended local wine which was very reasonable and very good.
The staff were all extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for any of them - the barman was particularly fab and gave us lots of hints and tips on the surrounding area.
Ask for a sea view room as the views of Naples Bay and Versuvius are spectacular.
We used the Spa facilities whilst we were there and I had the best massage I have ever had.
All in all a fabulous time and we would both go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Junior Suite which was fabulous but any sea view room would give you the superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrickville, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Angiolleri was hands down the nicest hotel we stayed in whilst in Italy. The service was fantastic and we were offered complimentary campagne upon arrival as it was our honeymoon!
The room was perfect and the view spectacular. Its also a short walk to the beach, and the hotel has its own pool.
The restaurant was also fantastic, with wonderful service and truly amazing dessert. Try the tiramisu, shaped like Saturn!!

Room Tip: The standard room is quite small but does the job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very quiet luxurious hotel, elegantly furnished, fully equipped rooms with everything you need. We don't understand the other visitors complaining about the rooms being too small, when you book 18sqm you get 18sqm and not a ball room!

A stunning view from the beaufitful terrasse to Naples and the Monte Vesuvio when having a delicous breakfast.

The wonderful garden and the pool were neat and well looked after.

We would like to highlight the excellent and extremely friendly service that was very well organized. When one evening our TV did not work anymore and we asked for help, 1 minute later Mr. Assante (the sales and marketing manager) himself knocked at the door and quickly solved the problem.

We will absolutely return next year and recommend this hotel to all our friends!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I had wanted to visit Sorrento and the nearby sites for many years at last managed a short trip with my daughter. I chose this Hotel as it represented good value for a top class hotel. As we were hiring a car, ample free car parking was important. For anyone not familiar with the area or Italian roads I strongly suggest getting GPS. We would have had trouble finding the hotel ........or anything else without it!
We upgraded to a superior sea view room. If you can, do this as the views are literally breathtaking. The room was a little small but as we were only there for 5 nights not really a problem. The bathroom was a good size and well equipped! We liked the small tv by the sink, it made daily ablutions much more fun.
The pool area was attractive but a bit small and at busy times it was hard to find a free sunlounger.
The staff were all, (and that is without exception), polite, helpful and friendly.
The food in the restaurant was exceptional and for Michelin Starred cuisine very reasonably priced.
The pastry chef is genius and I've the incresed waistline to prove it.

Room Tip: The fifth floor seems to have the best rooms for size and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Accidently booked in wrong location but ended up being a decent end to our last day in Italy. I would definitely recommend to those that are looking for 5 star at a great value AND to those looking for a base for their travels. It's close to Naples, Pompeii, sorrento, amalfi coast, and Capri. Shuttle service was great. So was restaurant, pool, and bar.

However, the lady at front desk was very irritated with us for asking about bus and train schedules. I believe it was because she had just explained them to other groups, and my wife didn't mind, but I thought it was very rude. It was one of the better hotels of our Italy trip but I feel this complaint was necessary to point out that one negative outweighs many positives in the service industry. I own two restaurants and try my best to train staff that customer is always right and keep them happy. Because one unhappy customer equals much less potential business.

Overall, great hotel! Don't let my one bad incident change your minds. The middle paragraph was more of a feedback for management to improve in minor areas to be better.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Angiolieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Angiolieri

Address: Via Santa Maria Vecchia 2, 80066 Seiano, Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense > Seiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Angiolieri 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, Grand Hotel Angiolieri is a five stars hotel, laid down on a peak overlooking the sea, positioned in the village of Seiano, belonging to the municipality of Vico Equense. Grand Hotel Angiolieri is an oasis of peace, serenity and great charm, situated at the same time in an unmatchable strategic position. In fact, famous sites as Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples are easy accessible by car, train or boat. The hotel itself is immersed in a garden rich in citrus plantations and secular palms, offering several green corners, with simply unique sea and landscapes.The Rooms:Restored with considerable competence, Grand Hotel Angiolieri disposes of 37 rooms, all well groomed, with particular attention to details, with sober and refined taste, presenting functional and elegant furniture. The classic pastels colours lend them a touch of simplicity. The rooms offer sea or garden view, with terrace, balcony or window. Rooms at a glance:21 Standard rooms with window and garden view; 9 Superior rooms with window and sea view; 3 Deluxe rooms with terrace and sea view; 2 Junior Suite with terrace and sea view; 2 Suites, one with open terrace and sea view, one with French balcony and sea view.L’Accanto Restaurant:L’Accanto Restaurant, awarded with a Michelin Star for the year 2010, where our Chef delights the guests with creative local gastronomic specialties with an appeal to regional products.The Services:Grand Hotel Angiolieri offers a peculiar and highly customised range of services, in order to satisfy all kind of demand the guest may have. The hotel provides a sea view swimming pool, panoramic restaurant, free internet access and underground parking. A massage room is available for all lovers of relax and wellness. Main reference for the guest is the reception desk, formed by a specialized team, able to offer and organize a wide number of services, such as boat, car and scooter hiring, transfers, private excursions, shopping tours and further leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Angiolieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vico Equense
Grand Angiolieri Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Angiolieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.